We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The George Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

807 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The George Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 807: English reviews
West Coast UK
Reviewed 18 February 2017

Called in yesterday with my dear friend for lunch, as the weather was very cold and damp we both wanted something hot and delicious thinking comfort food here! and boy did we receive it! what a lovely Shepherd's Pie was served up to us too, it was so so good, that we had a very quiet lunch, as it was...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Carol Ann S
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

Lovely old hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. Room 12 was very small but clean and had everything I needed. Well situated in the town centre. Breakfast selection broad with quality food.Would recommend; good value.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Em W
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 15 February 2017

A party of four stayed overnight en route from London to Scotland on the recommendation of a friend. We found the hotel comfortable and friendly, old fashioned in a good way and updated with all amenities. The rooms were warm and cosy, allowing a good nights sleep followed by a hearty breakfast to see us on our way.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Mercury30
North Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2017

everything you would wish for from an over-night stay at a hotel and more .The service was second to none. Happy, and smiling polite staff all go to make The George very special and welcoming. My wife and I enjoyed a special deal at the St Valentine week-end ,bed& breakfast, and a four course dinner at an excellent value for...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Ian J
dave061081, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks on such a beautiful review, we look forward to welcoming you and your Westie to The George in the near future Kind Regards John

Reviewed 31 January 2017

Outstanding Service and Wonderful Food, We called in during a very busy afternoon a week ago and enjoyed a great meal. Nothing was too much trouble and the service was unbelievably good and quick. A young man called Stuart made sure all our needs were catered for and made sure that our visit was really special. Can't praise this place...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank neil g
dave061081, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for that stonker!! We do have a great bunch of staff here that work very hard and have a genuine interest in doing a good job. Stuart joined us at the end of October and has established himself as a remarkably strong member of our team. I will ensure your comments reach him.

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 January 2017

I've found historic hotels can often be a mixed bag, as by their nature the owners are custodians of buildings that exude character, stories, while requiring loving care in their maintenance and no doubt expense. The George I found to be great and pleasant surprise. Its decor was clean and tidy, relatively recently refurnished yet totally in keeping with the...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank NorwichTony
dave061081, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for those comments Norwich Tony, We are undertaking a structured refurbishment project, as well as having an excellent handyman who is constantly painting and improving the decor and facilities. Our team at the George seem to like dogs as much as people! See you next time.

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 January 2017

Ate in the bar, lovelying food, pleasant to sit in and reasonably priced. You can also eat in the lounge /lobby area (same area), comfy chairs, lovely place for catch up chats m coffee and cake.will return.n

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank _ldlisadixon71
dave061081, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for those kind words.

Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

If I have any issues I always prefer to contact direct before trip advisor however I sent the below on 1st January and have had no response nor acknowledgement. To whom it may concern, Unfortunately I have felt the need to contact you after our afternoon tea last week. We had mentioned these points as we left but the response...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily S
dave061081, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Emily, Please see response emailed to you on the 4th... "Hi Emily, Thanks for all the information you have provided. I am sorry you did not receive the expected level of service. December is a very busy time of year for us at the George as Im sure you will have noticed. This is still no excuse for poor...

Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

We called in while we were passing and was told is better to book in advance next time as there may be a little wait. We hardly waited at all and the food was really good and we would not hesitate to recommend or call again

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Steven D
dave061081, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks a lot for that cracking review Steven. I hope you can visit again.

Penrith, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2017

We booked The George Hotel Penrith for our golden wedding meal with our family a party of 15 adults we were given the room upstairs with the bar.Which was still decorated from Christmas which was a nice touch the room is private from the other hotel guests.The meal and the service was excellent and we were not rushed out of...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank sickofthiswebsite
dave061081, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks 'sickofthiswebsite' The people often help make a successful event, and your group certainly helped bring a great atmosphere to the room. We enjoy doing private functions and private dining. Please let us know if we can help organise an event for you in the future.

223 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (101)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (46)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (94)
Viewed
Amenities (4)
Viewed
Feature Room (35)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
0.8 km away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#5 of 11 in Penrith
949 reviews
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
27.5 km away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
1,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.6 km away
Tebay Services Hotel
Tebay Services Hotel
#2 of 11 in Penrith
634 reviews
28.1 km away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
897 reviews
10.1 km away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The nostalgic wood panelling and old local prints on the walls combine to create an atmosphere unique to the George, where many generations of loyal visitors have returned time after time. Relax in the recently restyled Dappers Bar, take afternoon teas in front of open fires, dine in the intimate candle-lit restaurant, with its new and enticing menu featuring regional produce and mouth-watering desserts, or dance the night away in the magnificent ballroom.The hospitality and friendliness of the staff match the hotel’s high standards, ensuring that generations of guests return time after time. Sympathetically updated with all modern facilities, guests will appreciate the tastefully appointed bedrooms, including a four-poster bedroom and generously sized family suites.An oasis of calm and gentility, The George will delight visitors with its inimitable grace and charm. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Devonshire Street, Penrith CA11 7SU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Price Range: €99 - €192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Penrith, Lake District, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The George Hotel staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Preston, United Kingdom
Moncton, Canada
Liverpool, United Kingdom
3 months ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from The George Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't have room 9 unless you want to look out at walls”
 of 5 bubbles lynnt597, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you are on the first floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Caspian-Plover, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for room away from the street or above the bar. Penrith can get quite boisterous at weekends”
 of 5 bubbles PlusTax, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in a club room which was well worth the upgrade.”
 of 5 bubbles MrDoo1955, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“not stayed here, only ever eaten, but I've heard that it's very nice”
 of 5 bubbles carolanns633, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5