We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Goodwin House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Goodwin House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

59 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Goodwin House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 59: English reviews
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2015

I've just spent 9 nights at Goodwin House - it's a little gem near the centre of Keswick. From the moment I arrived, Marion made me feel welcome and wanted to make sure I could want for nothing. My room was a great size, clean and very nicely presented. The little extras like fresh fruit left in the room each... More 

Helpful?
Thank cfjwallis
lakesTTbabe, Owner at Goodwin House, responded to this review

Thank you very much Chris , for taking time to post a review , which is very helpful for future guests , and for us when such kind words are used . Was a pleasure to have you stay with us , and pleased that you were comfortable , definately a plus when walking as much as you did !!!... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2015

My Mum and I had such a fantastic stay with Peter and Marion at their lovely B&B, Goodwin House, this July (2015). Marion was helpful and accommodating from the moment we enquired about our booking, and we received the warmest of greetings upon our arrival. The B&B is simply beautiful with it's unique architecture, along with lovely rooms that are... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tom S
lakesTTbabe, Owner at Goodwin House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind comments Tom , and delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us . Always good for other people to learn your experiences especially when it is the first time you have stayed with us . Looking forward to seeing you all again next July ...... no better review for us than receiving a repeat booking... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2015

From the minute we were welcomed at the Door by Marion till the minute we left was spot on perfect. Lovely room and treats when we got back from our walks. Breakfast was superb. Best Eggy Bread since I was a child. Rooms were clean and very comfy. Good advice given each morning on weather. It was like home from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
lakesTTbabe, Owner at Goodwin House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay Sarah . Was a pleasure to have you stay , and when guests leave having enjoyed their stay ( and re-booking before leaving ) it helps us know we are still doing the important things right . Look forward to seeing you again September .... will stock... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2015 via mobile

From the moment I booked a room the service has been fantastic, I received both email & text to confirm booking and arrival time. Marion was there to greet me as promised. I was so well looked after, right down to the little things like a small packet of chocolate fingers & fruit in my room. Breakfast was great, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Naomi T
lakesTTbabe, Owner at Goodwin House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review Naomi , always good for other people to learn your experience when deciding where to stay . Was a pleasure to have you , and you really took no looking after , arriving when you said , and out all day making the most of your time in Keswick .... More 

Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2015

Marion runs an excellent B&B. The place is clean, well laid out and excellent for town and surrounding area. Marion is an excellent host and takes time to give the little extras to make your stay even more enjoyable - eg.extra little treat at Breakfast every morning. Breakfast excellent and overall you won't be disappointed if you choose to stay... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mannid
lakesTTbabe, Owner at Goodwin House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to post a review of your recent stay . Always good to know that guests have had a good stay and found the service we provide helpful . and enjoyed the breakfasts. Always a pleasure to welcome guest who love the area and make the most of their time with us . More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2015

I cannot heap enough praise on this place. Felt really welcomed, lovely clean and bright room with lots of goodies for snacking and drinking. Amazing full english vegetarian breakfast, Marion was really helpful and offered lots of help and guidance and even posted back to me an item of jewellery i left behind. Amazing value for money, will definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank Hayley E
lakesTTbabe, Owner at Goodwin House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review , always helpful for others to learn your experience. Pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us ,. You were a pleasure to have and glad all went well with the wedding . Do hope we will see you sometime again when you can sample our hospitality again. More 

sunderland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2015

Just stayed at Goodwin house for the easter weekend. Great hosts, lovely clean room, fantastic breakfast, and the little surprises in your room each day and more at breakfast surely makes the Goodwin stand out. Great location, cannot wait to returm.

Helpful?
Thank blue_gun
lakesTTbabe, Owner at Goodwin House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with us . Please you had a great time , and nice to know that the little extras we try and "surprise" you with , make a good impression and help add that bit more to your stay . Look forward to welcoming you back anytime .... though cannot always... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2015

Just returned from a 1 night stay here & would highly recommend it! Marion is just amazing & although we had to (sadly) miss her famous breakfast, owing to our early departure, she made us the most awesome packed lunch, which kept us going all day! The location is perfect and we had a stroll into the centre and ate... More 

Helpful?
Thank Troski2
lakesTTbabe, Owner at Goodwin House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to post a review of your stay with us . Pleased that you found most things to your liking , and were comfortable . We do provide king size beds in all our double rooms , as most people like this , but that does leave a little less space in the room you had... More 

Coventry
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2015

My wife and I stayed at Goodwin House over the new year as we love to celebrate in Keswick. The house is impressive and the history of it is fascinating too. It really looks like something you would see in San Francisco, built in red brick and painted beautifully. The interior staircase is stunning. Marion welcomed us warmly and showed... More 

Helpful?
Thank gdh200
lakesTTbabe, Owner at Goodwin House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review . I know people do find these helpful when making decisions on where to stay .. Appreciate your comments re size of en-suite , as you say does tend to be an issue in these houses but on speaking with other guests we know size of room and bed quality to them wins over... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2014 via mobile

We visited in August and we had a lovely stay as always. We come every August and have the same warm welcome from Marion and Peter. This is a beautiful house, comfortable bedrooms with amazing views of the surrounding mountains. The breakfast is always perfectly cooked and writing down exactly what you want the night before ensures you are not... More 

Helpful?
Thank ATurnock_11
lakesTTbabe, Owner at Goodwin House, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review of you stay with us. It is lovely to know that we continue to provide our regular clients with a good service , and that they enjoy returning to stay with us . Although we are biased it is nice to know guests also " love" the house and its... More 

7 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 km away
Ferndene Guest House
Ferndene Guest House
#35 of 177 in Keswick
257 reviews
0.1 km away
Lindisfarne House
Lindisfarne House
#140 of 177 in Keswick
24 reviews
0.1 km away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#11 of 177 in Keswick
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Strathmore Guest House
Strathmore Guest House
#36 of 177 in Keswick
138 reviews
0.1 km away
Dalkeith Guest House
Dalkeith Guest House
#95 of 177 in Keswick
33 reviews
0.2 km away
Lynwood Guesthouse B&B
Lynwood Guesthouse B&B
#72 of 177 in Keswick
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Steeped in history Goodwin House maintains many of its original features whilst providing modern day quality en-suite accommodation.Situated in an excellent location for town, Lake or Theatre it is also an ideal base to visit all over The Lake DistrictComfortable rooms , adjustable central heating , substanstial hospitality try , hairdryers as well as TV and radio clock alarms plus little extra touches during your stayHearty breakfasts set you up for the day ( special diets catered for with advance notice) Weather forecasts posted daily , but if you are "caught out" our drying room is on hand 24/7 Flasks filled free of charge and packed lunches available ( please order night before)Let us provide the comfort from which you can enjoy your break away ... more   less 

Additional Information about Goodwin House

Address: 29 Southey Street, Keswick CA12 4EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Price Range: €34 - €36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Goodwin House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Goodwin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goodwin House Keswick, Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Goodwin House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Goodwin House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Located in a quiet street just a few minutes from the centre”
 of 5 bubbles sandragD975SQ, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
“My husband has stayed here many times and in different rooms and says they are all perfect.”
 of 5 bubbles sarahsH8984KH, 23 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Room 5 super king size bed is THE most comfortable bed you could hope to find. Room 3 bathroom is large and has a corner bath.”
 of 5 bubbles gdh200, 3 Jan 2015 | Read review
“ask for adecent size room !”
 of 5 bubbles stampman, 12 Sep 2014 | Read review
“all rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles joeandann111, 16 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay