We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Royal Oak at Keswick

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Royal Oak at Keswick
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

541 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Royal Oak at Keswick
See the most recent reviews
Showing 536: English reviews
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2015 via mobile

Very busy place - keswick. Found hotel which hasnt a car park but we found one a short walk away which i paid a small fortune for. Anyway got checked in lovely room but just as well my husband and i arent large or we wouldnt have been able to walk round the end of the bed. ! VERY small... More 

Helpful?
Thank sheena407
TheRoyalOak_Manager, General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review

Thank you Sheena, for the excellent feedback. Some rooms are a bit on the small side as we're a bit restricted with the alterations we can make given that it's a listed building. Having said that, we do have larger rooms and some really large rooms. If your coming back again just give us a call and we can book... More 

Wilmslow, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2015 via mobile

I liked the service and helpful staff but the room was the tiniest twin I have stayed in and would not stay in it again not sure if all rooms are the same Good breakfast but did the lady serving have to use a spray cleaner whilst we were eating I could taste the spray

Helpful?
Thank Sean R
TheRoyalOak_Manager, General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review

Hi Sean I'm glad that overall all you enjoyed your stay. Your right, we do have larger rooms. Rooms 14 & 7 are decent sized twins in the same category as your room and then we have the Royal rooms 8 and 2 which we can convert into a twin and these rooms are very spacious. Next time your coming... More 

UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2015

This was our second stay here and I feel it has improved since our visit a year ago. We were greeted with a lovely welcome when we arrived. Our room was at the back of the hotel and was very quiet. It wasn't a huge room but it was fine - maybe could do with more drawer space or some... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sunandwarmth
TheRoyalOak_Manager, General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review and we'll see you next year, if not before.........Keswick is beautiful in December, especially if it snows. Mark More 

Lancashire
Level Contributor
125 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2015 via mobile

Visited the Lake District this weekend with my husband and another couple. After having hiked up Cat Bells mountain and back down, we had worked up an appetite and thirst. We called into the Royal Oak, was immediately greeted by a waiter and shown to a table, given menus, drinks order taken and sat back and enjoyed the ambience of... More 

Helpful?
Thank cockneyshaz
TheRoyalOak_Manager, General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review

Thank you Shaz, for the absolutely fantastic review. It's reviews like yours that make it all worthwhile and it gives such a lift to the morale of the team. Mark More 

Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2015 via mobile

The staff here were lovely. Just stayed for a friend's wedding. Rooms were lovely and beds very comfortable. My husband asked for an iron and the one they gave didn't work however the lovely waitress ran out and got him one so he could have a crease free shirt for the wedding! Breakfasts lovely I had eggs benedict and my... More 

Helpful?
Thank lreay1
TheRoyalOak_Manager, General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review

Ireay Thank you for the lovely comments in your review and we'll hopefully see you again soon. Mark More 

Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2015 via mobile

Always have the belly pork, if starving large, if not small, arrived at campsite, tent up and with minutes to spare we were in the royal oak, knew what we needed and as usual did not disappoint, fabulous, tasty, crispy, mmmm, will be back next week for the same, only next week it will be table of four.

Helpful?
Thank Deb P
TheRoyalOak_Manager, General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review

Deb Thanks so much for the wonderful review. Sounds like you visit us regularly so we'll be seeing you again soon I hope. Mark More 

United Kingdowm
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2015 via mobile

We stayed at The Royal Oak with a bunch of friends as we were attending a wedding. We checked in with no issue, the guy was very friendly and offered to show us where to park. Our confirmation stated there was parking but there isn't. There is plenty of parking around though. The rooms are quite small but big enough... More 

Helpful?
Thank mrslaurariddell
TheRoyalOak_Manager, General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review

Thank you Laura That was a really lovely review and I'm so glad you had a nice time here. Mark More 

Grangemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2015 via mobile

We stayed three nights hotel was really nice and the staff were friendly and made us very welcome .The hotel was ideally situated next to the high street . Overall a great visit we would return and use this hotel again .

Helpful?
Thank zombiemyster
TheRoyalOak_Manager, General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review, it's very much appreciated and we look forward to your next visit. December is a lovely month up here, with the Christmas market and, if it snows, the landscape is just beautiful. Mark More 

England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2015

The room and pub with its great breakfast was nice. The room, while small was cosy and really comfy. We had asked for a room with bath though and were disappointed to have only a very small walk-in shower. The worst thing about Keswick in general is the parking. If you're traveling by car don't stay in Keswick, especially while... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank NikkiYDubai
TheRoyalOak_Manager, General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review

Thank you Nikki for the nice review. Sincere apologies we missed the request for a bath. Please don't be put off Keswick though as the difficulties you experienced with the parking is solely down to the convention which was on when you were staying. At normal times, although the town does get busy, parking is readily available and we can... More 

Chester
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2015

My husband and I stayed here for one night earlier in the week. The Royal Oak is a pub/ restaurant/ hotel. Its in a prime location in the centre of Keswick. One thing to point out though is that there is no parking. There was a car park which was in the centre, nearby, however it was limited to 3... More 

Helpful?
Thank SammyChester
TheRoyalOak_Manager, Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review

Sammy Thank you for the review. Nice comments and sensibly informative, as a review should be. Hope we see you again soon Mark More 

118 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (45)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 km away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
464 reviews
0.1 km away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
685 reviews
0.1 km away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#10 of 12 in Keswick
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
4.2 km away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
450 reviews
7.5 km away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#12 of 12 in Keswick
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal Oak at Keswick is a welcoming pub offering great home-cooked food and accommodation in the vibrant market town of Keswick, which is situated on the lakeside North of Derwentwater in Cumbria's Lake District. The Royal Oak at Keswick offers a pleasing blend of pub, restaurant and hotel rooms with a well stocked bar and a varied menu of freshly prepared produce and seasonal ingredients. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Oak at Keswick

Address: Main Street, Keswick CA12 5HZ, England (Formerly The Inn at Keswick)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Price Range: €92 - €142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Oak at Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HRS, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, LateRooms and Travelocity so you can book your The Royal Oak at Keswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Keswick Hotel Keswick
The Royal Oak At Keswick Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Royal Oak at Keswick staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Washington DC, District of Columbia

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Oak at Keswick staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't eat here”
 of 5 bubbles danieltT9558ZH, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Only here for lunch.”
 of 5 bubbles Scrubber077, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the acorn room”
 of 5 bubbles lambchops2015, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 2 was amazing”
 of 5 bubbles ourshez68, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Opt for a slightly bigger room if staying for a while as small are tiny.”
 of 5 bubbles angry_customer844515, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay