We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Royal Oak at Keswick

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Royal Oak at Keswick
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

559 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Royal Oak at Keswick
See the most recent reviews
Showing 554: English reviews
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2015

Have been before and will go again - very good as always. Traveled up for an overnight stay this weekend, room immaculate, lovely en-suite bathroom with fantastic shower. Breakfast was very nice with a great choice. Free Wifi. Excellent location. Only slight hint of a criticism was the room was quite warm, but fan is provided in the room should...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank toffeeman85
TheRoyalOak_Manager, General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review

Thank you for this. Reviews like yours just give everyone here the lift they need, it's very much appreciated. Mark

Cheshire UK
Reviewed 13 October 2015

I booked this restaurant for Sunday lunch for 5 friends and myself in October and I have to say I was very disappointed and I am sad to say the experience went from bad to worse. The menu states the beef is "served pink" which it is not and marketing is largely inaccurate , in fact it is not possible...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juliecheshire
TheRoyalOak_Manager, General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review

We always prefer to deal with individual and specific guest complaints at the time of the event. Our guests love our Sunday roasts and regularly tell us this, so it was a bit disappointing that you found it to be so bad, but we were happy to do our best to rectify the situation. I would just point out that...

Cambridge. UK
Reviewed 8 October 2015

Stayed in Keswick for a wedding though not at the oak. Booked a table purely on other users recommendations and was not disappointed. The restaurant was very busy yet the bar staff were quick to serve us and we were directed to our table Waiting staff were efficient and helpful and our choices from the menu proved to be excellent....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Les T
TheRoyalOak_Manager, General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review

Les Thank you for the excellent review and I'm delighted you enjoyed your meal with us. It's also very nice to hear that people visiting Keswick are recommending us. I hope we see you again at some time in the near future. Mark

Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2015

We had two rooms for 3 nights and the information on the website said check in at 2pm. When we got to the hotel was told not until 3pm! Ok no biggy we just had a snack & wine in the bar. The car parking was 1/2 mile away - about 10 minute walk - and free between 7pm &...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
TheRoyalOak_Manager, General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review

Hi Paul We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your time with us. There two other room options highlighted on the booking.com website, a double and an executive double, both of which are spacious rooms. You opted for the third room type, the small double. The nearest car park is a 2 minute walk away and you can pre-pay...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2015

This hotel is centrally located, ideal for Keswick town. Our room was small but more than adequate. It had everything we needed. Fresh bottled water every day was a welcome addition. The breakfasts were excellent....... a wide selection to suit everyone's tastes. Additionally, the evening meals were enormous and very tasty. As always staff were welcoming and pleasant. This hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank elaineamymcfeeters
TheRoyalOak_Manager, General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review

Thank you Elaine & Amy I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. Next time your over book one of our character rooms which are much larger than the standard doubles. Mark

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in August. The hotel is good value for money but if you aren't planning on spending most of your time away from the hotel, this isn't the place for you as the rooms are very small. One thing I would say is that the pillows here are the comfiest I've ever slept on! Would have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank __23Sun-Seeker23-__
TheRoyalOak_Manager, General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for the 4 stars. The breakfasts we like to cook fresh to order, but our chefs usually manage well. He must have had an off day. Next time you come ask us about upgrading to one of our character rooms which are much more spacious. The pillows are great aren't they! I'm glad you enjoyed it and...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

Booked The Royal Oak for a short break for our Anniversary. We checked in and where given room 1. The room was small and our view looked over the roof with the extractor fan ducts but it was clean so we didn't mind too much until it was time to sleep. The extractor fans came on every 10 minutes so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lavenderwitch01
TheRoyalOak_Manager, General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review

Hi I'm so glad that you enjoyed your visit in the end and that you'll be happy to come back. Next time your coming call us direct and we'll make sure you get a lovely (quiet) room. We're working on finding a way to eliminate the noise from the compressor which affects the room you were in originally and I...

Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2015 via mobile

It seems a bit strange that this place appears under the B&B section rather than hotels. I had a room on the second floor, pretty much everything was on a slope, but it is an old building. You need to watch yourself if your 6ft plus as the room doors are on the low side! Room was nice though, if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin A
TheRoyalOak_Manager, General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review

Hi Martin Thank you for the excellent review. I seem to remember you were in room 16. It is one of our smaller rooms. Next time your coming give us a call direct and we'll book you into one of the bigger rooms and make sure you get a doggie bed. Mark

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2015

Four of us arrived at a quite time for lunch. We waited almost an hour for our food and it was most disappointing when it arrived. The pastry on the steak and ale pie was almost uncuttable and the gravy was disgustingly salty. There was about a teaspoon of mushy peas. The chicken and chips were well cooked. The roasted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susanna H
TheRoyalOak_Manager, General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review

Hi Susanna I'm sorry that you had to wait a long time for your food, although an hour does seem excessive. I have spoken to the chef about the pie crust and the gravy and he has taken on board your comments and will act upon them. thank you for your feedback Mark

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2015 via mobile

Visited here with my partner and 2 dogs, we were made to feel very welcome and you could sit practically anywhere with the dogs and this is great. Menu was great, lots of choice. Lots of wine and real ales available too. I ordered lamb steak from the specials menu and this came very pink, I wasn't asked how I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
TheRoyalOak_Manager, General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review

Amy Thank you for your comments which are very much appreciated. I have reviewed your feedback with our waiting-on staff. You should have been asked how you would have liked the lamb steak cooked and if your partner asked for his bacon to be well done and crispy, which is how I like it too, then that is how it...

121 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (76)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Other (45)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 km away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#6 of 12 in Keswick
702 reviews
0.1 km away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
519 reviews
0.1 km away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#9 of 12 in Keswick
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.2 km away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#13 of 177 in Keswick
534 reviews
0.0 km away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#65 of 177 in Keswick
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal Oak at Keswick is a welcoming pub offering great home-cooked food and accommodation in the vibrant market town of Keswick, which is situated on the lakeside North of Derwentwater in Cumbria's Lake District. The Royal Oak at Keswick offers a pleasing blend of pub, restaurant and hotel rooms with a well stocked bar and a varied menu of freshly prepared produce and seasonal ingredients. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Oak at Keswick

Address: Main Street, Keswick CA12 5HZ, England (Formerly The Inn at Keswick)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Price Range: €97 - €158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Oak at Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Priceline, HRS, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Royal Oak at Keswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Keswick Hotel Keswick
The Royal Oak At Keswick Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Royal Oak at Keswick staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Washington DC, District of Columbia

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Oak at Keswick staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“My room on the second floor was quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles ros2010, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Fabulous food”
 of 5 bubbles 828lindsayd, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't eat here”
 of 5 bubbles danieltT9558ZH, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Only here for lunch.”
 of 5 bubbles Scrubber077, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the acorn room”
 of 5 bubbles lambchops2015, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5