We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Kings Arms Hotel

Show Prices
#10 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Kings Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

416 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Kings Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 414: English reviews
Keighley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 November 2015

We have stayed in Keswick on many occasions and never been disappointed. This last stay with our Labrador was just fabulous. We booked two nights for my husbands birthday and had a lovely time. The manager was very helpful from start to finish. We arrived earlier than the stated 3pm check-in which was not a problem. We were given the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank martin w w
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Martin Thank you for such a lovely and informative review which no doubt other people will find useful. It’s great to hear that your Labrador also stayed and was able to enjoy walking in the Lake District with you. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Kind Regards Leah

United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 November 2015

We dropped by here for a drink in August, when we were in Keswick.The pub had a rather cosy feel to it, but staff need to be more welcoming and sensitive to a diverse clientele, to do the place justice.We didn't feel inspired to either stay long or have dinner there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gl0balCitizen2013
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to leave us a review from your recent visit to the area, however I’m sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the service that you received. I shall feed this back to the appropriate Head of Department to ensure that our service lives up to our usual high standard. I hope that you...

durham
Reviewed 6 November 2015 via mobile

We stopped at the kings on Thursday dinnertime for a quick snack. I got the beef stew which was lean tender and loads of beef and tasted amazing.well done chef.my wife got a cheese sandwich which she also had no complaints about. We will eat there again the next time we are in keswick.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank geordiedaveDurham
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GeorgieDave Thanks for dining with us, it’s great to hear that you enjoyed your meals with us and I shall pass your comments onto our chef. Good choice with the beef stew, it’s one of our favourites. We hope to welcome you back to the Kings in the future, for a drink, meal or overnight stay. Kind Regards Leah

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 November 2015

Now for all the times we have visited Keswick have never been in this hotel. We have tried everywhere else. Do not ask me why because it is absolutely brilliant. All the other bars/restaurants in the town were packed and as we had our small dog decided to call it a day but on our way home looked in, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth c
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Elizabeth Thanks for such a lovely review of the Kings Arms Hotel and thank you for popping in to see us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Keswick. Kind Regards Leah

Reviewed 22 October 2015

Rooms are very modern and spotless clean .Staff very friendly. Can be quite noisy above the bar if you re not a good sleeper.Food excellent. Very comfortable beds, and exc. shower. Nice to stay in a hotel so convenient for the town etc.Overall had a lovely stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John B
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John Thank you for your very helpful review of our hotel, I’m so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we will be able to welcome you back again in the near future. Kind Regards Leah

Herefordshire
Reviewed 19 October 2015

Had an enjoyable stay at the Kings Arms - our room was large, clean and modern, with a recently refurbished bathroom. It was at the front of the building, facing the square - but on Sunday and Monday nights in October there is little disturbance. The only downside was that it was on the second floor, up some fairly steep...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JC290660
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JC Thank you for a kind and informative review which no doubt other people will find useful. We're pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and that you will return again in the future. Kind Regards Leah

Reviewed 18 October 2015 via mobile

My wife and I ate here today for lunch and it was absolutely beautiful best steak pie I've ever had. Seriously go and try it was truly superb! To be totally honest I wasnt expecting much from the look if the place but was amazing. A culinary triumph. Compliments to the chef Take a bow!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank slimlinetonic
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review, following on from your recent visit. You made a good decision going for Dan's steak and ale pie, it’s going to be famous in Keswick, we're sure about it! We hope to welcome you back to the Kings Arms again in the future. Kind Regards Leah

Reviewed 2 October 2015 via mobile

Had a good nights stay at this hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Car parking was with a permit in local car park which was a walk through an alleyway which may not be friendly to those with mobility issues. Excellent breakfast in the morning although was put off by a rotting pear in the fruit bowl a little attention...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jane T
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jane Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, following on from your stay at the Kings Arms Hotel. It’s great to hear that you found the staff friendly and helpful; however I’m sorry to hear that the pear was looking slightly old in the fruit bowl. After speaking to our team they have ensured me...

scunthorpe
Reviewed 28 September 2015

Great staff food very good . the breakfast was excellent.Large bed room comfy bed . he weather was good had a trip on the steamer at Ullswater... A very good three nights the price was less than half the normal price .All in all an excellent place to stay.thank you to all the staff Ralph & Yvonne

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ralph_holmes2
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ralph & Yvonne Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review. I’m pleased to hear the weather stayed nice for you and that you managed to get out and about to explore the area. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Kings Arms in the future. Thanks Leah

Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 September 2015

well it was cold outside so we went into the kings arms. we went for the beef stew and sour dough roll the stew was delicious and the roll was hot yet still fluffy inside. the only down side to the meal is that it could have been a bit hotter. the staff were very friendly and welcoming would recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mhutchinson71
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Hutchinson Thank you for leaving a review and for recommending our hotel on Tripadvisor. You made a good choice with the beef stew and sour dough roll, these items are very popular with our guests. We hope to welcome you back to the Kings Arms in the future to sample a few more dishes from our menu. Thanks...

89 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
0.0 km away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#3 of 12 in Keswick
494 reviews
0.1 km away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
693 reviews
4.6 km away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
1,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
7.1 km away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
650 reviews
3.3 km away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newly refurbished AA 3 star Hotel right in the centre of Keswick, the Lake District. In the 17th century, Keswick was the crossroads for many of the horse and carriage routes which traversed this part of the English Lake District. The Kings Arms Hotel, a true Coaching Inn of that period, offers the traveller of today the same unrivaled hospitality and friendly service in keeping with its heritage. To stay at the Kings Arms Hotel in Keswick is to experience the legacies, in modern day comfort and luxury, of a true Coaching Inn. A warm and friendly smile awaits you from our well trained staff, whose aim is to make your stay one of many. The air-conditioned, newly refurbished restaurant serves appetising home-cooked dishes such as slow-cooked local lamb joints and the almost-famous spare ribs, beef & Jennings ale pie, delicious hand-cut, home-cooked chips plus mouth-watering hot and cold desserts. After a hearty meal, why not relax in front of the open fire with a drink in the newly-refurbished, cosy oak-beamed bar and watch the world go by outside on the streets of Keswick. With over 40 whisky's and some of the best local ales on tap the choice is yours. Or in the summer months take a seat in the charming courtyard, which is the perfect place to enjoy delicious food and a refreshing drink al fresco. There are 13 recently refurbished bedrooms all with their own shower rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Hotel

Address: 27 Main Street, Keswick CA12 5BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Price Range: €102 - €177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Hotel Keswick, Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Kings Arms Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Kings Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Did not stay at hotel only used restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles rowenan828, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for lower floor room if you find steep stairs difficult”
 of 5 bubbles amandarM8195JS, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Number 9 was comfortable but up two flights of steep winding stairs”
 of 5 bubbles rochesterrambler, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Look for a different hotel first, if this is all that's left, don't go in room 7. small and noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles darrenw119, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the front of the hotel if you want to sleep soundly.”
 of 5 bubbles Ttaylo3, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay