We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

YHA Keswick

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
YHA Keswick
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

148 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 142: English reviews
Start your review of YHA Keswick
 Click to rate
York
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I have stayed here a few times before and it's a good hostel in a good location. However, it was badly damaged in the December 2015 floods, was closed for much of last year and it still really isn't in a functional state. Only the top 2 floors are currently usable. The good news is that it has a Reception,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rmc12York
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Friendly staff and great location in the heart of Keswick. Once the refurbishment is completed i'm sure this will be a great hostel as it looks like a lot of work is being done. In the meantime the reception space is obviously a bit crowded but this is not anyone's fault and i wouldn't let this deter anyone from staying...

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kate c
Tarporley, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great hostel with a great backdrop of Skiddaw, right by the river too. Love how I can run straight out the door and be on top of Latrigg in 30 mins. It's very peacefully located yet only a couple of minutes walk from a lively town centre with lots of choice. The hostel staff are extremely personable and knowledgeable -...

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Our stay was ok, facilities are clean and it is in a good location. This hostel will be great when it is up and running, but it is currently a construction site. We were there for mountain biking and needed somewhere to store our bikes, however this facility is currently unavailable even though it is detailed on their website. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Davoss155
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Really lovely staff and the rooms are nice and clean, I was happy to see the bathroom and toilets was very clean and well stocked. They are doing very well even though their whole bottom floor was flooded last year and they are now cleaning up and renovating, really good position can easily walk into the village and next to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meggy285
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Only a 1 night stop over for a photography workshop in the Lakes....never stayed in a YHA before and was pleasantly surprised! Although work is still being undertaken following the floods, the room was clean, warm and a gave a good nights sleep, the shower was powerful and a good morning wake up and I was impressed by the lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruthiebb
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I came to do some volunteering and stayed for another couple of days because I loved it so much. It's a really busy hostel and there were so many interesting conversations to be had. I didn't bring much food with me but happily all the short stayers left tidbits like butter and cereal, enabling me to buy basics like bread...

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank H-M-Krish
keswickmanager, Front Office Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words, Krishna - we'd be very happy to see you again at the next volunteering event! Best wishes from all the staff here at YHA Keswick.

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Hostel is in a great location. They are still doing the remedial works after the floods so some of it wasn't open when we stayed. Although it is all due to open soon. Still it was a lovely stay as always.

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank StephenW1234
keswickmanager, Front Office Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us some feedback on your recent stay, Stephen. We're inclined to agree with you about our location - it's such a treat to have all the convenience and luxuries of Keswick town centre on our doorstep while also having easy access to the incredible mountains and lakes of the Northern Fells. Thank you for bearing with...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Although it is awful what happened last year, the hostel is not fully ready and equipped for the number of beds. There is one heavily crowded kitchen/common area and only half the showers function. This makes the morning and bit of an ordeal. Ideally the occupancy should be halved to make a comfortable non stresful experience. Would recommend staying in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank riccardobrooks
keswickmanager, Front Office Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Hi there Riccardo, thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback on your stay with us over the New Year period. Firstly, we're glad to hear that you enjoyed your weekend in Keswick and that we were able to play a part in that. We find it regretful that you thought the hostel ill-equipped but New Year was...

Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

It was our very first stay at a hostel and we were very pleasantly surprised by the comfort and convenience of our stay. While the rooms were a little dusty as the hostel used carpet floors, the heater worked well for us. We booked a private room and the toilet and showers were just opposite us. The toilets and showers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rende410
keswickmanager, Front Office Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, rende410. We're honoured that you chose YHA Keswick to be your first hostel and thrilled to hear that we exceeded your expectations. We expect refurbishments to be complete and the hostel to be running better than ever by March of 2017 - we hope you'll consider visiting again...

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
0.2 km away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
524 reviews
7.6 km away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#12 of 12 in Keswick
166 reviews
0.3 km away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
704 reviews
23.2 km away
YHA Ambleside
YHA Ambleside
#1 of 22 in Ambleside
342 reviews
9.4 km away
YHA Borrowdale
YHA Borrowdale
#1 of 4 in Borrowdale
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Pool
Things to do
  • Pool
Internet
  • Free Internet

Additional Information about YHA Keswick

Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 5LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Price Range: €27 - €180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your YHA Keswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Keswick Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from YHA Keswick staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from YHA Keswick staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Always had a good experience at YHA Keswick. Been on numerous occasions.”
 of 5 bubbles jasontonymorris, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask for top floor over looking the River Greta”
 of 5 bubbles joy211, 11 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Take a drink on the balcony overlooking the river”
 of 5 bubbles DGY-Eaglescliffe, 26 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Go to a B&B instead!”
 of 5 bubbles valuematters, 8 Oct 2015 | Read review
“If you don't want to share, get a separate room, the extra price is well worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles R610TIstevenm, 26 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5