We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Rainbow Tavern

07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Rainbow Tavern
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

19 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 19: English reviews
Start your review of The Rainbow Tavern
 Click to rate
United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Ok so I booked at stay here through last minute.com as little getaway and I've never been to Kendal before. I arrived ok the pub needs a little more tlc in the bar area, i approached a woman working behind the bar to check in she was nice, pleasant and helpful with the questions I asked her. All was ok...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank kshepherd86
RICHMOND, NORTH YORKS
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

As we only paid I think £25 per head for a bed in a twin room we didn't expect much. There was no window apart from a small Velux which made the room feel like a cell and the carpets were shabby. Positively,the bedding and towels were clean and it was very central

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EDCUTH
adrian t, Manager at The Rainbow Tavern, responded to this review

thank you

Skipton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 March 2017

We did not stay for two days at this tavern one night was enough. The room had torn wallpaper in the bedroom and most of the wallpaper in the bathroom was hanging of the ceiling. This was room 2. The bed was very old and room 2 is not fit to be let out. Our friends were in room 1...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jean B
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Wow. Where to start. Living Social 2 night deal. Returned home midway through and complained to Living Social. They have had numerous other complaints which has resulted in them removing this 'Hole' from their deals. Ironically this had already been done before we contacted them. This break was cheap but there is no excuse for such a diabolical place. Basically;...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank helenpilling467
doncaster
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

We were booked into this place for 26th March to the 28th March on a wowcher deal. The management were not very forthcoming with information at all. It was like getting blood out of a stone. We have been looking forward our little break away and then on Monday 13 days to go our friends received an email to say...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank fouchard
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Words fail me, worst place I have stayed in. Owner with bad attitude and no skills in the hospitality business. We are the other couple mentioned in salsa42girl review. Totally agree with all her comments as we had the same complaints in room 2. Our room in no way resembled photos he has displayed on website or with Living social...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Madge1951
adrian t, Owner at The Rainbow Tavern, responded to this review

The older room featured on our website is Room 2! You accuse us of misrepresentation, which part of low cost budget hotel did we misrepresent? If you do not have evidence to support your libellous comments please keep them to yourself. Other reviews on TripAdvisor of our property take the exact opposite view to yours, by telling others to stay...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 March 2017

Stayed here with my husband on a wowcher deal. This was good value for money. The bedroom was a little tired, evening meal was excellent value and the staff were all extremely friendly. Breakfast was also plentiful. Don't expect the Ritz, but don't forget some campsites are more expensive and you get what you pay for.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jo b
adrian t, Owner at The Rainbow Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review😃

manchester
Reviewed 1 March 2017

Went to stay here on a 2 night living social offer. Checked in yesterday at 4pm shown our room which was number 1. As we had only paid £69 for 2 nights evening meal and breakfast wasn't expecting much and boy we were not disappointed. The room was very basic, but we were there so decided to give it a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank salsa42girl
adrian t, Manager at The Rainbow Tavern, responded to this review

Suggest you speak to Living Social as you are clearly stereotypical. They told us that 1 in 10 people end up complaining about any offer, the week before you came we had 20 couples in and no complaints, this week 16 couples and guess what, only you and your friends complained. 2 complaints in 36 couples!! I have already responded...

Morecambe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Booked a double room for one night, got full confirmation of the double room and price. Turned up on day of our stay to find it was a twin room and more expensive, so said we would manage with the twin but they should honour the price we were told. Landlords attitude was rude, ignorant and arrogant and said it...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tracey M
adrian t, Manager at The Rainbow Tavern, responded to this review

What a shame you never thought to mention your attitude in your review.............:::

Reviewed 18 February 2017

We booked a 2 night stay with Social Living but only stayed one night. The food was basicfayre and the bedding was clean. However the room itself left a lot to be desired. There were cracks in the walls, stai s on the ceiling from, we assumed, the en suite in the room above, a hole in the stud wallwith...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Barbara H

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kendal hotels
0.5 km away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 15 in Kendal
980 reviews
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
0.7 km away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#12 of 15 in Kendal
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Shakespeare Inn
Shakespeare Inn
#8 of 42 in Kendal
79 reviews
1.2 km away
Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
0.9 km away
Lyndhurst Guest House
Lyndhurst Guest House
#2 of 42 in Kendal
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in the heart of Kendal on Highgate, directly opposite the Town Hall, The Rainbow Tavern is one of the oldest inns in the 'Auld Grey Town'. Quality cask ales are on offer, one of which is always a local brew, along with a range of beers and lagers. The Rainbow also has an extensive beer garden and well-behaved dogs are always welcome. The Rainbow has eleven well appointed and comfortable bedrooms including two family rooms. Most are en-suite or with private bath/ shower room, with accommodation available at reasonable prices. Our chefs provide fayre of traditional bar meals and daily specials, with the ingredients sourced locally wherever possible. We also have an extensive steak menu cooked freshly to order, with home-made pies also available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Rainbow Tavern

Address: 32 Highgate, Kendal LA9 4SX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rainbow Tavern 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Rainbow Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rainbow Tavern Kendal, Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Rainbow Tavern staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago
Manchester, United Kingdom
Dudley, West Midlands
3 months ago
lancashire

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Rainbow Tavern staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't go to this establishment”
helenpilling467, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Find out where the good rooms are hidden”
Madge1951, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid this place at all costs”
  • windows dripping wet
  • Not good for anyone with a bad chest room very damp
  • bar on side of bed
salsa42girl, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Another hotel”
50traceym, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Just avoid”
Mcclegend, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Hotels.com
* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates