We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sonata Guest House

PricelineUS$106*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Sonata Guest House
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

211 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Sonata Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 207: English reviews
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 November 2016

this is a realy nice place to stay. You are within minutes of the centre of Kendal and idealy situated for further exploring of the Lakes.. The accomodation is excellent a lovely ensuite room situated at the front of the house with fine detail such as fresh flowers nice toiletries., and a realy comfortable bed. Chris is a charming host...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bonjourmike
London
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Comfortable stay whilst spending a few days in the lakes. Chris is a friendly and welcoming host. Breakfasts were lovely. Room decor somewhat tired (room 2) and soundproofing between rooms could be better unless you're happy listening to next door's occupants toilet habits (and more !) though earplugs are included.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pino-Drinker
Inoka P, Owner at Sonata Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We were a little puzzled to receive your review over a year after your stay, so please get in touch if you wanted to talk things through. We always appreciate feedback and have worked hard to establish a place where our guests have a lovely experience. We wish you had mentioned this at the time...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2016

We only stayed one night but it was long enough to know that this B&B is one of the very best. A comfortable bed in a very well appointed room and a breakfast as good as we enjoyed at a 4 star hotel where we stayed earlier that week. I would add that this is comparing with a good 4...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JaneB31
Reviewed 11 October 2016

We stayed here last week and the accommodation was excellent. The proprietors were a lovely couple, very friendly and helpful. As for the breakfast it was excellent. I will definitely be staying here again when visiting Kendal and will highly recommend it to my friends.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David M
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 October 2016

We stayed at this guest house for one night and wish we had been able to stay longer. Everything was immaculate, the room was really comfortable with thoughtful extras provided.The communal lounge, complete with a set of Wainwright's guides and many other guide books was a lovely place to spend time on a rainy Monday. The hosts Inoko and Chris...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pickleflea
suffolk
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

Lovely B and B great hosts nothing too much trouble, had a room with a busy road but ear plugs were supplied which was very thoughtful and everything else fantastic so wasn't a problem and great to be central to walk into town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ginantonicSuffolk
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2016

My wife and i stayed at the sonata for 2 nights en route to a family wedding in scotland. What a wonderful surprise we got on arrival. Chris and inoka couldnt do anymore for us during our stay. The whole guest house was immaculate. Our room was worthy of a five star hotel with every extra you would need. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dee and Jim C
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

Have just returned from attending a family wedding in the Lake District. We booked into the Sonata Guest House for two nights. I can say with certainty that it was one of the best B&B establishments that we have ever stayed in and we have tried quite a few over the years. There are 4 rooms available to stay in....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dianne M
Littleborough
Reviewed 25 September 2016

My husband and I stayed at the Sonata for two nights in room 1. My sister and husband stayed in room 4. There was a vast difference in the quality of the rooms. Room 4 had been completely refurbished with a nice big bathroom and full bathroom suite. It was a beautiful and exceptional room. Unfortunately our room (room 1)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PaulaLittleborough
Inoka P, Owner at Sonata Guest House, responded to this review

Yes, your sister's room was newly decorated with additional sockets but had no more or less character than other rooms. We are a modest B&B and have not promoted ourselves as a character boutique. Just clean rooms, comfortable beds and a freshly cooked breakfast to start the day. You were in a 4-star rated en-suite room (not sub-standard) and we...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

We only stayed for one night after taking the train up from London, but Chris treated us with the same hospitality as guests staying for a week: offers to help find places in town and around, ensuring we had everything we needed in our room, a lovely cooked breakfast in the morning to get us going. The guesthouse is welcoming,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine O

20 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kendal hotels
0.6 km away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 14 in Kendal
995 reviews
1.0 km away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 14 in Kendal
474 reviews
2.2 km away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 14 in Kendal
659 reviews
0.6 km away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#12 of 14 in Kendal
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Sonata Guest House offers outstanding 4 Star B&B accommodation in the heart of Kendal in the South Lakes. We're a Visit England Breakfast award-winning B&B just a 5 minutes walk from Kendal's great choice of specialist shops, cafes, restaurants and the famous Brewery Arts Centre. Browse our reviews on TripAdvisor - we're a Certificate of Excellence award-winner. Local bus and rail links are just a short stroll from the B&B and the Lake District National Park border is just a 3 minute drive away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sonata Guest House

Address: 19 Burneside Road, Kendal LA9 4RL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Price Range: €80 - €97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonata Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sonata Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonata Guest House Kendal, Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sonata Guest House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Hartlepool
1 month ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Sonata Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 2 ;-) nice en suite”
jond433, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Steepish stairs to the second floor for the less fit.”
PercivalHartlepool, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“no tips,just enjoy like we do.”
975ianp, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose room 4 not room 1”
PaulaLittleborough, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the back of the house is quieter”
nilantipeiris, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$106* /night
View Deal
Agoda.comUS$106
Booking.comUS$106
TripAdvisorUS$106
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates