We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

County Hotel

Save
Traveller (81)
Room & Suite (36)
Dining (2)
Overview
  • Excellent18%
  • Very good31%
  • Average25%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“coach tour”(8 reviews)
“train station”(14 reviews)
Internet
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free Parking
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (310)
There are newer reviews for County Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
309 results
Traveller rating
57
92
78
37
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
57
92
78
37
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoach tournational holidaystrain stationsingle roomtea making facilitieslady on receptionpiping hotbudget hotellong weekendlake districtfull english breakfastcentral locationevening mealwarm welcomeglentonannekettle
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
61 - 65 of 309 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

The hotel is very run down bathrooms need renewing chipped tiles and mould bits. Plenty of hot water at all times plenty of good quality towels. Rooms good size but curtains definitely have passed their best and window frames archaic. Front of hotel very noisy...More

Thank LGH1946
Response from Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County HotelResponded 19 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback. We do not respond to anonymous postings on TripAdvisor. If you have a genuine point to make, and wish us to investigate and respond to you in writing, please email us at gemma.wilson@theukholidaygroup.com,...More

Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Had a lovely stay at the county hotel for 3 nights. Room was nice and clean. Staff were absolutely lovely! Good nights entertainment, especially the young singer called Michael! Looking forward to returning :)

Thank Beth M
Response from Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County HotelResponded 19 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Reviewed 26 October 2016

No Hot water for the whole time we were there, Monday to Friday with acoach party. The bathroom floor tiles were broken and split, Not good,! Also two wall lights with out switches or plugs. just decoration I think . Also found sandwich boxes in...More

2  Thank shirberthiscock
Response from Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County HotelResponded 19 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback. We do not respond to anonymous postings on TripAdvisor. If you have a genuine point to make, and wish us to investigate and respond to you in writing, please email us at gemma.wilson@theukholidaygroup.com,...More

Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

run down,no heating for 2 nights,springs coming through mattress,not clean,lock broke on door,was locked in for 1 hour,food was inedible had 2 buy food outside.staff were nice considering all the complaints they had 2 deal with.NEVER AGAIN.More

3  Thank Susan T
Response from Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County HotelResponded 19 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback. We do not respond to anonymous postings on TripAdvisor. If you have a genuine point to make, and wish us to investigate and respond to you in writing, please email us at gemma.wilson@theukholidaygroup.com,...More

Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

So, here is how I see it. If you complain, you clearly expected more? More than a bed, ensuite bathroom and a TV? Well at the price paid I can't understand why you would expect more than I have already listed... Seriously, if you want...More

1  Thank Aaron S
Response from Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County HotelResponded 19 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback. It is rare to find people whose expectations are guaged against the price paid and I would like to thank you for honest account of the hotel.

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Kendal, United Kingdom
See all 13 hotels in KendalSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$88 - US$122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$88 - US$122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (81)
Room & Suite (36)
Dining (2)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from County Hotel staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"have no idea!"
Read review
"Good to another hotel"
Read review
"Room 206 has twin beds and is large, also a shower instead of a bath."
Read review
"Ask if there are any recently refurbished rooms. if not, pay an extra £5 & stay somewhere else!"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing