We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Thorney How

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Thorney How
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

164 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 160: English reviews
Start your review of Thorney How
 Click to rate
Appleby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our double room had undisturbed views up the surrounding fells, plentiful tea and coffee in our room and a brilliant shower. Our evening meal was delicious. The dining room/lounge is very classy and doubles as a gallery, with fantastic exhibition of work by Cumbrian artist Kate Brundrett. After our meal, we enjoyed quality entertainment with the latest Star Trek film,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kbct2017
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We (three young guys) came to Thorney How for a two night stay to do a bit of weekend walking, arriving on the Friday evening and leaving soon after breakfast on the Sunday. We arrived separately over a period of approx. 2 hours; each of us were given a warm welcome, shown around the hostel and house rules explained to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jackmoss93
Liverpool, England
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed in the bunk barn annex, had a bunk room for 4 on my own. Smartest bunk barn i've ever been too, showers and toilets so clean you could have eaten off the floor. Last stayed almost 20 years ago and the present owners have renovated it really nicely. Certainly wasn't cold, loved the underfloor heating in the showers....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mumRLB
TaylorNuttall, Owner at Thorney How, responded to this review

Hi mumRLB, thank you so much for your review. We're glad that you enjoyed the bunkhouse accommodation. It's great to hear that our renovation work is appreciated. As we have a grade II listed building to manage it's important to us that we get this right for guests, but are still sensitive to the buildings origins. We're not convinced that...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 January 2017

Two middle aged couples staying for 2 nights, evening meal and breakfast, lets just say we are not a rowdy bunch and are extremely compliant The sort of guests that clean up and leave the place as tidy as we found it. Furthermore we would gladly pay for any extras outwith our (prepaid) service scope if we so desired. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pjb1234172
TaylorNuttall, Owner at Thorney How, responded to this review

pjb1234172 has written a lengthy review following his stay with partner plus another couple. We agree fully that they were a very pleasant group to have staying with us, for his partner her 3rd visit and for himself a second having stayed here exactly a year ago. Their review then was fully appreciative of our hospitality, food and accommodation, praising...

Hitchin, UK
Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the twin room which was comfortable, quiet and clean. The hostel is also in a great position with beautiful views. However, when we arrived on Friday evening at 6ish we asked if we could have food at the hostel that night and were told quite rudely that we couldn't (despite signs saying you could book food before...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jenga2807
TaylorNuttall, Manager at Thorney How, responded to this review

Dear jenga2808 Unfortunately on the night of your stay we were unable to field a last minute replacement chef as our main chef was unavailable. My wife who spoke to you had also been ill herself for 5 days and we were not in a position to operate a full catering offer. We did have a very limited menu which...

Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

We were visiting the lakes at half term with our 6 year old son, we managed to get a last minute booking at Thorney How independent hostel. The last time I stayed in a hostel in the UK was a long time ago when I was a child! Staying with my family in one of the cosy private bunk house...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steph W
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Have stayed at Thorney How twice now - first time in the bunk barn, second in one of the main rooms (twin)... I shall certainly be staying a third in the future and would have no hesitation in returning again and again... Great facilities, friendly and helpful staff, wonderful location, all in all a great spot to explore the Lakes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peterspink
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2016

If you do not need bedroom luxury and are prepared to stay in two or four- bedded basic rooms at a very competitive price, this is the place for you. A short walk out of Grasmere and surrounded by lovely countryside, you will receive a very friendly welcome from the owners. Suitable for all ages. Excellent breakfast will set you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David S
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Stayed here for 3 nights with friends for a long weekends climbing and walking, Thorney How is now top of the list to stay in future, everything is 10 out of 10, hot powerful showers, warm comfortable rooms, great friendly service and serving evening meals and a bar you don't need to go anywhere, idyllic surroundings. You have to have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

Me and 3 40/50 something friends bunked here for 3 nights to explore the local scrambling routes. Accomodation very good - we all shared a comfortable bedroom with excellent shower and toilet facilities. Main coomunal areas excellent with well stocked bar and really good value food (breakfast, packed lunches and dinner). Hosts were really friendly and could not have done...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick D

63 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.1 km away
The Lancrigg Hotel
The Lancrigg Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
624 reviews
1.1 km away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,138 reviews
1.8 km away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
689 reviews
1.0 km away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,358 reviews
0.8 km away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated under Helm Crag in Grasmere, Thorney How offers independent, family run licensed guest accommodation. With flexible room types choose from B&B with some ensuites, double, twin and family rooms or Bunkhouse type rooms. The property provides up to 42 comfortable beds , these are mostly bunk style beds arranged across 2 buildings situated in 2 1/4 acres of stunning natural grounds, and over 350 years of heritage. With the backdrop of magnificent fells, adjacent to the Coast to Coast path, local Grasmere village amenities and lake, the tranquil location provides the perfect place from which to explore everything Lakeland has to offer. Bike hire and car charging points also available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thorney How

Address: Thorney How | Off Easedale Road, Grasmere LA22 9QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Price Range: €55 - €178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thorney How 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Expedia so you can book your Thorney How reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thorney How Grasmere, Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Thorney How staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pick the room size to suit the size of your party.”
 of 5 bubbles DavidS841, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We were in the bunk house, very clean, good showers.”
 of 5 bubbles T7370QIchrisp, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“En-suit are great”
 of 5 bubbles edwardsfamily2016, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in room 6, an en-suite room that was private. If staying in a group of 4 I would recommend it.”
 of 5 bubbles AndrewHLeic, 21 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Bunkhouse for larger groups.. B&B in main house. Double en-suite available. Can request private occupancy if you don't want to share”
 of 5 bubbles freestyleminibus, 22 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5