We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ouse Bridge House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ouse Bridge House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

129 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Ouse Bridge House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 128: English reviews
Bhuj, India
Reviewed 5 September 2016

The external entrance and surrounds not good and even not clean. The arrangements of rooms not good, the rooms is very small size and utility area is very old and un higenic. It's very dirty and vorn our place. Need major refurbication. The food is also not very good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ramjigorsia
bazCumbria, Owner at Ouse Bridge House, responded to this review

We do not recognise the name of thiis guest as someone who has stayed with us. We also do not have a Utility Room [we are a guesthouse not a self catering property] and therefore suspect this is the wrong property being reviewed.

Paris, France
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Claire and Stephen went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable - our party consisted of my teenaged daughter, myself and my elderly mother - all of us were very impressed! The vegetarian cooked breakfast was delicious, the rooms clean, bright and tastefully decorated and the beds comfortable. The location is peaceful but well placed to visit the North...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ccdadamson
bazCumbria, Owner at Ouse Bridge House, responded to this review

We are so glad that you all enjoyed your stay with us at Ouse Bridge House and we are happy that you found it a "home from home." I do hope that Lea found her work experience very interesting that she undertook whilst visiting the Lake Distirict.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

Angry South African receptionist- worst customer service ever, booked through booking.com for a wedding in August, they took the money straight away then I had to cancel so called for a refund but one week later still not had it, called again and the receptionist said angrily 'we are trying to run a guesthouse here, we will get round to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank luciadd1
bazCumbria, Owner at Ouse Bridge House, responded to this review

This guest cancelled their booking with us and did not stay in July 2016 as stated in this Tripadvisor review. The booking was cancelled on Monday 11th July 2016 @ 16h53 and the deposit was refunded to the guest on Friday 15th July 2016 @ 17h16. We believe that a 4 day turnaround on a refund is reasonable and any...

Keighley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 June 2016

Arrived at 5.30pm and given a warm welcome. Advised where local pubs and restaurants were. I was travelling alone but my room had a double bed and faced the lake with views of the yacht club and the mountains. The room had it's own private bathroom with bath and shower opposite. There is a guest lounge with honesty bar facing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wendy H
Keilor, Australia
Reviewed 7 June 2016 via mobile

We have just had two nights staying at Ouse Bridge House and were very happy with the stay. Stephen and Claire helped us out after a booking mishap that had nothing to do with them. They are very welcoming and helpful hosts. Many hints were given for the rest of our journey around the UK. Our room was clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wombatjj
bazCumbria, Owner at Ouse Bridge House, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are so pleased that we were able to accommodate you on such short notice and that we looked after you during you time with us. Enjoy the rest of your UK trip and hopefully the good weather will stay with you. If you return to UK for...

Shefford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 June 2016

My 6 year-old son and i spent 5 nights here last week and it was perfect. Hosts Claire and Stephen are extremely friendly, helpful and relaxed, always ready to have a chat and to recommend excursions etc. The breakfast was delicious and consistently so every morning (i'm convinced Stephen used to be a professional chef in his previous life!). Our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JedwinM
bazCumbria, Owner at Ouse Bridge House, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Ouse Bridge House and were able to "bag a few Wainwrights" whilst on your walking adventure. We do our best to make the guesthouse a home from home and we are glad that you were both relaxed and enjoyed your stay. Stephen does make a wonderful breakfast, which has been...

Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 May 2016

Spent the weekend here, and the experience was wonderful. we were upgraded for free, the woman who ran the place was very friendly and helpful. The room was spotless, very spacious and comfortable! The building was beautiful, and in a perfect location. The breakfast was lovely and service was excellent! Would highly recommend this place to anyone wanting a weekend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kmardlin
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

Friendly and bubbly host. Breakfast was excellent. Stayed on top floor in family room. Room nice and cosy. Thanks to hosts was fitted in after different B&B cancelled on us due to not taking children thanks very much. Will visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David B
Reviewed 12 March 2016 via mobile

Stayed here with work for 2 nights but was working night so slept through the day. Lovely and friendly owner great location in between Keswick and cockermouth. Lovely view of the lake . And great breakfast . Told our company to use hotel again cheers for everything

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lyon1181
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 January 2016 via mobile

Stayed for one night whist visiting friends near by. Check in pleasant and a quick guided tour. Sadly didn't spend long enough in the well presented and spotless establishment. Breakfast was delicious and clearly freshly cooked. Hope to return and spend a bit more time in this gorgeous part of the world, and without any doubt will stay in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SheltieShetland

20 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockermouth
2.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel
1.4 km away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,568 reviews
2.6 km away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Ravenstone Manor
Ravenstone Manor
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,020 reviews
0.6 km away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#4 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
486 reviews
4.0 km away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Ouse Bridge House

Address: Bassenthwaite Lake | Dubwath, Cockermouth CA13 9YD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Price Range: €75 - €115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ouse Bridge House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Ouse Bridge House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ouse Bridge House Cockermouth, Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ouse Bridge House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Sunderland

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Ouse Bridge House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay somewhere else.”
Calum68, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Best views from the front rooms (great views of Bassenthwaite)”
  • view from room 3 window
edenmedia, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a top floor double room with a lake view - stunning”
limpkorn, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“A room on the front of the property has great views and fantastic sunsets”
  • View from Room 1
RandSHowell, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at front for views of the lake”
doebag, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5