We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

390 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 387: English reviews
Start your review of New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Very rude women who worked there called Diane.swore at my girlfriend when she complained about our stay very very rude.The hotel wasn't clean and the food tasted like it had been refrozen several times tasted old very unpleasant experience

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lishbang
Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was out 2nd stay at New Dungeon Ghyll (first last year in August, this year 9-11 April). We have stayed in both the family room and this time the superior room. This hotel is perfect for it's location and purpose. The rooms are clean and warm and the rear entrance is great for taking things to the car or...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PaulConfused
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for writing such a lovely review and it was great meeting you both. The fires!! We know it has been a colder than normal April but it is not cold enough for the fires to be lit, its amazing how much heat they give a room. Come and see us in the winter months when all 3 are blazing...

Liverpool, England
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were here for a couple of nights for a wedding. The Hotel is in a beautiful spot and we had fabulous views from our bedroom window. It sits in nice grounds with stunning countryside all around. Our bedroom was rather small, but had everything you could require and the fixtures and fittings, including the bed and the shower were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David M
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely comments, and so glad you enjoyed the wedding. It was a lovely family occasion and you were all great. It is a hot hotel due to very thick walls that hold the heat in, our heating goes off at 9.00 pm and comes back on at 7.00 am for a couple of hours. It has...

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

A nice three night stay,good food for residents or bar food for walkers.Couple of minus points.The bathroom extract fan seemed to come on at 8am and go off at 8pm,not good for odours!. The duvet cover was to big for the duvet,which makes for a uncomfortable sleep.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lakland494
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your nice comments, the negative ones will be looked into. See you again.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped here for a break. We enjoyed an amazing sticky toffee pudding , coffee and tea after a long walk . Very enjoyable and friendly bar man . Would definitely go back . Lovely atmosphere in the small bar and the food smelt great. Plenty of tables outside on a summer's evening even better.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan J
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review

You cannot beat a good homemade STP, in the busy months it is almost made daily. Come for seconds on your next visit to langdale.

Corby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This traditional hotel is full of character. I was there for a wedding party and the staff were helpful, cheerful and kind. The room was fairly standard and I slept really well. The bathroom was clean and functional. We had two meals in the hotel both were well cooked and good value. As far as I could see there were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review

Great comments, thank you very much. At the moment we do not have a facility for charging electric cars, maybe in the future.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It is a overused word but when you see real hospitality it is immediately recognisable.The staff here have a real warmth about them Our room was up in the eaves with limited headroom in places and if you are lucky enough to be tall you want to take that into consideration in your choice of room. Breakfast is as good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas G
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to meet you all, and you were a very easy group to look after. We hope to see you all again in the near future.

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel itself, (i.e., the building) is a nice place to be — good rooms, comfy beds, lovely breakfast, nice warm fire in the lounge and bar, etc. In particular, the delicious hot breakfast was just what we needed as we looked out to the cold and rain outside. The standout thing about this hotel, though (and the reason I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iKenndac
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review

We really appreciate people taking the time to review our hotel, and ones like this just make our day. We have fantastic staff and a very lucky. Hope to see you again and maybe the sun might be shining!!

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we had a ground floor room which suited me fine after a hard days walking the fell even got spoilt with a hair dryer to dry off with. Breakfast was filling and i was given an extra sausage. Plenty of room in the gardens to run around and play in. Staff very friendly always patting and stroking me. Free drinks...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 200Debbie
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review

How do I reply to that.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2017

We've stayed here a few times now over the years (Christmas pudding 10k / summer visits) and it's always been such a memorable stay! Had many / too many drinks in The Walkers Bar, fabulous meals in the restaurant & lovely chats with the owners. Extremely friendly staff - very relaxed & helpful at all times, nothing seems too much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarahshackley
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for such lovely comments and it is always lovely to see you. there is no such thing as too many!! See you soon.

114 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (88)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
4.1 km away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
1,351 reviews
0.0 km away
The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
#10 of 12 in Ambleside
238 reviews
9.3 km away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 km away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,167 reviews
9.5 km away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,623 reviews
7.7 km away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel is located in the picturesque Langdale Valley, close to the bustling small town of Ambleside and is situated conveniently for visiting many intersting areas of the Lake District, such as Grasmere, Bowness on Windermere, Keswick and Kendal. The Hotel prides itself on the cuisine served, the relaxed and friendly service it offers, as well as the excellent standards provided.All bedrooms enjoy the most dramatic of views, whether over Stickle Beck as it tumbles down the fellside, to the Pikes themselves all dominant and brooding or Lingmoor as she forms the long south easterly side of the valley. Each of the extremely comfortable rooms are en-suite with colour television and tea and coffee making facilities and central heating.The bright restaurant overlooks the patio and to the lawn with the Lakeland fells beyond. Before dining take the opportunity to sample the hand pulled beers or the many malt whiskies available in the cosy lounge bar.Resident chef, Ian Manley, now in his 12th year at the hotel and his small and enthusiastic team have devised a style of cooking which is unique to The New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel. Using only the finest seasonal local produce including game, meat and fish the hotel proudly claim an extremely high standard of cuisine that you will want to sample again and again. The excellent selection of dishes also extends to our range of vegetarian meals.The New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel is located in the very heart of the Lake District, one of the most beautiful and inspiring corners of England. This region of long ribbon lakes, green valleys and sweeping mountains was the home of the poets Wordsworth and Coleridge and greatly inspired their work. ... more   less 

Additional Information about New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel

Address: Great Langdale, Ambleside LA22 9JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Price Range: €131 - €187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Dungeon Ghyll Ambleside
New Dungeon Hotel
Hotel New Dungeon Ghyll
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel Ambleside, Lake District
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Durham, United Kingdom
Blackburn, United Kingdom
8 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I imagine that all the rooms are equally good.”
918MikeB918, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 10 (a poster bed room) has great views over the valley”
  • The view from room 10
iKenndac, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“stunning views all round”
sarahshackley, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor is great for walkers. First floor rooms have those breathtakingly beautiful views, so, so beautiful.”
nic_gaskin, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The four poster bed was great”
cubster62, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5