We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Nanny Brow

Hotels.comUS$182*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$188*
US$182*
US$188*
US$182*
US$188*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Nanny Brow
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

654 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Nanny Brow
See the most recent reviews
Showing 649: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 June 2016

Stayed in the King Suite - well worth it! Superbly appointed and stunning views from the balcony in the sitting room and the bedroom. The owners Sue and Pete are delightful with nothing too much trouble. The gardens are beautiful and the decor is faultless in terms of taste and quality.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scraggy56
Susan_NannyBrow, Owner at Nanny Brow, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay with us at Nanny Brow. I am delighted you enjoyed our King Suite Loweswater with its own private balcony and lounge. Our gardener Peter and my husband(Pete) are both delighted you enjoyed the gardens. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. All the best Sue

Croston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 June 2016

We arrived to a very warm welcome and we were then shown to our delightful and comfortable room (Loughrigg). After a very comfortable nights sleep we awoke around 4am to the dawn chorus - superb! Drifted back to sleep and the awoke again in time for an invigorating shower and a fantastic breakfast. The fresh fruit salad I can only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lancashirelass301
Susan_NannyBrow, Owner at Nanny Brow, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. All the staff including Jacob were delighted to read your lovely review about your stay, the service you received from everyone here and we were smiley happy team. Our fresh fruit salad is just that fresh season fruits prepared each day for all our...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 June 2016

This is a great hotel in a great location, with breathtaking scenery all around. Run by Sue, her husband and friendly staff. Stayed in a suite, really good size bedroom and bathroom with fireplace.......everything you could need was in this room, including freshly baked cake daily. Stayed on a B&B basis, no complaints on food . This Arts & Craft...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karenhomestaging
Susan_NannyBrow, Owner at Nanny Brow, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us. It was a delight to read your review and to hear that you really got what Nanny Brow is all about. I am so pleased you liked our restoration of this significant lake land Arts and Craft house. As you said we have sourced...

Munich
Reviewed 13 June 2016

Due to the outstanding reviews for Nanny Brow (and the room rates) my expectations were quite high.. What I really liked was the garden: great views, beautiful trees and flowers, it was a treat just to sit there and enjoy. You could also take quite a few scenic walks directly from Nanny Brow. The breakfast was very good, the bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank OnMyWay62
Susan_NannyBrow, Owner at Nanny Brow, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.It was lovely to read the many positive thing you had to say about your stay with us and as a consequence I would like to address the others as you have chosen to do this in a very public forum. I am sorry you feel the £5.00 supplement for a...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 June 2016

This was our 2nd visit to The Lake District and Nanny Brow to support our daughter doing the Great North Swim and was just as good as we remembered . We had a lovely room in the main house this time (Skelwith ) with fabulous views . Susan and her team could not be more helpful, friendly and accomodating and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annececilia2015
Susan_NannyBrow, Owner at Nanny Brow, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay for The Great Northern Swim. it always a delight to read reviews from returning guests and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for all the compliments about us all we really appreciated them. We look forward to seeing you for next...

Barrow in Furness, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 June 2016

My husband and I just returned from our weekend stay at Nanny Brow and would happily recommend to all who require a luxurious hotel in an amazing location. Susan and all of the staff were warm, friendly and accommodating. We stayed in Buttermere, which was a charming little suite with access to the gardens and a stunning view. We also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynne C
Susan_NannyBrow, Owner at Nanny Brow, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay with us. To start a review saying "and would happily recommend to all who require a luxurious hotel in an amazing location" is a real compliment You have both shown how accessible the lakes is to people with out a car, having spent you spent your...

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 June 2016

Booked last minute, what a lovely friendly place, fabulous suite, stunning views, beautiful gardens, lovely breakfast, amazing place to stay would definitely stay again, I left a cardigan in the wardrobe and Sue even posted it back to me.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
Susan_NannyBrow, Owner at Nanny Brow, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us. it was lovely to read all the lovely things you had to say about us all , your stay ,the food and the gardens. Glad your cardigan got back safely to you. We look forward to seeing you both soon. All the best Sue

Barrow in Furness, Cumbria
Reviewed 12 June 2016

We stayed here for one night whilst eating at Lake Road Kitchen. We had a lovely room with a double shower with great views out of the windows. Staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for you, offering to book taxi's etc. We sat in the garden in afternoon and had some drinks outside in the sunshine and read...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fayelacey
Susan_NannyBrow, Owner at Nanny Brow, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay and dinner at lakes Rd Kitchen. It was lovely to read all the complimentary thing you had to say about your stay with us. I am sorry you were disappointed about no veggie sausages and hash browns for your only breakfast with us. We do ask...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 June 2016

We absolutely loved our stay here at Nanny Brow. On arrival we were welcomed into our spectacular room! We were not disappointed on the luxuries that were in store for us. We visited a local restaurant for tea and even though the owners had family round for a party we did not "feel in the way". We also have to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marieboyle30
Susan_NannyBrow, Owner at Nanny Brow, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that even though you only stayed for one night you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. I am pleased that my fathers 90th birthday party which was during your stay did make you "feel in the way". It was absolutely not a problem allowing you...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 June 2016

So glad we found Nanny Brow. What a wonderful place. Very high standard in everything, We booked at the last minute for one night and wish we could have stayed longer. We had the Grasmere room overlooking the beautiful gardens and views of the fells. It was our anniversary and in our room when we arrived was a lovely card...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Crazywalrus
Susan_NannyBrow, Owner at Nanny Brow, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. All the staff were delighted to read your review and we were so pleased we helped make your stay so enjoyable for your anniversary. The room you stayed in (Grassmere) is lovely especially this time of year when you can open the door and step into the garden. We are...

179 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (160)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (91)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
1.6 km away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,178 reviews
7.2 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.0 km away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,363 reviews
1.7 km away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,643 reviews
10.3 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nanny Brow sits on its own private crag, near Ambleside with views down the Brathay valley. Direct fellside access for walkers and only minutes from the stunning Langdale Valleys. A relaxing family home with excellent levels of comfort and service. Spotlessly clean accommodation, warm and spacious with individually designed rooms, friendly service and great breakfasts. Come join us and unwind…… ... more   less 

Additional Information about Nanny Brow

Address: Clappersgate, Ambleside LA22 9NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Price Range: €155 - €304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Nanny Brow 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nanny Brow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nanny Brow Hotel Ambleside
Nanny Brow Ambleside, Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Nanny Brow staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Dublin
3 months ago
9 months ago
9 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Nanny Brow staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room chosen by looking on the internet.”
Augury, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“The Skelwith has fantastic views of river valley”
930markt, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“Our junior suite was perfect.”
38marshas, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Book a room at the front with views across the valley.”
ChrisG249, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“You can't go wrong, they are all good in different ways.”
Stegosaur, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$182* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$182
PricelineUS$188
Orbitz.comUS$182
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates