We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers: Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Great value for money. Staff always helpful and attentive. Free car parking. Free Kimbo coffee. A very good location both for the main attractions of Hull, but also Beverley and all points east of the city.
Used this chain of hotels extensively in France and Europe this is a first in the uk , spookily instantly back "home" everything is the same , you could be anyone of there establishments . Staff as helpful and friendly as ever. Ideally situated for old town and quays short walk give it a whirl
Spent 2 nights at this hotel . It is good value for the price paid keep that in mind. This is between £30 and £ 40 per night and in the town centre. Worn even tatty but the bed was very clean and comfortable. I heard very little noise and felt safe and secure. Rooms are in a 2 story open motel style block with plenty of free parking. Bathrooms are old but clean and functionally ok. Tv is a little small but back to price paid. Wi Fi is virgin high-speed and FOC . Staff are friendly and more than willing to give directions or advice on hull. There is a shopping centre 5 mins walk away with restaurant's, shops , cinema etc. Town centre is also 5 mins walk. Train station similar distance. So I go back to look at what you are paying it is not a 3/4 star however it does not charge 60+ £ per night. So for free parking , free high speed WiFi and a clean bed great value.
The staff are all very friendly and helpful. But then they have to be, as the same girl that was running reception or the hotel for the night, was also the chef, the waitress, the bar women, room checker. This motel has sadly been totally neglected by the owners. I was given one room and the bed base had a hole in so you couldnt lay on it without falling through, the tiles were peeling off in the bathroom. I was moved to another room, which again had been totally neglected, and tiles all falling off in bathroom, dirty carpet and when my mum removed her pillow case....the pillow was so dirty it made her want to vomit to think she had slept on it. The motel is used by ladies of the night and a dumping ground for social service out casts. When we arrived there was some elderly gent in a wheelchair, with one leg, sat outside his room, accosting everyone to go in his room. the police were called at one stage, as it was a route right past the rooms to a school. We were advised to stay away from him as he was violent. He was eventually moved, to a suitable care home hopefully. A young girl arrived for her room for the night, but was put on the upper landing. She felt so uncomfortable that she preferred to leave and drive two hours to her brothers. As we were in a group, we stayed the two nights as it was convenient to my unwell Aunts house and as it was so cheap. We laughed at how bad it was and in a disgusting state ( having seen three rooms). What you cant fault is the staff though, they work so hard, even painting the place themselves to try and make it inhabitable. The company who owns this place, should be disgusted with yourself . You have a nicely painted external, hanging baskets....but when you enter the rooms, they are like some dirty old hostel, falling to bits, that i would not stay in again if someone paid me. The restaurant food was awful and burnt and inedible. As the poor girl was busy checking in guests, serving behind bar, cooking an waitressing and dealing with the police and the accosting elderly gent. Having enquirer with locals, we were laughed at when we told them we stayed there....as they said its a place where ladies of the night work!
My wife and I visited family in Hull and after some research on cost ( and the fact that the Hotel we usually stay in is undergoing building work) we decided on the Campanile, Hull. This turned out to be an error.
It’s worth mentioning that on the ground floor the room door opens virtually onto the car park - and the noise is obvious.
Rooms are extremely basic - but bed sheets are clean.
Thankfully we did some research so remembered to take our own electrical extension as there is only one socket in the room - which happens to be by the front window. The mirror is by the bathroom at the back of the room and hair dryer does not reach. And in any case there is no light by the mirror so impossible to dry hair properly
To add to our woes the shower did not work - it was either scoldingly hot or freezing cold. No matter how much we tried we could not get the water onto a useable temperature.
Finally on our 3rd day the room was not cleaned. We washed early and went out for the day - only to return at 10pm to find beds unmade, wet towels on bathroom floor where we had left them and tea making materials had not been replenished.
All in all an extremingly poor stay which was exacerbated even further when we checked out at 0630 the next morning and little if any interest was shown by reception when all these shortcomings were explained.
Response from JednSasha | Reviewed this property |
Having worked in hotels for many years, I can only comment that ALL hotels cater for all types of people, the law recognises that a hotel room you book is your place of residence for the period you have booked, legally you... More
Having worked in hotels for many years, I can only comment that ALL hotels cater for all types of people, the law recognises that a hotel room you book is your place of residence for the period you have booked, legally you can even smoke in a hotel room, the ban is a hotel policy not the law. So the simple fact is that people use hotel rooms for exactly the same purposes as they use their own bedrooms, nobody needs to point out what happens in hotel bedrooms on honeymoon nights.
Some people cannot use their own homes, I remember booking many a hotel for weekends with my girlfriend when I was in the army, we couldn't really book her into the barrack rooms could we.
It then follows that others do the same be they, heterosexual, Gay or Lesbian, providing they are discreet I do not see a problem with it personally.
We have stayed at the Campanile in Hull many times and never met anyone that we could describe in any category other than average hotel clients, we have never seen anything happening there that we could envisage as offensive to anyone, not even to the most prudent of people.
What goes on there behind closed doors I have no idea, no desire to know and as said, have never been given a reason to know.
I am sure that ALL people would be offended if on check in they were asked "are you Gay or Lesbian" or "do you and the other guest plan to have any sexual encounters while you use the room", a hotel will only take action if there were complaints from other guest such as excessive noise and that happens without there being a sexual reason for the noise.