We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

810 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Vin & Bistro
See the most recent reviews
Showing 791: English reviews
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went during Christmas and it was lovely! The hotel was so cosy with friendly staff. Our room was great! It was the perfect size overlooking the garden. We stayed for 2 nights and would definitely go there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lianish2017
James M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear liandish2017 Thank you for your lovely review - I do hope we get to welcome you back again this Christmas? I hope 2017 is treating you well. Best wishes,

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel has cosy seating and a comfortable sumptuous ambience. The tea menu is unusual and tasty! Parking nearby. The staff are very friendly but have been vague and confused when wanting to discuss voucher or when we arrived ten mins early, I think this could be a language barrier as none of the staff on both visits appear to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Treats999
James M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Treats999 Thank you for your great review, I'm so glad you enjoyed the Afternoon Tea menu and experience. I do hope we have the opportunity of seeing you again before too long. Best wishes,

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked direct with hotel, booked what we were told as cottage in grounds superior suite. (Cantana Suite) Well ! taken back out of front entrance to side building converted into suites right on edge of main road, couldn't open windows due to noise from traffic, bed was amazing, bathroom tile on floor cracked, grouting around sink mucky and very badly...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank VickyMCB
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2017

When we arrived the restaurant had a very heavy "meaty" smell that was rather overpowering but it did go over time. But not was off-putting. There were lots of staff but service was VERY slow. Basics had to be chased. The food was variable. We had a meat pudding that was disappointing .......The dough cover looked as if it had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeremydhbstirling
James M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Jeremydhbstirling, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry you were disappointed with your meal. Your concerns will be discussed with Chef and the service team; although I would like to assure you there is no Microwave in our kitchen and all dishes are prepared freshly to order. Best regards,

Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Overall disappointing. We went for my friends birthday dinner and sadly it didn't live up to our expectation. We were told we couldn't have a booking for 8pm and yet there were lots of free tables all evening. The Aubergine caponata with halloumi was too salty, tasted of olives rather than Aubergine and menu didn't mention olives in the description...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hannah R
James M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Hannah R, Thank you for your review, though I am of course distressed to read you were disappointed. There are no olives at all in the Caponata dish; and we will investigate the saltiness though the Haloumi does contribute to this. I'm sorry for the error with your aperitifs - this will be followed up with the Service Team...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Booking and reception were handled very well, and a room allocation problem quickly solved. Beds were huge and very comfortable and my big hate, only one chair in a double room, didn't apply as there were three! I found that every requirement was provided for, mini bar, fresh milk, iron and board, plenty of towels, robes etc, but the curtains...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank B F
James M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear B F Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your experience overall and hope we have the opportunity of seeing you again before too long. I am aware of the issue you refer to, and this has been addressed with the relevant team member. Best wishes,

Copthorne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2017

A friend and I booked afternoon tea here as a treat, what a disappointment! We phoned ahead to check on parking and the receptionist kindly reserved us a parking space, however the car park is very small and full of large vehicles, we were unable to turn to get into the space! Luckily there was a space next door in...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank wenpulling
James M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear wenpulling Thank you for your review - I am sorry you were so disappointed with your Afternoon Tea. We take pride in the food we serve, and while I appreciate it is not always to everyone's taste we do try to make sure the menus are as clear as possible. All our food is freshly prepared and I can...

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Wow a stunning hotel. Superb gardens at rear and wonderful inside to with beautiful stair case.. Staff were friendly and helpful, food looked great. Plenty of staff to help make the bride and grooms day special. Can recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulandsuef
James M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear paulandsuef Thank you for your lovely review - it's fantastic to know you had a good time and thank you for your recommendation! Best wishes,

London
Reviewed 9 March 2017

Returning to this hotel after an absence of a number of years reminded us why we had not returned sooner. On the positive side one must commend both the hotel and bistro staff who were all very pleasant and helpful. Hotel managers (and their partners) should really sleep in each of their bedrooms to see what their customers have to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank meltone
James M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear meltone, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry you found the property pretentious. We are unfortunately restricted in our options for room size and layout based on the history and listing of the building. That being said, we are currently upgrading all lighting in our bedrooms and bathrooms which i'm sure will alleviate your concern regarding shaving. Regards,

Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 March 2017

After an indifferent trip to HdV in Birmingham a few months previously I had an opportunity to spend a Saturday night at the (Royal, don't you know) Tunbridge Wells hotel. The hospitality team could not have been more helpful. The first room we were shown had a sleigh bed - looks great but I am tall & hit my feet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ayersy
James M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Ayersy Thank you for your lovely review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay following the re-allocation of your room and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best wishes,

220 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (187)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (77)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Royal Tunbridge Wells hotels
1.3 km away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
630 reviews
1.2 km away
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
#4 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
263 reviews
0.7 km away
One Warwick Park Hotel
One Warwick Park Hotel
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Royal Wells Hotel
The Royal Wells Hotel
#6 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
210 reviews
0.9 km away
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
#7 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
257 reviews
3.6 km away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel du Vin Tunbridge Wells is set in one of the town's architectural landmarks, a Grade II-listed sandstone mansion built as a private residence in 1762. We have retained its authentic detail carefully, adding our unique touch to the 34 bedrooms with antiques and memorabilia. Guests can enjoy a game of boules, dining on the garden terrace with its wonderful views across Calverley Park, or a wander through the hotel's very own vineyard. BEDROOMS: Housed within this impressive building are 34 timelessly styled bedrooms and stunning suites, all featuring luxurious handsprung mattresses, fine Egyptian linen, deep baths and powerful drench showers, plasma TVs, DVDs and air conditioning. BISTRO: Open all week, and under the tutelage of head chef Daniel McGarey, Bistro du Vin is at the heart of our hotel, a classic, French styled, elegant and informal setting for lunch, dinner, to meet, celebrate or simply pass the time. Dine on the finest produce the Kent has to offer from local heroes such as herbs and seasonal vegetables from local nursery chef's herbs, meat from Woodlands Farm and fish from Chapman's of Sevenoaks. These are only a handful of the suppliers included within our homegrown & local philosophy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Address: Crescent Road, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN1 2LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells
Price Range: €126 - €272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotwire, HRS, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin & Bistro Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel du Vin & Bistro staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Fountain Valley, California
4 months ago
Denver
10 months ago
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel du Vin & Bistro staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for a room overlooking gardens”
TheAlbanyPub, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't book a superior suite near road.”
VickyMCB, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask to overlook the Park”
BF886, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Make sure everything in the room works before unpacking.”
meltone, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“we stayed in superior room overlooking the front of the hotel”
geoffreyk553, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5