We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveller (44)
Room & Suite (17)
Dining (2)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
If you enjoy staying in stylish accommodation, with all those extra little personal touches that make you feel special as a guest, then welcome to The White House. Located in the city centre in an elegant Grade II listed Regency Town House, accommodation is especially suited to guests seeking a smaller intimate property (regrettably we do not cater for children or infants) Rooms are furnished to ensure maximum guest comfort - large cosy beds to fall into after a hard days sightseeing, with contemporary white linens and quality furnishings to ensure a real 'home from home'. A few minutes walk (literally!) will take you right into the main High Street, so we are perfectly situated to browse all the shops, restaurants and of course a 'must see' visit to the Cathedral or to take in a show at the stunning Marlowe Theatre. We do not have on site parking but offer a concessionary rate of £6.00 for 24 hours in the public car park opposite.
Read more
Property amenities
Room service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Quaint
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
136Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
107Attractionswithin 0.5 km
412Reviews
53Photos
3Q+A
59Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 339
  • 58
  • 4
  • 7
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We spent a night in Canterbury at the The White House in February 2018. It was a spur of the moment trip and I booked the accommodation on line. Adrian was a fabulous host - calling me to ensure I had directions from the train station. On arrival he was friendly and welcoming.
Read more
Fantastic lovely welcome, then seen to our lovely room. Very comfy bed. Brilliant breakfast, in great surroundings. This place has a great personal touch. Thank you. What more can I say !!! Apart fromI highly recommend this place 😊
Read more
My husband and I stayed here for a weekend and it was excellent from start to finish. Adrian is a great host who is very friendly and helpful. The building is beautifully kept and the breakfasts are also excellent. The b & b is literally a stones through from the main high
Read more
Decided to do some Xmas shopping in this beautiful city and wanted to treat ourselves to a night away too & managed to book this fantastic B&B. Superb location for shops, restaurants, theatre & nightlife but tucked away down a side street so avoided any hustle & bustle. Great
Read more
Me and my partner decided to book an impromptu visit to Canterbury at the weekend, luckily when searching for accommodation The White House was available. We booked for two nights arriving on the Friday night, when the confirmation arrived it stated that we could only check in
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
The two single beds in my room - amazing pillows!!
Our room
Room 7
Our Room
ensuite
PreviousNext
1234
Sorry you couldn't find our contact details Laura - our phone number is 01227 761836 if you wish to talk to us directly. The Single Room has a desk and chair in it, so you should be able to work comfortably on your lap top in the room. Hopefully therefore we look forward to your booking and welcoming you to The White House. Any other queries just give us a call or email.
0 votes
Hello Thank you for your booking next weekend. We do not have on site parking but offer guests concessionary parking just 2 minutes walk away Drive up to our front door on arrival and we can take your luggage and direct you straight there (We have also left a message on your mobile to call us so we can explain properly)
0 votes
Show all answers
Is there parking facilities?
Thank you for your enquiry. We do not have parking on site but offer guests concessionary vouchers of £6.00 for a 24 hour stay in the public car park across the road. Let us know if you need any further info. Kind regards
0 votes
"Ask for a room at the back facing the theatre if possible as the front can sometimes be noisy"
"In warm weather, windows need to be open. Considerable foot traffic in AM, so light sleepers may want a room off the street."
"Rooms at the front of the house can be noisy. 6ft double surprising uncomfortable, we are used to a flat, firm mattress!"
"Room 1 has a lovely big shower and has only 1 flight of stairs."
"the front and back rooms were both quiet and comfortable"
PreviousNext
12345612
ALSO KNOWN AS
the white house hotel canterbury
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCanterbury
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing