We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveller (44)
Room & Suite (17)
Dining (2)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
If you enjoy staying in stylish accommodation, with all those extra little personal touches that make you feel special as a guest, then welcome to The White House. Located in the city centre in an elegant Grade II listed Regency Town House, accommodation is especially suited to guests seeking a smaller intimate property (regrettably we do not cater for children or infants) Rooms are furnished to ensure maximum guest comfort - large cosy beds to fall into after a hard days sightseeing, with contemporary white linens and quality furnishings to ensure a real 'home from home'. A few minutes walk (literally!) will take you right into the main High Street, so we are perfectly situated to browse all the shops, restaurants and of course a 'must see' visit to the Cathedral or to take in a show at the stunning Marlowe Theatre. We do not have on site parking but offer a concessionary rate of £6.00 for 24 hours in the public car park opposite.
Read more
Property amenities
Room Service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Classic
HOTEL CLASS
412Reviews
53Photos
3Q+A
59Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 339
  • 58
  • 4
  • 7
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Adrian was very professional, polite, helpful and welcoming. Recommending places to visit. What an absolutley beautiful house. Very clean. Ideal location. The breakfast was also perfect. Thank you we will be back.
Read more
Nice folks, excellent breakfast, good experience, close to cathedral and other sights of interest. It was so enjoyable getting to know the owner, Adrian. He was helpful and very friendly. I would recommend!
Read more
Great location. Very hospitable host in Adrian, who sorted car parking with no difficulty despite it being a Graduation day. Building full of character. Lovely breakfast, would certainly go back and hope to do so! Have stayed before in Canterbury and would recommend 100%.
Read more
Good things first, we have stayed here before, the rooms are good, as is the location, and the breakfast is excellent. If things go well, this place will be perfect for you. But a pervading theme of the poorer reviews of this place is the inability of the owner to deal with when
Read more
Had a really lovely three nights in Canterbury based at this terrific B & B. Adrian the owner was great - he was hospitable, helpful and made our stay even more enjoyable. Breakfasts were great and beautifully presented - Adrian’s patience with my daughter’s inability to make
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
The two single beds in my room - amazing pillows!!
Our room
Room 7
Our Room
ensuite
PreviousNext
1234
Sorry you couldn't find our contact details Laura - our phone number is 01227 761836 if you wish to talk to us directly. The Single Room has a desk and chair in it, so you should be able to work comfortably on your lap top in the room. Hopefully therefore we look forward to your booking and welcoming you to The White House. Any other queries just give us a call or email.
0 votes
Hello Thank you for your booking next weekend. We do not have on site parking but offer guests concessionary parking just 2 minutes walk away Drive up to our front door on arrival and we can take your luggage and direct you straight there (We have also left a message on your mobile to call us so we can explain properly)
0 votes
Show all answers
Thank you for your enquiry. We do not have parking on site but offer guests concessionary vouchers of £6.00 for a 24 hour stay in the public car park across the road. Let us know if you need any further info. Kind regards
0 votes
"Ask for a room at the back facing the theatre if possible as the front can sometimes be noisy"
"In warm weather, windows need to be open. Considerable foot traffic in AM, so light sleepers may want a room off the street."
"Rooms at the front of the house can be noisy. 6ft double surprising uncomfortable, we are used to a flat, firm mattress!"
"Room 1 has a lovely big shower and has only 1 flight of stairs."
"the front and back rooms were both quiet and comfortable"
PreviousNext
12345612
ALSO KNOWN AS
the white house hotel canterbury
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCanterbury
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing