We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central

30/05/2017 31/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Management photos
Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

514 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 512: English reviews
Start your review of Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central
 Click to rate
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The room was large, clean and although 3 adults sharing we had more than enough space. The staff were all really friendly and welcoming. I had my reservations but it really was great, the parking is free (a lot of hotels in England there is no parking) and plenty of spaces. The central location was ideal. It cost less than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colette F
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We popped down for a weekend away. Nice little location in the centre, right near St Augustine's Abbey and just a 10 minute walk from the cathedral. Can't fault the staff at all, very friendly! If you include breakfast with your room get down early for the best selection, simply smashing. Good job guys.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shane-o141291
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel is located in the centre of Canterbury and is a prime location. The hotel only has minimal car parking so would advise getting here via the high speed link from London if possible. The hotel is in a fairly old building and the internal communal areas need updating in my opinion. Overall the room was what I would...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart C
Sweden
Reviewed 1 week ago

A chain hotel well situated for the motorist with parking lot front and back ... Easy access on ground floor rooms, otherwise stairs. Small rooms, nothing out of the ordinary, but good beds. Breakfast at cost, with decent hot plates. Lacking variety in bread, minimal toppings and no sallad. Coffeemachine could use a tweak. Heritage site St Augustine's Abbey is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MoseyOnDown
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central, responded to this review

We're thrilled to receive such great feedback with regards to your recent stay at our Canterbury Chaucer Central Travelodge and we thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are so happy to hear that you were pleased with the location of the Hotel and that your stay with us was a positive one. Please rest assured we will...

Sheerness
Reviewed 1 week ago

Friendly helpful staff. Comfortable accommodations.Wholesome breakfast with plenty of choice. Right on the edge of the City centre,with all that it offers barely a thee minute walk away. We couldn't have made a better choice..

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank paullY3155HU
Reading
Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff was very welcoming and was very professional. They looked after us and was always around to help. Our stay was pleasant and quiet. The location is nice with amenities very close. There is a take away shop that's open until 3am 2 minutes away. I would stay here again for sure.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 529marvinc
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The location is fantastic and you're right in the hub of everything. The rooms are clean and the staff are friendly and welcoming. The breakfast is mediocre and any meals I've had on an evening are very clearly reheated in a microwave and the sausages at times inedible with your sausage and mash. Other than that, I can't complain.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
TravelodgeUK, Poppy from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central, responded to this review

Many thanks for reviewing our Canterbury Chaucer Central Travelodge. We're pleased to learn you enjoyed the location of the hotel and you found your room to be clean however, we're sorry to hear the breakfast quality impacted your stay. Please rest assured your feedback has been passed to our hotel team to improve the service we offer. Thank you again...

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

excellent location in centre of town. Had a room on the road side which was a little noisy however earplugs helped this. will definately use again (a room off street). A no frills hotel in an excellent location

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee M
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Typical Travelodge, clean, tidy, nice little hotel. The best feature is it is just a 5 minute walk from the centre of Canterbury and the cathedral. We were down for a stag weekend and this was the perfect base but apart from sleeping didn't spend much time there so can't vouch for food and service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clive H
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really good location, two minutes' walk to the city centre. A small car park, but there is a public car park (Longport) a short walk away. Hats off to the reception staff who dealt with a technical problem (no hot water) admirably, in the face of frustrated customers. Common areas are a bit tired. Rooms a little scruffy, but spacious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine V

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
30/05/2017 31/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
0.6 km away
Abbots Barton Hotel
Abbots Barton Hotel
#3 of 16 in Canterbury
1,067 reviews
0.4 km away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,798 reviews
5.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
692 reviews
0.3 km away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel built around attractive old House & retaining Regency appearance & atmosphere. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central

Address: 63 Ivy Lane, Canterbury CT1 1TU, England (Formerly Swallow Chaucer Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Price Range: €60 - €111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central Hotel Canterbury
Swallow Chaucer Canterbury
Hotel Swallow Chaucer
Chaucer Hotel Canterbury
Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central Kent
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
3 months ago
Brighton, United Kingdom
over a year ago
New York City, New York
travelling
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The higher the room the better from general road noise.”
steveaC746WC, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try and get a room on a lower floor as there are no lifts and the stairs are steepish !”
Burclee, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Some of the rooms have ensuite sauna's. ask for one of them.”
territt_uk, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“My first floor room was warm and comfortable.”
MikeE442, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor to the rear of the building are quieter (12/13 etc.).”
daveandgwenhfs, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Orbitz.com
* /night
View Deal
Travelocity
Travelodge
Hotwire.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates