We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
26/11/2017 27/11/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Ye Old Fighting Cocks

    16 Abbey Mill Lane, St Albans AL3 4HE, England
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    26/11/2017 27/11/2017
    Are these your travel dates?
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St AlbansSee available hotels in St Albans
    Traveller (12)
    Dining (2)
    Hotel & Grounds (9)
    Premier Inn St Albans City Centre Hotel
    754 reviews
    #1 of 10 hotels in St Albans
    0.9 km
     
    Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
    714 reviews
    #1 of 13 hotels in Watford
    6.9 km
     
    Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
    758 reviews
    #1 of 9 hotels in Hemel Hempstead
    8.1 km
     
    Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
    586 reviews
    #2 of 10 hotels in St Albans
    0.5 km
     
    Overview
    • Excellent31%
    • Very good26%
    • Average15%
    • Poor18%
    • Terrible10%
    Travellers talk about
    “oldest pub” (3 reviews)
    “great beer” (3 reviews)
    Restaurant
    Bar/Lounge
    Pets Allowed
    4.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a Review
    Reviews (83)
    There are newer reviews for Ye Old Fighting Cocks
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    11 - 15 of 82 reviews

    Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

    So we went to the Cocks tonight and this is a great drinking pub. Maybe the pizza in the outside oven is good for a summer evening but just DONT bother to eat in. The new menu needs bedding in and testing and I hope...More

    2  Thank NDB7
    Response from Christo T, Owner at Ye Old Fighting CocksResponded 12 June 2017

    Turns out a few thousand other people don't agree with you. Thankfully. Hope to see you again and hope to help you think better of us next time. Always trying to do or best. Thanks for visiting

    Reviewed 28 May 2017

    Only come here for a drink. Lovely for a few drinks - the location is perfect, right next to the park and the pub garden makes it a perfect place for early evening summer drinks. However, don't order food here. I have tried to eat...More

    5  Thank RachaelGillman
    Reviewed 29 April 2017

    We got there during our short trip to St Albans for one pint of beer and cider, but were very happy that we decided to pop in. Cloudy cider my wife had was close to perfection and my pint of golden ale tasted good in...More

    Thank Jacek U
    Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

    We had been looking forward to visiting this pub, with its great history and beautiful location. Unfortunately we were left a bit disappointed with both the service and the food. We had burgers - which were average. The staff were far from smiling, and they...More

    2  Thank Tor R
    Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

    Went here for a family birthday lunch, Bar staff were very friendly and helpful, but to say the Sunday roast was very disappointing is an understatement, The roast lamb had blood coming out of it and the Yorkshire pudding when it did arrive was burnt....More

    1  Thank elizabeth d
    Response from Christo T, Owner at Ye Old Fighting CocksResponded 12 June 2017

    Sadly we don't agree and very sadly the pricing and most of the detail you have quoted is not accurate.

    Premier Inn St Albans City Centre Hotel
    754 reviews
    #1 of 10 hotels in St Albans
    0.9 km
     
    Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
    714 reviews
    #1 of 13 hotels in Watford
    6.9 km
     
    Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
    758 reviews
    #1 of 9 hotels in Hemel Hempstead
    8.1 km
     
    Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
    586 reviews
    #2 of 10 hotels in St Albans
    0.5 km
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Hotel class
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • England >
    • Hertfordshire >
    • St Albans
    • Also Known As
    • Ye Old Fighting Cocks Hotel St. Albans ,
    • Ye Old Fighting Cocks St Albans, England
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (12)
    Dining (2)
    Hotel & Grounds (9)
    Bathroom (1)
    Nearby
    Premier Inn St Albans City Centre Hotel
    754 reviews
    .89 km away
     
    Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
    586 reviews
    .46 km away
     
    Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
    714 reviews
    6.92 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Lussmanns - St Albans
    1,120 reviews
    .43 km away
    Number 23
    371 reviews
    .44 km away
    Per Tutti
    290 reviews
    .45 km away
    George Street Canteen
    96 reviews
    .40 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    St Albans Cathedral
    1,696 reviews
    .28 km away
    Verulamium Park
    763 reviews
    .36 km away
    St Albans Clock Tower
    282 reviews
    .50 km away
    Verulamium Museum
    351 reviews
    .69 km away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from Ye Old Fighting Cocks staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Submit
    Room Tips
    "Not a hotel"
    Read review
    "the table by the bar by the indoor fireplace - mainly for service and fun."
    Read review
    "If you don't drink I wouldn't try it out and avoid outside if you don't smoke."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing