We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
6/8/2017 7/8/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    St Michael's Manor Hotel

    Fishpool Street | Hertfordshire, St Albans AL3 4RY, England
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    6/8/2017 7/8/2017
    Traveller (160)
    Room & Suite (35)
    Dining (19)
    Sopwell House
    2,181 reviews
    #3 of 10 hotels in St Albans
     
    Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
    555 reviews
    #2 of 10 hotels in St Albans
     
    Ardmore House
    529 reviews
    #7 of 10 hotels in St Albans
     
    The Grove Hotel
    2,742 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Chandler's Cross
     
    Overview
    • Excellent58%
    • Very good25%
    • Average9%
    • Poor6%
    • Terrible2%
    Travellers talk about
    “garden room” (24 reviews)
    “luxury room” (12 reviews)
    “afternoon tea” (46 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Air Conditioning
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Restaurant
    Room Service
    Suites
    Bar/Lounge
    Concierge
    Wheelchair Access
    Conference Facilities
    Dry Cleaning
    4.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Sopwell House
    2,181 reviews
    #3 of 10 hotels in St Albans
     
    Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
    555 reviews
    #2 of 10 hotels in St Albans
     
    Ardmore House
    529 reviews
    #7 of 10 hotels in St Albans
     
    The Grove Hotel
    2,742 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Chandler's Cross
     
    Reviews (567)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    There are newer reviews for St Michael's Manor Hotel
    See the most recent reviews

    181 - 185 of 561 reviews

    Reviewed 28 June 2015 via mobile

    The restaurant was beautiful _very light and elegant,with a lovely view of the colourful gardens and the lake.The staff were superb,so friendly and professional.The menu is not vast,but it was unusual and interesting.We really enjoyed our meal.every dish was so artistically presented.This was our first...More

    Response from Julian_M_Tee, General Manager at St Michael's Manor HotelResponded 30 June 2015

    Dear eddie059 Thank you for your glowing review of your visit to the Lake Restaurant at St Michael’s Manor earlier this month, I am so pleased you had an enjoyable experience. It is difficult to tell from your TripAdvisor username on which day you visited...More

    Reviewed 27 June 2015 via mobile

    We had afternoon tea today, which was a gift to my parents in law for Christmas... Scones were nice, everything else was nice... Had to ask for a linen table cover though - this went over the grubby outside table they were sort of setting...More

    Response from Julian_M_Tee, General Manager at St Michael's Manor HotelResponded 30 June 2015

    Dear Clarkson C Thank you for your review of your afternoon tea at St Michael’s Manor earlier this month. When dining on the terrace overlooking the gardens and lake, we do set tables with white linen and often this is set at the time guests...More

    Reviewed 23 June 2015

    We booked afternoon tea at st Michaels manor,it was delightful,staff very attentive, but disappointed with there choice of crockery tea served in small white cafe style cups and a big yellow teapot,someone surly at such a beautiful establishment should realise a change is needed,that was...More

    Response from Julian_M_Tee, General Manager at St Michael's Manor HotelResponded 24 June 2015

    Dear BelindaandTrevor Thank you for your review of your afternoon tea experience at St Michael’s Manor Hotel. I will share your comments with my Team and I am delighted that you were well looked after on this very special occasion. Ironically I am very pleased...More

    Reviewed 20 June 2015

    Booked for tea for a special birthday . I and a friend had done this several times before . The setting is magnicent - building and gardens a delight. Everything went to plan - however - please management get rid of those brightly coloured tea...More

    Response from Julian_M_Tee, General Manager at St Michael's Manor HotelResponded 21 June 2015

    Dear Meatherts12014 Thank you for your review of St Michael’s Manor Hotel following your most recent visit and thank you for your continued custom. Afternoon tea is as popular as ever and I acknowledge the comments you have made. We have in the last couple...More

    Reviewed 17 June 2015

    First visit, just for a lunch meeting. Top quality in all respects - service, ambience, menu, food, value. Likely to make a return visit for a leisure stay and to sample the dinner menu. A gem of place - almost a mini country estate in...More

    Response from Julian_M_Tee, General Manager at St Michael's Manor HotelResponded 20 June 2015

    Dear edgarjessop Thank you for your review of St Michael’s Manor following your lunch meeting; I am delighted that you had an enjoyable experience with us and I do hope you will find reason to return in the near future, to stay and enjoy dinner....More

    Sopwell House
    2,181 reviews
    #3 of 10 hotels in St Albans
     
    Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
    555 reviews
    #2 of 10 hotels in St Albans
     
    Ardmore House
    529 reviews
    #7 of 10 hotels in St Albans
     
    The Grove Hotel
    2,742 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Chandler's Cross
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Restaurant
    • Room Service
    • Free Parking
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Breakfast included
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Room Service
    • Free Parking
    • Meeting Rooms
    • Breakfast included
    • Dry Cleaning
    • Laundry Service
    • Banquet Room
    • Concierge
    • Conference Facilities
    • Room amenities
    • Air Conditioning
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$188 - US$312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Suites ,
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Family Rooms ,
    • Accessible rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 30
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your St Michael's Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • England >
    • Hertfordshire >
    • St Albans
    • Also Known As
    • Hotel St Michaels Manor ,
    • St Michaels Manor Saint Albans ,
    • St Michael's Manor Hotel St Albans, England
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (160)
    Room & Suite (35)
    Dining (19)
    Pool & Beach (1)
    Hotel & Grounds (107)
    Bathroom (6)
    Business Centre & Event Rooms (3)
    Nearby
    Ardmore House
    529 reviews
    1.70 km away
     
    Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
    776 reviews
    3.79 km away
     
    Premier Inn St Albans City Centre Hotel
    687 reviews
    .87 km away
     
    Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
    621 reviews
    5.41 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    The Pudding Stop
    386 reviews
    .61 km away
    4 Nations Restaurant
    291 reviews
    .57 km away
    George Street Canteen
    85 reviews
    .57 km away
    Number 23
    347 reviews
    .57 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    St Albans Cathedral
    1,606 reviews
    .52 km away
    Verulamium Park
    714 reviews
    .27 km away
    St Albans Clock Tower
    263 reviews
    .68 km away
    Verulamium Museum
    328 reviews
    .37 km away
    Questions & Answers
    elmcc1978
    3 October 2016
    Answer Show all 3 answers
    Response from mrsmarr904 | Reviewed this property
    google stmichaelsmanor.
    1
    Vote
    Suggybear01
    5 May 2015
    Answer
    Response from Julian_M_Tee | Property representative
    Dear Suggybear Thank you for your question, which is one we do receive quite frequently. Our beds are from Hypnos and we are just about to change our pillows and duvets to new ones over the coming week from the Fine Bedding... More
    0
    Votes
    Joan E
    4 February 2015
    Answer
    Response from Julian_M_Tee | Property representative
    Dear Joan E Thank you for your question. Portion sizes have increased for some of our dishes where we felt customer feedback was justified and where the quality of the product would not be in question. Portion sizes are... More
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "Call staff directly for help finding a good room. Each room in the main house is unique. All the rooms are..."
    Read review
    "Didn't stay"
    Read review
    "ask for rooms looking out on the pond."
    Read review
    "There is no lift, but the views from the first floor rooms with balcony must be excellent"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing