We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

592 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 591: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel du Vin & Bistro
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Like the casual/rustic setting. In the spring / summer, the courtyard is good for drinks / coffee. Decent variety of rooms. Good bar scene and a fun (but unexceptional) bistro. Very friendly service....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank monaco_trotter
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Last month my partner and I visited the lovely Hotel Du Vin in Winchester. I had been to the restaurant and bistro countless times and it was the first place to pop into my head when thinking about a special place to take my partner. Firstly the staff, such a credit to the place. A lovely young man served us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daisy B
GM-Roula, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Daisy, Thank you very much for your lovely feedback, which i will be sharing with the team we appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience and we hope to see you again soon. Regards Roula

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I live in Winchester and like to try new places for dinner, so booked into the bistro for my husband and I, and a couple friends. Arrived early to have a bottle of Ruinart champagne (one of my favourites) and head to dinner. The champagne was lovely, but the dinner was well below average. We ordered starters - the figs...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MilamberNZ
GM-Roula, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, i really would like you to get in touch directly so please contact me on roula.samaha@hotelduvin.com so I can address your concerns. thank you

New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Food was very good with some interesting options but the whole service operation needs to be much better at this price level. Staff were pleasant but disorganised - 15 minutes for our drinks to be served in the bar despite the fact the place was barely half full. Restaurant service was prompt enough but why serve credit card sized slices...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dixie_Cup_Refil
GM-Roula, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, i am sorry service in the Bar was slow for you , we always welcome feedback that allows us to improve and we will surely take your comment on board. Our style of service and our standards dictate that we serve you the bread from a tray to your side plate and we should top...

east midlands
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed and had dinner here on two previous occasions and had good experiences, particularly in the summer as the walled courtyard garden is delightful to have afternoon refreshments or pre-dinner drinks. We booked dinner, bed and breakfast. We stayed in one of the garden rooms which was very clean with a comfortable bed but the bathroom was looking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank seacucumber
GM-Roula, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry you had a poor experience, we are currently looking at a program to refurbish our rooms and the bathrooms and thank you for your comments on that. the delay in cocktails although not acceptable is a result of all those drinks being made in the bar and when the bar is busy...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent service and delicious food. We enjoyed a leisurely Sunday lunch and the market table and roast beef are to due for. Would highly recommend and have already booked a return visit for Mother's Day lunch!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sophia P
GM-Roula, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

thank you for your lovely comments, and we look forward to see you on Mothers Day.

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Had been looking forward to a lovely afternoon tea all week, but sadly it was a huge disappointment. The Earl Grey tea was good but took half an hour to come, which was apparently my fault as I hadn't said I wanted it with the savouries... and even after asking for it again it was another 10 mins waiting...scones ok...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caro908
GM-Roula, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry you have had a below par experience on this occasion, the scones are offered with strawberry jam, however if you have other preferences we could provide you with marmalade or fruit of the forest jam which available upon request. the Gin & Tonic sorbet is one of our most popular item and...

Hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2017

We enjoyed the Sunday brunch for a 50th birthday. 20 people in the function room. Fabulous food, great value and very personal service. An amazing day...would recommend this as a way to celebrate those special events.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NC05BUB
GM-Roula, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback, and we hope to see you again soon. I shall share your comments with the team.

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2017

My husband booked a table for valentines evening so was looking forward to a lovely meal we live locally but have never eaten here before. The reastuarant itself was not unpleasant but certainly nothing special very plainly set table. We were sat at the back of the restaurant where all the windows faced out onto a court yard that had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
GM-Roula, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Wendy, Thank you for your feedback, and I am sorry you felt there was no value in the food you ordered on the evening, we will review your comments with the chef and the team to ensure this is looked into, I am disappointed that the creme brulee was not to your expectation, we sell over 250 creme brulees...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2017

We have never eaten here before but have walked past many times and discussed it. So, the day before, 13 February, my wife booked a table, very surprised they had one free, and yesterday evening we shared a Chateaubriand which was excellent. Maybe a little rare for my wife's liking but I thought it was perfect. I had a peppercorn...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donald2002
GM-Roula, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Donald, thank you very much for your lovely feedback, we hope to see you again soon. I shall share your comments with the team. Regards Roula

84 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (75)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.3 km away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
4.3 km away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,009 reviews
0.9 km away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#2 of 13 in Winchester
732 reviews
0.4 km away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
3.7 km away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#4 of 13 in Winchester
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Address: 14 Southgate Street, Winchester SO23 9EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Price Range: €146 - €281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Agoda, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin Winchester
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#7 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel du Vin & Bistro staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
New Haven, Connecticut
9 days ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel du Vin & Bistro staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I liked the rooms overlooking the courtyard....”
 of 5 bubbles monaco_trotter, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you don't mind stairs, go for a high room.”
  • Spacious bathroom
  • Nice room
 of 5 bubbles Broadhurst, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I have a hunch the rooms on the 1st floor (floor above reception) are best because ceilings are higher, windows larger.”
 of 5 bubbles rscottgill, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Road facing probably quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles fangfarrier, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“try not to get a room on the street side in the summer”
 of 5 bubbles Bond32, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5