We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Argyle Lodge

Expedia.comUS$78*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Argyle Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Argyle Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 69: English reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2016

I booked late in the day and it was fairly late when I arrived. I was handed the keys and left to go to the room on my own. On seeing the room I was unpleasantly surprised for the price and if I could have looked for somewhere else I would have. I'm confused by the positive feedback for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mal s
sotongirl2015, Owner at Argyle Lodge, responded to this review

This review has been submitted by the partner of the lady who wrote the review titled "wish we,d camped" and seems to be an undeserved personaI attack. I can only repeat my response. I would like to add that it is inappropriate to insult other guests who were staying here at the time.

Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 June 2016

I stayed here with a friend for one night to go to Common People. The landlady was very welcoming on arrival and very attentive and friendly the next morning at breakfast. The room was clean and a good size with en-suite facilities and plenty of tea, coffee and biscuits. There were plenty of choices for breakfast. I considered this room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank poatley
sotongirl2015, Owner at Argyle Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review us. I,m really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope your shopping trip was a success and we look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 30 May 2016

My friend and I went to Southampton Common People and stayed at Argyle Lodge for two nights. Walking distance from the railway station. Breakfast was fine, normal fry up with a choice of scrambled, fried or poached eggs. Yoghurt, cereals and fruit juices available. Bedroom was clean and tidy, with a comfortable bed. We used the shared bathroom which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
judyhiggs, Owner at Argyle Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay wih us. It was such a lovely weekend for the concert on the common and we hope to see you again next year

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

It's not the worst place we've stayed in but for £110 a night for the two of us it fell very short of expected quality and value for money. The room was basic, faded and in need of some updating. Cleanliness could also have been improved. The underside of the bed hadn't been vacuumed since the half pence piece went...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nix w
judyhiggs, Owner at Argyle Lodge, responded to this review

A very disappointing review. The cost of £110 was because a triple room had been booked on line so the guest had paid for 3 people to stay. If the booking had been made directly we would only have charged the rate for 2 people. The gentleman thanked me for "a lovely breakfast". We were surprised when servicing the room...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Easy to find lovely people very nice room clean and well stocked with tea coffee hot chocolate and biscuits,clean bathroom nice shower.excellent breakfast with almost too much choice would definatly stay again on our next trip down south

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mick G
Brynmawr
Reviewed 3 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed one night waiting for for teip to Isle of Wight. 5 mins from ferry terminal. Easy to find. Friendly family run business. Room was standard double. Nice and clean. Tea and coffee facilities in room. Nice comfy bed. Toilets nice and clea.nn but ahower is very basic. No water pressure and really old fitting. Not in keeping with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StanBrynmawr
Reviewed 30 November 2015

I came all the way from Italy, had some problems with the cards and couldn't pay, but they waited for me to get it all sorted out and come back. I've been here for 2 nights, slept very well, had a great shower and great breakfast (they have things for every stomach). The place is 20min away on foot from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannelore Elena L
Lichfield
Reviewed 15 November 2015

Convenient location with plenty of on-road parking. The owners are friendly and the place is very clean and tidy. The atmosphere is very much of the traditional seaside B&B (in the best way) and it's great value. My room was at the side so was really quiet. Breakfast has a good selection of cereals, juices and fruit but more importantly,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KeithAtherton
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 November 2015

We had one night at the Argle and that was enough, when we arrived the owner just gave us our key told us what time breakfast was and said , your room is up the stairs and to the right we were never shown to our room, the room was small which didn't bother us to much but there were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glendaroy24
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2015 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here last night as we were seeing Frank Turner in the Guildhall and didn't want to drive back to Bournemouth after the show. This place is ideal if your looking for somewhere to stay near the Guildhall, a £5 taxi to the front door or a 10 minute walk. Really welcoming owner, quiet road with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank craigninetwofour

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.2 km away
Landguard House
Landguard House
#11 of 43 in Southampton
53 reviews
0.3 km away
Fenland Guest House
Fenland Guest House
#20 of 43 in Southampton
79 reviews
0.1 km away
Hunters Lodge
Hunters Lodge
#6 of 43 in Southampton
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Claremont Guest House
Claremont Guest House
#16 of 43 in Southampton
57 reviews
0.5 km away
Mayview Guest House
Mayview Guest House
#24 of 43 in Southampton
41 reviews
0.6 km away
City Park Guest House
City Park Guest House
#14 of 43 in Southampton
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Argyle Lodge

Address: 13 Landguard Road | Shirley, Southampton SO15 5DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Price Range: €66 - €87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyle Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Argyle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Argyle Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Argyle Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“2 would be a good choice, slightly better than 3”
V177ESmatthewb, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask if there are any 'en-suite' rooms”
paddleboarder, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Maybe the upper floors are quieter.”
DerbyWanderer, 18 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Any as quiet area”
haylesbeth, 16 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Argyle lodge is the only guest house that is probably one of or is the best in southampton been comming here 15 years so I can't be wrong.”
862jagg, 15 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$78* /night
View Deal
CancelonUS$93
TravelocityUS$78
PricelineUS$84
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates