We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27, JCT.7, an IHG Hotel

Save
Share
Botley Road - West End West End, Southampton SO30 3XA England
3 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$126
View deal
Booking.comUS$126
Hotels.comUS$126
TravelocityUS$126
TripadvisorUS$126
Trip.comUS$126
getaroom.comUS$132
View all 16 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (137)
360
Panoramas (7)
Room & Suite (155)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27, JCT.7, an IHG Hotel
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#9 of 29 hotels in Southampton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Hungarian, Italian and 2 more

Location

Full view
37Car recommended
Grade: 37 out of 100
13Restaurantswithin 1 km
2Attractionswithin 1 km
1355Reviews36Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 396
  • 497
  • 290
  • 85
  • 87
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
ibaol wrote a review 2 Aug
Los Angeles, California525 contributions253 helpful votes
Check in was a bit slow but they said the computers were running very slow the day we checked in. It was fine for only one night pre cruise. The breakfast was fine was the dinner the night we checked in. The room was clean and the staff was warm and welcoming. Also, very close to the cruise port. Taxi from hotel to the cruise terminal was 5GBP.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
milesaway wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions
Great place to find, ideally located. Arrived and checked in, given a room 1001, went to the room to find it was occupied with another guest, who was laid on the bed, chatting to someone via video, with his hands down his pants and looking surprised. Went back to reception, to sort the problem with a very puzzled look on the receptionist face, was given another room (311), which looked rather basic and was set up for 1 person, had to get extra towels. Had a lovely shower, but room mate had to wait about 7 mins for the shower basin to empty, something wrong with the plumbing in that room. Was offered a free comp drink at the bar, to be told it was for 1person/drink and not 2 for the room (2guests) this was rectifyed after a few words with the barman. Would I go back? Nope. guess its the Hilton next time.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Great and ample parking, but the bays are not really suitable for the wider vehicle. My car was a...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dominic Ashley, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27, JCT.7, an IHG Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Daydream08484082232, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and your stay. We appreciate the feedback that you have commented on in your review. I believe that we have already discussed your comments in person at the hotel and via email. Kind Regards Dominic Ashley Food and Beverage Manager
Read more
Sfsweets wrote a review Jul 2022
Bridgwater, United Kingdom68 contributions37 helpful votes
Fabulous hotel. Friendly staff. Easy check in. Lovely rooms with aircon which was a massive bonus. Rooms clean and complete with all the amenities you need. We ate in the restaurant for an evening meal. Pricey for the meals they serve but still nice food. Great breakfast included in the price, all replenished fast and hot and fresh. Reasonable taxi costs to/from city centre. Would definitely stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dominic Ashley, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27, JCT.7, an IHG Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Sfsweets, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and your stay. We are pleased to read the kind comments and the 5-star review you left about the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future when visiting Southampton. Kind Regards Dominic Ashley Food & Beverage Manager
Read more
Richard J wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Staff are very friendly and helpful , though clearly overworked. Place was clean Food - frozen meals bunged in the oven , very basic and overpriced. Room - family room is way to small for a family. Pillows are very uncomfortable and flat, had to go get 4 more, 4-5 security guards ambling around And kids zooming around the car park on bikes and e scooters and no one seems to care, Makes the place feel like a council estate.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Dominic Ashley, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27, JCT.7, an IHG Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear I8655BTrichardj, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and your stay. We are sorry to read some comments about your stay with us, as a hotel we thrive on giving the best service at the hotel we have taken on your comments to help and improve the standards in the hotel and staff. With in regarding the family rooms at Express hotels all our rooms our the same layout through out the hotel, I believe that our sister hotel which is full service hotel that their rooms are bigger. With the security been based at the hotel we have the Ageas Bowl across the road from us and they have a lot of events going on through out the year. Kind Regards Dominic Ashley
Read more
Martin d wrote a review Jul 2022
6 contributions5 helpful votes
Room was good with wet room, comfortable bed and very clean room. However the evening meal in the restaurant was not good. My wife had chicken Kiev, dry as the Sahara with very little garlic butter in it, and by that I mean only a smear. My meal, fish and chips wasn't much better. I would recommend going elsewhere for evening meal, or get a delivery from just eat. Breakfast was OK but it is hard to cock up breakfast after all. Good price for room but reflected in the quality of the food, breakfast was included in the oruce
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dominic Ashley, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27, JCT.7, an IHG Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Martin D, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and your stay. We are sorry to read about the evening meal that you had with us, we thrive to give the best service and food here at the hotel and we are sorry that we fell short with yours that evening. We are pleased to read about the room was comfortable and clean. We look forward to seeing you in the near future when visiting Southampton again. Kind Regards Dominic Ashley Food & Beverage Manager
Read more
porthleven2015 wrote a review Jul 2022
Porthleven, United Kingdom79 contributions26 helpful votes
This was our first visit to an Express Holiday Inn but it was, as expected, clean, well managed with a very friendly helpful staff. We did book a taxi to travel to a family birthday party. Being of the old school we waited in reception expecting the driver to come in and call us. We discovered the system since last using a taxi service had changed somewhat. Don't switch off your phone as they text you prior to arriving. Lesson learnt. Definitely stay with Holiday Inn again
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Any room facing West End Village Road can expect traffic noise into the early hours. We like to...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dominic Ashley, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27, JCT.7, an IHG Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Porthleven2015, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and your stay with us. We are glad to read that your first time at the hotel was expected as you thought. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future when visiting Southampton again. Kind Regards Dominic Ashley Food & Beverage Manager
Read more
rice80 wrote a review Jun 2022
Cribbs Causeway, United Kingdom305 contributions122 helpful votes
Stayed here for a night down in the Southampton area with a young family of four. The hotel was clean, tidy with parking outside. The breakfast was nice with a good range and included in our deal. We were missing a towel and wanted a couple of extra pillows. Reception sorted both requests very promptly even brining the pillows to the room. The bar staff were very nice on the evening as well, welcoming and quick. Have stayed before and would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dominic Ashley, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27, JCT.7, an IHG Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Rice80, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and your stay. We are glad to hear that the reception staff managed to sort some extra towels and pillows out for you and that you would stay here again. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future when visiting Southampton again. Kind Regards Dominic Ashley Food & Beverage Manager
Read more
Ringo S wrote a review Jun 2022
4 contributions
Nice venue, the host was a nutter but very welcoming. Can’t give it 5 stars as he gets easily distracted and ran out of burgers. Although he has promised more are on the way. Harvey the dog made up for it by being a star! Good vegetarian options, handcrafted by the host, which went down well with all
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
P S wrote a review Jun 2022
4 contributions2 helpful votes
Very rude waiters at the breakfast buffet. Very busy time when there are two waiters running around ! Need more employees. If hospitality is not your forte maybe you are in the wrong business. Also the public toilets by the breakfast bar was disgusting at 9am in the morning !
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dominic Ashley, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27, JCT.7, an IHG Hotel
Responded 7 Jun 2022
Dear P S, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am disappointed to hear that your breakfast experience was not the best, and that staff was rude to you. Please rest assured that we take all comments on board, and will use your comments to coach our staff and improve our services. If you wish to discuss your experience further, please do not hesitate to reach out to us directly. Thank you again for your feedback, Kind regards, Dorina, Front Office Manager
Read more
chrispalmer wrote a review May 2022
little staughton u.k.152 contributions83 helpful votes
This hotel advertised as being sound proofed, should say partially soundproofed. We were on the second floor, room 225, and there were children running up and down the corridor shouting also being very noisy in the seating area below the window. Even though the hotel was nowhere near full there was a lot of door banging and talking until around midnight. It appeared that some of the residents were semi permanent! We would have expected a room booked for double occupancy would have been supplied with two hand towels! On a plus side the room was clean, large but could have done with a comfortable chair, the breakfast excellent and the staff friendly. I guess we were just unlucky with staying at a time some of the other residents were not considerate of others.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Dominic Ashley, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27, JCT.7, an IHG Hotel
Responded 4 Jun 2022
Dear Chris, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am disappointed to see that you were near noisy guests. In the future please notify our front desk staff if you notice any antisocial behaviour, as we do not tolerate this kind of demeanour and we aim to deal with any issues straight away. I am pleased to note your comments regarding the cleanliness of the room, unfortunately, the layout of the room does not include a chair in that room type, however, we are happy to pop one in there for you on request. Thank you again for sharing your comments with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind regards, Dorina, Front Office Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$87 - US$160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express southampton m27 jct 7 hotel southampton, holiday inn southampton, southampton holiday inn
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHampshireSouthampton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
176
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27, JCT.7, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27, JCT.7, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Ageas Bowl (0.08 km) and The Southampton Arms (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27, JCT.7, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27, JCT.7, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27, JCT.7, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27, JCT.7, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27, JCT.7, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include West End Brewery, Beefy's by Lord Ian Botham, and Southampton Arms.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27, JCT.7, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27, JCT.7, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27, JCT.7, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27, JCT.7, an IHG Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Italian, Polish, Romanian, and Hungarian.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27, JCT.7, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tudor House and Garden (6.5 km), Bishop's Waltham Palace (7.9 km), and Bargate (6.2 km).