We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,164 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,125: English reviews
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 December 2014

we booked here for locational convenience, and didn't now much about Holiday Inn services, but we were very happy indeed with what we got. Our aim was to have a restaurant Christams lunch with my Dad, who lives at Gunwharf Quays. As well as being really conveninetly located, the staff were brilliant, welcoming and helpful, and just the right amount...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MartinKJones
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very please to read that you have found our location to be very convenient. I will share your kind staff comments with our team here. Thank you for your feedback and we hope that you will stay with us again when visiting your Dad.

Penarth
Reviewed 30 December 2014

Booked a double and told that they only had twin room left - first come gets a choice ! Shower cold. Breakfast was a disaster - no seats so ended up taking it back to the room, no sausage or bacon - run out, toaster not working. Staff running around swearing. O - and lifts didn't work - they had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beth88887
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent review. I am really sorry to hear that we have failed to deliver on so many occasions and as a consequence your stay was far from being adequate. We do our best to get our lifts repaired as soon as possible, in the meantime we provide a luggage assistance service. Our reception is...

Adeje, Spain
Reviewed 29 December 2014

Very disappointed I thought it was going to be a nice modern hotel. Duct tape on carpets where they are ripped, elevators out of order,poor breakfast and worst of all a cold shower in the morning. Made a complaint the next morning and all I got was sorry will get maintenance have a look, have a Nice day! Couldn't care...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jph101
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent comments. I am very sorry to learn that you have experienced so many challenges during your recent stay with us. We are due to commence our carpet replacement program in the coming year, please accept my apologies for not being able to offer you a better experience for the time being. With regards...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 December 2014

Cannot fault this hotel for the location if you are visiting Portsmouth historic docks, spinnaker tower and retail outlets. It is close to all these and the pubs and bars which are good too. We arrived on a busy Saturday and had to queue for the car park but the hotel scan your car park ticket for free parking for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrsgriffo66
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. Thank you for your kind comments on our location and our car park arrangements. I am extremely sorry to read that our current lift scenario has badly affected your stay. There is a major stuctural issue in both of our lift shafts, the above involves a production of...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 27 December 2014 via mobile

It seems like a nice place. The location really is great. But that is about it. For starters, the elevator is broken for several months now which is a problem for a first floor reception. So don't go to floors two and up. Breakfast is poor and unimaginative. The beds are very small. Wifi is free of charge but it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MGSM99
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent comments. As you have kindly mentioned, our location is very convenient to most of our travellers. Our hotel is a part of the Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth's shopping and restaurant complex. I am sorry to hear that our lift status has affected your stay. There is a major constructional failure and we do our...

Berkshire
Reviewed 27 December 2014 via mobile

My parents stayed here whilst visiting family on Boxing Day. Room was lovely 106. Clean and comfortable. Check in great. Friendly staff. Lift not working but staff happy to help. Breakfast was a let down and poor. Beans, sausage and egg. No bacon. They do not serve bacon we were told. Just poor quality items of food and the fruit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BerkshireDolly
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent review. I am glad that you were satisfied with our check in and bedroom experience. As per our brand gudelines we do provide continental breakfast only with a few hot favorites to include sausages, scrambled egg and beans, I do apologize that our offering was not to your liking. I will follow up...

Leicester UK
Reviewed 21 December 2014 via mobile

We stayed here a while ago so I cant remember how much i paid but I seem to remember around £350 for 2 night in a family room.That was very expensive for the quality of the hotel-you are just paying for the location which is fantastic.The room was clean and quiet considering how noisey Gunwalf Quays can be.The staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GillLeicesterUK
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. Thank you for your consideration regarding our lifts and I am pleased to know that our staff were there to help. Thank you for your comments on your bedroom experience, I will share the above with our housekeeping team. We hope that you will choose our location again.

Reviewed 19 December 2014

If you want to shop at the Outlet Mall in Portsmouth, have a meal and a few drinks in the evening, then this is a great location. When you arrive, give the reception staff your parking meter ticket and they will ensure you have 24 hours free parking. On the downside, the lifts were out of order and the layout...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham R
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. I pleased to read that our location was just right for your stay. Our hotel is a part of Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth's restaurant and retail complex. I do apologize about our lifts. We are currently working hard to get it all up and running. Thank you for your fair comments and I will...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 10 December 2014

Currently staying at the hotel but i would not do it again. The staff here is great but the dirty carpets, unusable internet and really poor room lighting did not make this a buisness friendly hotel. I didn't need the lift but it is out of order and not getting fixed any time soon

 Report
Helpful?
Thank T W
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent review. I am really sorry to hear that we have failed to deliver on so many occasions. We are going to start our carpet replacement program as of spring 2015 and we hope to improve our guest experience in that area. We do provide a complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel, it is a...

Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 December 2014

Great location, staff were great, good breakfast and easy access to all local attractions, shops ferries, historic dockyard.Only downside was lift out of order but the staff carried your luggage shopping etc.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank richarde856
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am really pleased to know that you have had a lovely stay with us. I will also share your kind feedback with our team here. I do apologize about the lift challenges and I am happy to read that our staff have been able to help. We...

310 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (123)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (60)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (108)
Viewed
Accessible Double Room (19)
Viewed
Double Room (17)
Viewed
Double Room with Canal and City View (22)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
The Hotel (15)
Viewed
Twin Room (12)
Viewed
Twin Room with Spinnaker View (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (79)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
5.7 km away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,129 reviews
1.0 km away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
6.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,066 reviews
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#22 of 38 in Portsmouth
925 reviews
0.8 km away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth hotel is located within Gunwharf Quays which is a vibrant waterfront development offering a number of attractions, including over 95 designer clothing outlets,over 25 restaurants & bars, a cinema, ten pin bowling, casino and comedy club. The Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth Hotel is ideally located for business or leisure breaks. It comprises 130 en-suite bedrooms and 2 modern meeting rooms, all with comfort cooling, natural daylight and free wifi throughout the hotel. The Great room and lounge area situated on the first floor offers drinks and relaxation in the evening, as well as a free continental breakfast with hot favourites which include scrambled egg, sausages & baked beans in the morning. Undercover secure parking is available in the award winning main Gunwharf Quays car park, all Hotel guests receive discounted rates for car parking in the main Gunwharf Quays car park, first twenty four hours or first exit is free of charge and then second 24 hours or exit and thereafter are charged at £2. Access to trains, buses and ferries are all within walking distance. Southampton International Airport is 22 miles away. Convenient access to all of Portsmouth's many attractions, including the Spinnaker Tower, The Historic Dockyard, Portsmouth Old Town with its cobbled streets and the waterfront, filled with traditional pubs and restaurants are all within walking distance. PLEASE NOTE: THE HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS - PORTSMOUTH GUNWHARF QUAYS HAS DEDICATED DISABLED CAR SPACES OUTSIDE THE HOTEL ENTRANCE, WITH A DROP OFF/PICK UP FACILITY BY THE FRONT DOOR. THERE IS APPROX A 3 MINUTE WALK FROM THE UNDERGROUND CAR PARK TO HOTEL ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays

Address: Gunwharf Quays | Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth PO1 3FD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Price Range: €116 - €190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays Hotel Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay in 343 it's a shocker!”
 of 5 bubbles Spiderdude, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Call the hotel and make sure you understand the car park arrangements”
 of 5 bubbles TameemB, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room overlooking the Gunwharf Quay rather than the rear of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles B4416HCmarkc, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Depends if the lift is working!”
 of 5 bubbles SarahW42, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Best views from upper floors”
 of 5 bubbles Mikko66, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5