We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

907 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Portsmouth
See the most recent reviews
Showing 876: English reviews
coventry
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here Fri/Sat in early December on bed and breakfast basis. I enjoyed my stay and generally had a positive experience. For me, the hotel was ideally situated about 2 minute walk from Clarence Pier and National Express coach terminus,( I had doubts about the car paling at the hotel, but really it would not have been a problem)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marinerCoventry
HR Manager H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear marinerCoventry, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. Thank you for all your positive comments regarding location and helpful staff. Customer service is extremely important to us so to hear that you had an efficient check in and out experience is wonderful. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our newly...

notnic
Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

We use holiday inn a lot, my husband for business and as a couple. I went with him on this business trip. We are VIP guests tho u wouldn't hv thought so. Check in was slow. Room very small, modern but tiny bathroom. Dusty bedroom. Dinner was rubbishy, chicken Caesar salad dried up n horrid. Breakfast poor. We had our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank notnic
HR Manager H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear notnic, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your recent stay. I will pass on all of your feedback regarding the food quality to the Head Chef so thank you for bringing it to our attention. Please accept my apologies for Housekeeping knocking...

Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

I've had the misfortune of having to stay here a number of times on business recently and the overall level of service is appalling- especially if you are a regular IHG traveller. Firstly the parking - it's none existent in a car park that's been very badly planned with tight spaces and pillars everywhere - however you can "park on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bertiejaffa
Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

Visited the hotel on a busy Christmas party evening. Our party totalled 25 people. We had paid for the all inclusive deal which required us to wear wristbands. We were pleasantly surprised at the wide range of drinks that were included in the deal, although prosecco was not. Once we were seated the starters came out very quickly and efficiently....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rach H
HR Manager H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Rach H, Thank you for taking the time to review your event with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. I am pleased to hear that you had a fun night celebrating your Christmas Party with us. Please accept my apologies for the slow service between courses I will raise your feedback to the Restaurant Manager so thank you for highlighting this. I...

Guildford, Surrey
Reviewed 7 December 2016

We stayed for one night for a gig in Portsmouth and stayed in a standard double room. We went downstairs for a pint at the bar and realised there was a taste card deal on 2-4-1 dinners. To save hunting a place out before the gig, and because this was pretty cheap, we made a reservation. The restaurant is just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Plashfacker
HR Manager H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Plashfacker, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your recent stay. I will pass on all of your feedback regarding the food quality to the Head Chef so thank you for bringing it to our attention. I am pleased to hear that you...

Hertford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 December 2016

Stayed one night for business/pleasure visit to Portsmouth. Location was really good and hotel was ok, but just a couple of points that let down the Holiday Inn standards you might expect. As a loyalty member, asked for complimentary newspaper to be delivered to room. Never came, when asked reception just told that there weren't any available. However, at breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stevenbouette
HR Manager H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear stevenbouette, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. Thank you for all of your feedback, without it we wouldn't be able to continually improve our standards. Please accept my apologies for not receiving your complimentary newspaper I will pass your comments on to the Reception Manager. We have recently had a refurbishment...

Cardiff
Reviewed 2 December 2016

Back in September we booked a room at the hotel for Saturday 3/12/16 on a dinner, bed and breakfast rate of £80 per person. The occasion was a pre Xmas family get together, and there were 14 of us in all, with 7 rooms booked at the same rate. Some members of the group were travelling over 200 miles to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Garandjaninvan
HR Manager H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Garandjaninvan, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. I am so sorry to hear about the problems you have encountered. Your feedback is very important to us and I will be speaking to the General Manager about the problems you mention. If you would like to email with more details to hr@hiportsmouthhotel.co.uk...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 November 2016

Warm greeting on reception and quick check in. Newly refurbished rooms, bar and restaurant. Comfy bed, was provided extra tea milk and towels upon request, really good buffet style breakfast, plenty of choice. Would stay again. Walking distance from gunwharf.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Toni P
HR Manager H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Toni P, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. Thank you for all your positive comments regarding location and breakfast. I am pleased that you received a warm greeting from staff at check as customer service is of utmost importance to us. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you...

Berkshire
Reviewed 23 November 2016

We, and other members of my family, stayed here in May 2014, as part of my daughter's wedding arrangements. Our stay then was fine, as was our stay in October 2015 at the Holiday Inn in Sydney, Australia. So when the need arose, we stayed here again recently. Fortunately the cost was minimal as I had a stack of IHG...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BerkshireTravelHog
HR Manager H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear BerkshireTravelHog, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. Thank you for all of your feedback, without it we wouldn't be able to continually improve our standards. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your positive comments with regards to cleanliness and comfort of our newly...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 November 2016

I was fortunate enough to stay at this lovely hotel, my room was very clean and comfortable, staff very friendly and welcoming. The GM Wayne, always near by. The views are just amazing! 1 lift out of order, but no problem as the view up the stairs are worth the walk. Thank you, for making my stay so comfortable and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria A
HR Manager H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Maria A, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. Thank you for your positive feedback regarding clean and comfortable bedrooms and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the seaview! Customer satisfaction is extremely important to us so hear these lovely comments makes all our hard work worthwhile. Thank you again...

147 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (108)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
0:41
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
6.5 km away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,098 reviews
6.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,383 reviews
1.1 km away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
1.2 km away
Royal Maritime Club
Royal Maritime Club
#25 of 38 in Portsmouth
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located near the seafront in Portsmouth in the heart of Hampshire within easy access of the M27 MotorwayOnly a five minute walk from Old Portsmouth where you can spend a nautical day discovering the famous Historic Dockyard and ships HMS Victory, HMS Warrior and the Mary RoseThe leisure and shopping destination Gunwharf Quays near the Spinnaker Tower is set on the waterfront and minutes from the hotel with designer label stores, cinema, bowling alley, comedy club and numerous bars and restaurants. Port Solent is one of the south coast s most impressive marinas with shops, restaurants, bars and a cinemaThe hotel consists of 165 en-suite fully air conditioned bedrooms, Spirit Health Club, Academy Conference Centre, Restaurant, Bar and Lounge AreaThe excellent accommodation has all the comforts you would expect from a first class hotel including interactive TV's with movies and Play Station Games and high speed internet accessThe facilities include Restaurant, 24 hour Room Service, Lounge and Bar Area and complimentary use for residents of the Spirit Health Club with gym, indoor pool, Jacuzzi and sauna. The hotel has 9 conference and training rooms and can accommodate from 2-150 delegates in the fully air-conditioned Academy Conference Centre with wireless internet access and all day tea and Starbucks coffee. Accessible & Family Rooms available. Kids Stay & Eat Free (terms and conditions apply)The hotel has limited onsite parking but can supply permits for in house guest for the ample parking surrounding hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Address: Pembroke Road, Portsmouth PO1 2TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Price Range: €102 - €177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Portsmouth staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Telford, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Portsmouth staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a sea view”
  • What the...?
 of 5 bubbles Bender_B_Rodriguez, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Sixth floor for best views and executive room perks.”
 of 5 bubbles marinerCoventry, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All very standard, go cheap and eat elsewhere.”
 of 5 bubbles Plashfacker, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Park early to get a space, and avoid trees laden with seagulls.”
 of 5 bubbles BerkshireTravelHog, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room on the upper floors 429/529 amazing views!”
 of 5 bubbles S8063OQmariaa, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay