We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,023: English reviews
Aveiro, Portugal
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We’ve stayed here regularly and like the position, friendly staff and, although budget, it is really good value but the mattress in room 123 is losing its depth, the carpets and general cleanliness weren’t as good for as previous visits and it is just beginning to show signs of a refurb requirement. Will we stay here again? Yes but for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CasaSulo
IbisbudgetPortsmouth, Reception Team Leader at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear CasaSulo, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. I am sorry that you weren't as comfortable as you ought to have been. Please be assured that your comments have been noted and the utmost will be done to ensure that your next stay is an entirely pleasant experience. Kind regards, Agatha Reception...

Basildon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel was very nice,but cold. The staff were excellent well trained tried to help as much as they could when we complained about the cold. The hotel is good value for money and will stay again . Receptionists were extremely helpful

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jprscarola
IbisbudgetPortsmouth, Reception Team Leader at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear jprscarola, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay and for rating us so highly despite the cold. I hope that we were able to find an appropriate and effective solution to your discomfort. I am glad that you found what we offer to be good value for money and hope that you will...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

For a cheap sleep for one night it's OK. The cleanliness of the room is below average. There were hairs all around the room on the floor and the shower needs a deep clean as the water marks can be seen from the previous guest. The decoration has seen better days, especially the flooring and the toilet. The room resembles...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Poppy T
IbisbudgetPortsmouth, Reception Team Leader at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Poppy T, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. I am disappointed to read that yours was not a pleasant experience but would like to assure you that your comments have been noted and will be taken on as part of our commitment to ensuring our guests are comfortable. We hope that...

Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Centrally located this hotel is ideal for a visit to Portsmouth with plenty of food outlets and supermarkets close by. The room and hotel were clean and tidy and free parking is available at the hotel or close by at B&Q. The water for the shower was hot. The continental breakfast was very good value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael E
IbisbudgetPortsmouth, Reception Team Leader at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Michael E, Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your time with us and hope you will stay again soon. We look forward to making you feel welcome on that occasion. Kind regards, Agatha Reception Team Leader

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Disturbed sleep due to fire alarm going off at 1.45am... Staff helpful and efficient - a trainee on reception doing his best! Room was clean, comfortable and basic... great location - parking limited. Hotel is value for money - cheap and cheerful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
IbisbudgetPortsmouth, Reception Team Leader at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Ian W, Thank you for your review and for your patience. I am sorry that your sleep was disturbed during your stay but hope you will opt to stay with us again soon for what, I am certain, will be an entirely flawless experience. Kind regards, Agatha Reception Team Leader

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Location excellent for ferry terminal and located next to late night Tesco's which was a bonus. Rooms are basic but serviceable and very clean. Hotel was quiet given that it located in a city. Would recommend for an overnight stay as near to local amenities. Parking is off-site, in a car park over the road, but his in itself was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alister b
IbisbudgetPortsmouth, Reception Team Leader at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear alister b, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. I am glad to read that yours was a pleasant experience and that your needs were met. I hope that you will stay again should your travels bring you to Portsmouth. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Agatha Reception Team...

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for one night for £45, it is great value for a basic room but what more do you want to rest your head for a couple of hours. Staff were friendly. Great location for all the bars & restaurant in South-sea. We would be coming back here. Only problem was the lift didn't work but they offered us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
IbisbudgetPortsmouth, Reception Team Leader at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Chris T, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. I am pleased to know that you were satisfied with the service received and with the facilities on offer. My apologies that the issue we are having with our lift affected your stay. I hope that on your next visit you are not...

Province of Valencia, Spain
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank robertbI6793TE
IbisbudgetPortsmouth, Reception Team Leader at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Province of Malaga, Spain
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank CollettePizzo
IbisbudgetPortsmouth, Reception Team Leader at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my family had a last minute idea of going to Portsmouth and when we got there we were looking for hotels online and we came across ibis hotel, I rang them up and the girl was super nice, gave us a two bedroom for the price of a three bedroom and booked everything really quickly and really nicely....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raquel S
IbisbudgetPortsmouth, Reception Team Leader at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Raquel S, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I will pass your compliments along to Isabelle. I am glad that your stay was a pleasant one. We hope that you visit again soon and look forward to welcoming you then. Kind regards, Agatha Reception Team Leader

99 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (69)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.8 km away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,384 reviews
4.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
1.7 km away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,100 reviews
5.9 km away
Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel
2.4 km away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#21 of 38 in Portsmouth
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
WAQAS BIN TAHIR, the manager of the Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth hotel, would like to welcome you. Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth is a low-cost hotel situated in Fratton, 5 minutes walking distance of Fratton Train Station, close to Pompey FC, Portsmouth City Centre. Great proximity to the beach, shopping and nightlife of the town. All 120 guest rooms are 100% non-smoking and has en-suite shower, air cooling as well as flat screen TV with Freeview. As much as you can eat continental breakfast buffet is served every morning at £5.50. Free Wi-Fi available for all guests. Free offsite parking at B&Q opposite the hotel (permit is required from reception). Limited onsite parking on first come first serve basis. Ferry Terminals, Gunwharf, Guildhall, Spinnaker Tower, D-Day Museum and Historic Dockyards are 10 minutes away by car or taxi for those who would like to explore beautiful Portsmouth. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth

Address: 4 The Pompey Centre Fratton Way | Fratton Way, Portsmouth PO4 8SL, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Portsmouth)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Price Range: €35 - €71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, ACCOR and Agoda so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Portsmouth
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The ground floor room was very quiet but was cold. An extra duvet was required to keep warm”
 of 5 bubbles 8michaele, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I think they are all the same”
 of 5 bubbles serenac738, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are the same layout but some with family rooms, double and twin”
 of 5 bubbles AnnR310, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for quiet room on high floor, not facing stadium”
 of 5 bubbles J&JBLeics, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Quiet, accessible...”
 of 5 bubbles 661janetem, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay