We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,149 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,036: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
 Click to rate
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Second time here with family and was quite relieved to discover that the good experience from our first stay was not a one off. The staff are still great (big round of applause to Robert who had the unenviable job of explaining that the lift was out of order), welcoming and friendly. Nothing of any consequence whatsoever to moan about....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 60yoog
Leicester, United Kingdom
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

The hotel itself is all you need it to be and what you expect for an ibis budget - small but perfectly formed rooms for the price you pay it's all you need - nice big double bed - desk, TV, surprisingly powerful shower and separate toilet. The real bonus to this place though are the staff! I checked in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kellyfer
About Hotel's Favourite Review
IbisbudgetPortsmouth, Reception Team Leader at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear kellyfer, Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you (and your dog) will stay again soon. We look forward to making you feel welcome on that occasion. Kind regards, Agatha Reception Team Leader

Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank adrianw533
IbisbudgetPortsmouth, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Paignton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had booked to stay at the hotel for two nights. We have used it before and know it's small e.t.c but the price is good and for us it is just a place to sleep nothing more. On arrival the staff were very friendly and checked us in including the car (which is now on an electronic system so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
IbisbudgetPortsmouth, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Steve S, Thank you for staying again with us. I am sorry that you found the bunk bed too hard on this occasion. Bunk bed made only upon request. All ibis budget hotels have new resilient and supportive mattresses as part of new Sweetbed design. I am sorry it did not suit you. I am sorry to know that...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Absolutely disgusted with this hotel and its staff. Firstly the beds were extremely uncomfortable, the room was freezing cold, there was only 2 towels for 3 guests, no wardrobe and just 1 plug socket. But that wasn't the main issue. The main issue was the fact that the hotel has many disabled parking bays but all were in use by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly G
IbisbudgetPortsmouth, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Kelly G, Thank you for staying with us and your reviews at tripadvisor, facebook and our feedback form. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you had due to parking. The hotel provides free parking on first come first serve basis. We have 3 disabled parking spaces and 20 other outside the hotel. The parking is on Private...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked in for a 3 night stay. Official parking is outside a B&Q, a considerable distance from the hotel. There are disabled spaces directly outside the Hotel however, the Hotel Staff allow non blue badge holders to park in these spaces. For the whole 3 days we complained to Staff about monitoring these spaces so that we bonifide disabled can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GreenFamily172
IbisbudgetPortsmouth, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear GreenFamily172, Thank you for staying with us and your reviews at tripadvisor. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you had due to parking. The hotel provides free parking on first come first serve basis. We have 3 disabled parking spaces which are clearly marked and 20 other outside the hotel. The parking is on Private land and...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Believe it good for business trips as it so cheap and basic. For a get away id get the ibis not the budget. But cant deny it clean, and got all your basic needs. Breakfeast is good too. And staff are always pleasent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laceylouuu
IbisbudgetPortsmouth, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Laceylouuu, I am pleased to see your review about the cleaning standard, price and staff. Thank you for taking the time to write about us. I hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, General Manager Waqas Bin Tahir

Calstock
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

our car developed a fault the day before we were due to arrive so had to cancel. Unfortunately the receptionist couldnt transfer our booking to an alternative date, which considereing our predicament ie the car failing which was out of our control, I would have thought that under those circumstances something could have been offered. So DISAPOINTED.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank edwardoldsidings
IbisbudgetPortsmouth, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Edwardoldsidings, I am sorry to hear that you could not stay with us. May I also suggest to book cancel-able/amendable reservation in the future to avoid charges due to unforeseeable events. I am sorry if your terms and conditions of the booking did not allow any changes due to the rate and type of reservation you booked. I hope...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

For £45 you cannot go wrong, and there will be faults or people having a pick but this is literally a budget hotel so you won't get fancy 4/5 star quality. The only fault I have is lack of pillows, but it's a personal preference to have two but I can make one work. It looked after my partner and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellen B
IbisbudgetPortsmouth, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Ellen B, Thank you for staying with us and your detailed feedback. May I also take this opportunity to inform you that additional pillows can be requested from reception at any time. I am delighted to hear the comments about our staff and will share them with the team also. I look forward to welcoming you back shortly. Kind...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here on our way from the ferry and again on the way back. The first night we stayed was on our way back from Spain, the room was exceptionally clean, with a comfortable bed, which is always important. The problems that we encountered on our first stay were for one the car park is nowhere near big enough...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carol l
IbisbudgetPortsmouth, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Carol l, Thank you for your detailed feedback. I am pleased that you have found the rooms to be clean on both stays. I am sorry about the car park as you could not find a space outside the hotel. We have limited spaces outside the hotel and additional free parking across the road in B&Q's car park. I...

99 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (69)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.8 km away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,412 reviews
4.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
1.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
6.0 km away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,117 reviews
2.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
WAQAS BIN TAHIR, the manager of the Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth hotel, would like to welcome you. Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth is a low-cost hotel situated in Fratton, 5 minutes walking distance of Fratton Train Station, close to Pompey FC, Portsmouth City Centre. Great proximity to the beach, shopping and nightlife of the town. All 120 guest rooms are 100% non-smoking and has en-suite shower, air cooling as well as flat screen TV with Freeview. As much as you can eat continental breakfast buffet is served every morning at £5.50. Free Wi-Fi available for all guests. Free offsite parking at B&Q opposite the hotel (permit is required from reception). Limited onsite parking on first come first serve basis. Ferry Terminals, Gunwharf, Guildhall, Spinnaker Tower, D-Day Museum and Historic Dockyards are 10 minutes away by car or taxi for those who would like to explore beautiful Portsmouth. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth

Address: 4 The Pompey Centre Fratton Way | Fratton Way, Portsmouth PO4 8SL, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Portsmouth)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Price Range: €38 - €92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and ACCOR so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Portsmouth
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The ground floor room was very quiet but was cold. An extra duvet was required to keep warm”
 of 5 bubbles 8michaele, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I think they are all the same”
 of 5 bubbles serenac738, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are the same layout but some with family rooms, double and twin”
 of 5 bubbles AnnR310, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for quiet room on high floor, not facing stadium”
 of 5 bubbles J&JBLeics, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Quiet, accessible...”
 of 5 bubbles 661janetem, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5