We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Maritime Club

Traveller (182)
360
Panoramas (65)
Pool & Beach (23)
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Property amenities
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Room Service
Breakfast included
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Conference Facilities
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Centrally Located
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
91Great for walkers
Grade: 91 out of 100
35Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
24Attractionswithin 0.5 km
922Reviews
412Photos
9Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 239
  • 364
  • 206
  • 62
  • 51
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Stayed here probably 50 times now for a midweek business stopover and really enjoy it. The restaurant food is excellent with a cooked and continental breakfast buffet. The service in the restaurant is impeccable and the people are really friendly. I always pay the extra and
Read more
Amazing food cooked by head chef Clive. Food portion were very good and service was amazing good. The lady who also looked after us was amazing at her job she made sure we were always happy and checking if we needed anything. Overall a very good experience.
Read more
I have the pleasure of staying at the hotel many times over the years. From the moment I check in the staff are always very polite, professional and extremely helpful. If I have ever had a question during my stay nothing is ever a problem. The hotel is always extremely clean and
Read more
Response from RMC1856, Front Office Manager at Royal Maritime Club
Responded 1 week ago
Dear David O, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave the review, we very much look forward to welcoming you back with us! Kind Regards Team RMC
Read more
The name of the hotel sounds very impressive but! Upon entering the hotel it really looks nice. My understanding is that it's a venue for weddings, receptions, etc. So the entry looks good. However, our room was on the shabby side. The wallpaper was peeling and the carpet
Read more
Response from RMC1856, Front Office Manager at Royal Maritime Club
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Tisbe52, Thank you for leaving your review, I can assure you we take your comments on board. The lift is a small lift due to the age of the Hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed the breakfast we are very proud of it too! We wished you would have let us know about your issues while you were here so we could have looked at moving you rooms, but i'm glad to hear you would return and we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards Team RMC
Read more
Haven't ever had such a bad experience. Administrator who was working on the night 21st to 22nd December 2018 is the most rude person. Was very aggressive, misinformed about availability, I expressed to her that she is not being polite to guests and then she said that I can stay
Read more
Response from RMC1856, Front Office Manager at Royal Maritime Club
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Edvard V Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us, having looked into your booking and speaking with the receptionist and operations team who were on duty that night. They do remember you coming into the Hotel in the early hours of the morning not having booked with us prior to your arrival. As this time was past our night audit we were unable to make a booking for you, the room you had booked through a 3rd party agency early hours that morning was never charge nor were you by us. I suggest that you contact the agency you had booked with as we had no payment for your room or for the issues my colleague had dealing with you and your associate. Kind Regards
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Business Centre & Event Rooms
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorRoyal Maritime Club
The Superior Double Room at the Royal Maritime Club
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorRoyal Maritime Club
The Single Room at the Royal Maritime Club
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorRoyal Maritime Club
The Executive Suite at the Royal Maritime Club
Huge jacuzzi bath piping hot water
ロイヤル・マリタイム・クラブ
PreviousNext
12345627
Is this building getting improved at all?
Yes as we speak
0 votes
What's the horrible building opposite?
Do you mean part of the old navy docks development
0 votes
Show all answers
Hi . 500 yds max
1 vote
Show all answers
I think they have. I didn't need one
1 vote
Show all answers
is there any disable car parking
Sorry probably too late now but yes there is.
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12
"Pay the extra for the Superior"
"The rooms at the back are quiet mid week away from any traffic noise in winter who cares about he view"
"We stayed in the West wing. Lovely and warm."
"Give it a miss"
"Avoid room 405 at all costs."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$109 - US$143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
royal maritime club hotel portsmouthroyal maritime hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandPortsmouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
100
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing