We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Maritime Club

Save
Share
Traveller (169)
Room & Suite (158)
Pool & Beach (23)
Overview
Queen Street, Portsmouth PO1 3HS England See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
3 Star accommodation
Reviews (898)
Filter reviews
880 results
Traveller rating
228
347
196
60
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
228
347
196
60
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gunwharf quays superior room small pool naval base limited parking leisure facilities gun wharf hms victory parking space buffet style spinnaker tower bed was comfortable breakfast was excellent full english shopping centre visiting portsmouth would stay again
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 880 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

It's ok and cheap, but rooms very warm and difficult to keep cool. Restaurant food good. Can't fault staff nor service. Good location, ideal for rail station, consequently I've stayed a few times. After all, I only need a bed! Room would feel small if...More

Thank Steve G
Response from RMC1856, Manager at Royal Maritime ClubResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your review Steve - we will pass on the positive feedback to our staff. We look forward to having you stay again soon. Kind thanks, Royal Maritime Club

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Let’s start with the positives. My room was clean & quiet, complimentary water & wifi and the staff were all very friendly and efficient. That’s it for the positives. Now for the negatives. Overpriced, heated like an old people’s home (which it resembled), awful coffee,...More

1  Thank NHK13
Response from RMC1856, Manager at Royal Maritime ClubResponded 1 week ago

Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay at the Royal Maritime Club and found the décor less than satisfactory. However, we are currently undergoing an extensive refurbishment which we look forward to completing...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If you have been away at sea for months this hotel may offer you some degree of comfort- however, if you are expecting basic, modern standards offered by most business hotels then you will be disappointed. It is extremely outdated and unfortunately does not have...More

1  Thank IanT1700
Response from RMC1856, Manager at Royal Maritime ClubResponded 1 week ago

Hi Ian, thank you for taking the time to give us this review. We appreciate all feedback and aim to take on board the points made. We apologise for the cleanliness of your room and can assure you that this is not standard practice at...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Arrived on a Sunday evening to a little sleepy atmosphere however from Monday morning onwards the service and everything else was very good. I would particularly like to mention the standard of food at both breakfast and dinner was not to be faulted. He bedroom...More

Thank Heather J
Response from RMC1856, Manager at Royal Maritime ClubResponded 1 week ago

Thank you Heather for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked a room here because of it is close to the Mary Rose and the Dockyard. (Very) bit dated decor but spotless and well staffed. We had booked a superior room at £130 per night including breakfast. We were delighted to be upgraded on...More

Thank _grahammitchell100
Response from RMC1856, Manager at Royal Maritime ClubResponded 1 week ago

Hi Graham. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your breakfast (which is often highly praised by the majority of our guests). We pride ourselves on providing a good quality cooked breakfast, for example, our sausages are sourced from our local butchers...More

View more reviews
About
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Room Service
Breakfast included
Banquet Room
Conference Facilities
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair Access
Beachfront
Spa
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Number of rooms
100
Price range
US$111 - US$156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Royal Maritime Club Hotel Portsmouth
,
Royal Maritime Hotel
Location
United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Number of rooms
100
Price range
US$111 - US$156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Royal Maritime Club Hotel Portsmouth
,
Royal Maritime Hotel
Location
United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Photos
Traveller (169)
Room & Suite (158)
Pool & Beach (23)
Dining (22)
Amenities (48)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 40 nearby hotels
The George Hotel
465 reviews
.04 km away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
1,451 reviews
.47 km away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
1,771 reviews
.93 km away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
668 reviews
.97 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 731 nearby restaurants
Feed Cafe
357 reviews
.32 km away
Ship Anson
339 reviews
.22 km away
Tin Tin
178 reviews
.26 km away
The Cornish Bakery
238 reviews
.38 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 239 nearby attractions
The Mary Rose Museum
4,610 reviews
.41 km away
HMS Victory
2,859 reviews
.42 km away
Portsmouth Historic Dockyard
7,241 reviews
.42 km away
HMS Warrior 1860
2,181 reviews
.22 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
willmunson93
9 March 2017|
Answer
Response from Lorraine M |
Yes as we speak
0
Votes
willmunson93
9 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from fredbritnell | Reviewed this property |
Do you mean part of the old navy docks development
0
Votes
Nigel M
2 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from SailorD101 | Reviewed this property |
Hi . 500 yds max
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Only saw the executive suite. Good size room ,big bathroom bath and shower.R107"
_grahammitchell100
2 weeks ago
Read review
"Get a refurbished room"
robinwinder
30 Aug 2018
Read review
"If noise bothers you late evening, ask for a quiet room when booking or checking in, as this may be possible."
GMT2005
26 Aug 2018
Read review
"Ask for an updated room on booking."
catliz
3 Aug 2018
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing