We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Swan Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Swan Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

127 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Swan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 124: English reviews
Olympia, Washington
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

This is a very old building which they have tried to cover with cosmetic upgrades. It is still a creaky, noisy building with uneven floors. No heat in our room last night made this a very unsatisfactory stay. We had two different men in to make the towel warmer work but without success. This place is a dump.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
David H, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, however we do not try to cover anything up. This is a 400 year old hotel so we do have A LOT of character, The creaky and noisy floors are all part of the charm of this place. If you wanted a modern hotel then we were...

Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Four of us stayed here for a couple of nights while we were walking part of the Cotswold Way …. and it’s fine. They are in the process of improving the bedrooms – we had rooms which had been upgraded and they were very nice (once we had mastered how to work the space-age shower). The staff were all friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave-and-Pats
David H, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

I am so glad to hear that you had a good stay with us, its always nice to hear about our new rooms. We do try to give the best customer stand that we can. We are in the process of up grading our menu so thank you for the review on this it is much appreciated. I do hope...

Worcester, Massachusetts
Reviewed 30 September 2016

This place is a dump. The floor in our room (#5) was extremely uneven such that the bed was on a noticeable incline and blood rushed to our head when sleeping. The room is musty and upset our allergies. The bathroom was disgusting and clearly had not been updated for decades. The tub had been converted to a shower, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Legare
David H, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

I am very sorry for the upset this room has caused you, If we were notified about your discomfort we would have tried to make your stay better with us in any way possible. As you would have been notified the hotel is currently under refurbishment - This room is next to be refurbished our builders are working extremely hard...

Conwy County, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2016

In fairness I had cause to stay again due to a lack of accomotion in Wotton,I viewed the room first and it was a much more modern and up to date room, so as I said before, check the room before you comit to staying.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hiker8869
David H, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

I'm glad that we could improve the room for you, our hotel is nearly fully refurbished and i do hope that you get to see all what we have on offer. I do hope that we get to see you once again. Many Thanks Swan Hotel.

Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed just one night here in Room 9 which was a very big room. Recently decorated & with lovely shower. It is a very quiet room at the back of the hotel . All was well until the morning when firstly awoke to noise probably from refurbishment going on shifting furniture & loud chatting , albeit it wasn't early it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lottieloo37
David H, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

I am extremely sorry for this! We have just recently had two new girls start and it was their 3rd time here, there are no excuses at all and i am so sorry for what happened. I have spoken to her and she said she did knock but obviously not hard enough, we have also now told the girls that...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here Friday 17th September, only an over night stay , but would like to say what a lovely welcoming place , rooms newly decorated and very clean . Staff were very friendly, we had a meal in the restaurant which was very nice and very reasonable, would definitely stay again and recommend to anybody

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda R
David H, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words, we always appreciate feedback and when it is good like this it makes ours days better. We do stride for the best customer care we can give. I do hope that if you are ever in the area you will pop in to us. Many Thanks Swan Hotel.

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Stayed here for one night visiting a friend nearby. The room was massive with plenty of space even with a double and sofa bed in there. The bathroom was a good size too with a lovely shower. Overall the room was better than some 4 star hotels I've stayed in! The restaurant is very basic - had the burgers which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heltay_17
David H, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words! Our rooms are our pride and joy and it is always great to hear when a guest enjoyed them as much as we do. As for the food we are forever updating and changing our menus to create the best choice for our customers. We do hope to see you again soon....

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We stayed here whilst walking the Cotswold Way The rooms were good recently refurbished with good bathrooms. Hardly anybody was in the hotel with the dining rooms almost empty and we know why. We ordered pasta marinara and the food was terrible and expensive. Obviously they are not relying on returning customers. Staff were a little odd to be honest,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jayneeeb
David H, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

I am so sorry to hear about your bad experience with us. Some nights we are very quite however others we can be very busy. As for the staff they must of had an off day as they are usually very welcoming and bubbly. I am very sorry that we weren't up to your standards i do hope that if...

West Midlands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

I stayed at the Swan whilst walking the Cotswold Way. It is excellently located and obviously in the process of being refurbished. My twin room was beautifully decorated. The hotel staff were extremely welcoming and helpful. The breakfast was outstanding. Full marks.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Grifflarudman
David H, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind response, your review means so much to us and i am so pleased to hear that you had a good stay with us. we do try to give our guest a proper breakfast to start there day off, i do hope that we will be seeing you again if you are ever in...

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2016

We stayed here overnight while with walking the Cotswold Way. The room was right at the top of the hotel, very nicely decorated a nice shower room. Reception was friendly and efficient. Breakfast offered a range of cereals, cooked items and toast. We had our evening meal here, there is a bar and bistro menu. Food was very good and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bardpen
David H, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely words, it is always nice to hear back from our customers. i am very pleased that you enjoyed our room and our customer service. I do hope that if you are ever in the area then you will come back and say hello. Many Thanks Swan Hotel.

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wotton-under-Edge
6.3 km away
De Vere Tortworth Estate
6.4 km away
Hunter's Hall Inn
Hunter's Hall Inn
#1 of 1 in Kingscote
359 reviews
5.9 km away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 km away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
571 reviews
7.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Bristol North The Gables Hotel
19.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Mayfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Swan Hotel Restaurant
The Swan Hotel Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Originally a 17th Centuary Coaching Inn, The Swan Hotel has been kept very traditional with slight modernisation. All of our bedrooms are En-Suite. Our Restaurant, Bar, and Snug offer an extensive menu and the choice is yours as to where you prefer to eat: The Bar and Snug are warm and cosy. The Restaurant is light and airy with a refurbishment completed just a few months ago.The Bar offers Real Ales from local Breweries, Lagers, Wines and a large selection of Whiskies and other Spirits. We also have a Newsagents within the hotel where you can obtain Daily Papers and Weekly/Monthly Magazines.Our Staff are always willing to please and all have good personalities. The hotel is strongly supported by the local community and love sampling our ever-changing selection of Real Ales - we are also a member of CAMRA and are Casque Mark Approved ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Address: Swan Hotel 16 Market Street, Wotton-under-Edge GL12 7AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Wotton-under-Edge
Price Range: €77 - €116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Swan Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 1 faced the road (High Street ?) but was still quiet throughout.”
 of 5 bubbles Sportbilly121, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The lower the room, the better. Those satirs are quite a work out for the average American!!”
 of 5 bubbles chrisrG7723OS, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“room 7 is lovely. good power shower”
 of 5 bubbles 94angiej, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 7 is the biggest, this and Room 9”
 of 5 bubbles WA07ZZA, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Best to get one of the rooms which have been refurbished”
 of 5 bubbles Dave-and-Pats, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay