We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Swan Hotel

Expedia.comUS$107*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$111*
US$107*
US$111*
US$108*
US$111*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Swan Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

143 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 140: English reviews
Start your review of The Swan Hotel
 Click to rate
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Following a long walk from Kings Stanley. We were welcomed and shown to our room which was lovely (pictures below). Both light and airy as well as exceptionally clean. Shower room was also beautifully clean lots of hot water, soft towels and lovely toiletries. We enjoyed a very comfortable nights sleep. This is a charming and quaint place to stay....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
David H, Public Relations Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feed back with regards to your stay with us. I am very pleased to hear your stay with us at The Swan Hotel was comfortable and our staff were welcoming, however i am extremely concerned with your unsatisfactory experience with the food we prepared and made for you. We strive to always use...

UK
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we stayed here for one night while doing the Cotswold way. We had a really clean and warm room in the top of the hotel. Really quiet. Very friendly landlord made us welcome. Good beer and food. Only small disappointment was how busy the restaurant was during breakfast. I felt like I was in a corridor with no end of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FreddyUk
UK
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Short stay here in May 2017 and enjoyed it. We arrived about 7pm, parking was free about 100 yards up the road by the small cinema, fees apply at more regular times. Check in was fast, no issues and our room was huge, it was at the top of the building and to be honest took a long time to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DurhamPitLad
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed for the one night as a mini getaway. Our room was huge, lovely and clean, really comfy bed . I chose room 11 from the website as each room is individually decorated. The view from our room was stunning, the only downside was it was up several flights of stairs (60 steps to be precise 😮) but they do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank farideh0405
David H, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Customer, Thank you very much for your lovely feed back, sorry you had the room with the long flight of steps! I agree always best to check while calling to book. We are very much looking forward to your return to our Hotel. Kindest Regards Melanie

Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 April 2017

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Swan Hotel. We stayed in room 7 which was a good size, bright and quiet with an en-suite shower room. The hotel is newly refurbished with a good restaurant and cosy bar. The menu offers an extensive choice of reasonably priced pub food and our evening meal was very good. Breakfast is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AHAJT
David H, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely words, we are very proud of our hotel and it always puts a smile on my face when I hear back from our customers. I am glad that you like our 4 poster room, and its great to hear you enjoyed our extensive menu and hearty breakfast. We do hope we will see...

Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

Have to say that I was very disappointed with this place. The hotel itself is nice, lovely decor but the bedroom and cleanliness was a real disappointment. I paid 95.00 for a superior double which was not worth the money. Towels on the radiator were still wet, splash marks all over the chrome towel rail and water marks all over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynsey C
David H, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your review. My name is Chris and I am the head of housekeeping. I am sorry to hear that you feel you had a disappointing stay at our hotel due to wet towels, messy sofa, and messy bed. I would like to assure you that our bedrooms are usually cleaned to a high standard and...

Mold, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2017

The landlord David could not have made more fuss of us and the dog, the people of the area were friendly ,which we did'n expect. We were offered a choice of rooms , the breakfast was good and we ate in the restaurant twice . We would definitely stay again if we were in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank debithell
David H, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words, We love to make sure all of our guests feel welcome and at home. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Swan Hotel we hope to see you and your dog again very soon! Thank you again.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

Had a lovely weekend stay here. Staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help us. A lovely location to explore the many walks in the area. Food was delicious - portions are large! Breakfast was served until 11 so perfect for a lazy weekend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rarcher08
David H, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are very proud to be in this beautiful town ( Wotton-Under-Edge) as it is a wonderful place to call home. We will always go that step further to make sure our guest have the best stay possible. When it comes to our menu I can assure you we are not stingy, we like to...

Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 February 2017

The swan has undergone a high quality refurbishment and was very comfortable. The owner manager was very attentive and the breakfast was 9 out of 10. Praise indeed from a breakfast specialist. The evening menu was good pub food with the mixed grill containing local meat which was cooked well

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian g
David H, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much your your review. We have truly worked very hard on making our rooms as comfortable as they can be, as well as looking fantastic. We are very proud of how they have come out and really appreciate it when our guest can see how much work we put into them. We do try our best to...

Benenden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 January 2017

We stayed here at a quiet time, at the end of December. Quite honestly, I had some reservations about booking after reading some negative reviews on this site. But I should not have worried. The hotel is a really amazing old historic coaching inn and I was impressed that it is immaculately clean, having been recently done up. The rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BenendenBelle
David H, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words! We are all enjoying our new rooms here, its an outstanding difference to what it was. We are a very pet friendly hotel, and we find that helps with the relaxing atmosphere that we have here. And of course we are in the heart of wotton-under-edge, which is full of refreshing sites...

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wotton-under-Edge
6.3 km away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
2,406 reviews
6.4 km away
Hunter's Hall Inn
Hunter's Hall Inn
#1 of 1 in Kingscote
398 reviews
6.0 km away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 km away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
651 reviews
7.1 km away
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
11.5 km away
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Swan Hotel Restaurant
The Swan Hotel Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Originally a 17th Centuary Coaching Inn, The Swan Hotel has been kept very traditional with slight modernisation. All of our bedrooms are En-Suite. Our Restaurant, Bar, and Snug offer an extensive menu and the choice is yours as to where you prefer to eat: The Bar and Snug are warm and cosy. The Restaurant is light and airy with a refurbishment completed just a few months ago.The Bar offers Real Ales from local Breweries, Lagers, Wines and a large selection of Whiskies and other Spirits. We also have a Newsagents within the hotel where you can obtain Daily Papers and Weekly/Monthly Magazines.Our Staff are always willing to please and all have good personalities. The hotel is strongly supported by the local community and love sampling our ever-changing selection of Real Ales - we are also a member of CAMRA and are Casque Mark Approved ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Address: Swan Hotel 16 Market Street, Wotton-under-Edge GL12 7AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Wotton-under-Edge
Price Range: €85 - €142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Swan Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for a refurbished room”
DurhamPitLad, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room not over the skittle alley if they are playing”
514iang, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“room 8 has a sofa, our friends had a family room (steps to bathroom) and for a bit of romance one also had a four poster bed.”
anniey100, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 1 faced the road (High Street ?) but was still quiet throughout.”
Sportbilly121, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The lower the room, the better. Those satirs are quite a work out for the average American!!”
chrisrG7723OS, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$107* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$108
PricelineUS$111
TripAdvisorUS$107
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates