We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Number Four at Stow and Cutler\\
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Panoramas (45)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

929 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Showing 919: English reviews
portchester
Reviewed 15 November 2016

We should have known something was amiss when we turned up. We were asked to pay up front for our stay, highly unusual! We had already had problems trying to get into the hotel, as when you arrive from the Stow direction there are no sign posts which way to go at the fork in the road, consequently we arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank ladysamolea
CCKHL, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review which we were expecting, as you did advise us on check out that you would be writing a 3 page bad review on TripAdvisor. Your room rate of £255.00 was inclusive of full English breakfast, 3 course dinner from the a la carte menu and VAT. It's unfortunate that you didn't raise any complaint during...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for one night and ate in the restaurant. We received a warm welcome, the staff are very friendly and professional and were anxious to ensure our every comfort. We stayed in one of the suites which was very clean and comfortable, with a wonderful deep bath and power shower. The Cutlers restaurant also did...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank annie18082015
CCKHL, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor following your stay with us. We're delighted you enjoyed your time at the hotel and your dinner in Cutler's Restaurant, and have passed your compliments on to all the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to Number Four when you next visit the Cotswolds. Warm regards...

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 6 November 2016

Booked this Hotel thinking it was in Stow (as the name suggests) but I really should have checked map. This Hotel is a characterless building with very small rooms with a view of a brickwall and adjacent to a busy road, and for me the only positive was a pretty good breakfast. Our duvet had blood stains on, and I...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank AnneNap33
CCKHL, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor and I'm pleased that I had an opportunity to speak to you during your stay. It's disappointing when guests don't enjoy their time with us, but we're delighted you had a good breakfast before leaving. Kind regards Caroline Losel Proprietor

wendyducati
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Lovely setting, beautiful decor with attentive staff. Couldn't fault the roast beef cooked perfectly tender & rare, proper gravy and animal fat roasties. Every element on the plate couldn't be faulted. Only wish the plum tart hadn't hadn't a soggy bottom - Mary Berry would not be happy. Shame as the flavour was there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wendyducati
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review following dining in our Cutler's Restaurant for Sunday lunch. We are so pleased you enjoyed your meal and have passed your compliments on to the staff, thank you. We have also passed on the comments with regards your pudding - thank you for the feedback. We look forard to welcoming you back soon. Kind...

Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2016

My wife and I have just returned from a weekend break at number four where we found all aspects of this hotel to be excellent once again the food the staff the cleanliness all lived up to our expectations and we would have no hesitation in recommending 'this hotel and its restaurant Cutlers to anyone visiting the area

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geoff D
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to welcome you back to our hotel last weekend and we very much appreciate that you have taken the time to post a review on Trip Advisor, thank you. We now look forward to welcoming you back very soon. With warm wishes Caroline & Patricia

Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2016

We stayed for 2 nights in a twin room(108) for a family celebration.Our first impression was favourable with a pleasant approach aspect from the ample car park. The minute we stepped through the door the young lady on reception made us feel very welcome and this was the attitude from all the staff throughout our stay and from one of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eurotrippers
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review

We are delighted that you had a memorable stay at Number Four last weekend and it was a pleasure to welcome all your family to our hotel. Thank you very much for your compliments which have been passed on to the team. We now hope that you will have the opportunity to visit The Cotswolds in the future and look...

Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

I recently spent a lovely few days in the Cotswolds staying at NumberFour and had two very good meals at Cutler's Restaurant. We stayed Thursday and Friday night and had a very friendly service from the great staff that were there. Food was excellent, wine was tasty, rooms were spotless and comfortable. A great position to explore the area. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RichGriffy
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review

We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and your feedback on Trip Advisor is very much appreciated, thank you. We certainly will look forward to welcoming you both back when you are next visiting the area. A warm welcome awaits... Best regards Caroline & Patricia

Pasadena, CA
Reviewed 18 October 2016

We stayed in a one bedroom suite at Number Four at Stow because that was the only room available. While the two of us certainly did not need that much space, it was nice to have two TV's and an extra closet area. We ate in their restaurant for dinner our first night, and everything was delicious. The breakfasts were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nerdgrl
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us at Number Four. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we have passed your compliments on to the team. We do hope that we can now look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. With warm regards Caroline & Patricia

Fife
Reviewed 1 October 2016

We had actually booked a different hotel in the area, but arrived in the evening to find our booking had not gone through. Number 4 was recommended as an alternative and luckily there was a room for us. Unfortunately, the restaurant was undergoing refurbishment, so no food was available. However, the staff were very helpful and directed us to a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank coruisk4
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review

We were pleased to welcome you to our hotel at short notice and thank you for staying an extra night! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and your feedback is much appreciated thank you. We now hope that when you return to The Cotwolds we can welome you back to Number Four! With kindest regards Caroline & Patricia

Holbrook
Reviewed 29 September 2016

Room a wee bit small but very comfortable with a great view. We thought the location was very good with lots a places interest within a family reasonable distance. The staff were very helpful and friendly nothing much trouble. Breakfast well cooked, very tasty and Dinner too.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank verenaHolbrook
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel recently and offering your feedback on Trip Advisor. This is always very much appreciated. We now look forward to welcoming you back perhaps in the near future. With kindest regards Caroline & Patricia

279 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (96)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (168)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
Dining (59)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (26)
Viewed
Suite (35)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
1.5 km away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
280 reviews
2.2 km away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,337 reviews
3.0 km away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 km away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
1.4 km away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
128 reviews
21.8 km away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family-owned and run boutique country house hotel in Stow on the Wold, in the heart of the Cotswolds. The hotel offers 13 stylish bedrooms and 5 elegant two-room suites/family rooms and a relaxing and cosy lounge and bar. There is a large secure car park which is free for guests. In Cutler's at Number Four, our intimate restaurant, chef Brian Cutler offers good simple and tasty food using the best of local and seasonal produce. A small but flexible function room can seat up to 40 for meetings or private dining. The entire hotel is fully air-conditioned and Wi-Fi is free and available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant

Address: Fosseway | Gloucestershire, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range: €151 - €214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 4 At Stow
Number Four At Stow Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Number Four At Stow And Cutler's Restaurant Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Dublin, Ireland
6 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Suggest you ask the owner for advice”
 of 5 bubbles dudleyr2015, 24 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Not near to the road”
  • Too small
  • Dresser
 of 5 bubbles AnneNap33, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“A room at the back might be quieter than one at the front”
 of 5 bubbles coruisk4, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the South Side are quieter with the best views”
 of 5 bubbles verenaHolbrook, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“As far we could see all rooms are quiet and have good views”
 of 5 bubbles thomsonb1, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5