We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

White Hart Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
White Hart Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

878 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 871: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

We recently stayed at the white Hart hotel Lewes on a one night Groupon deal first impressions it seemed full of character and quirkiness with timber and beamed features and with old wonky creaky stairs which is what you expect from a building of this age and history,it would of been a nice welcome of a roaring fire in the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

My 92 year old aunty and I spent 3 nights here using their Christmas package with single supplement. We'd already checked it out in the summer to ensure that she would be able to climb the 2 flights of stairs to her 1st floor bedroom as there's no lift in this hotel. I suggest that people should make proper enquiries...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PM A
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We felt well looked after by the friendly staff. In the restaurant we were delighted to see the chef cooking in view of diners. I'm not usually one to rave about food (it keeps you alive and that's all that matters) but the salmon was divine and my husband said the duck was delicious. The spa was clean and non...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eileen P
swansea
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lewes lovely place to visit for a few days. Hotel sorry really needs a revamp love the beam work and the wonky floors but the thread bare carpets the stained and tatty / broken chairs not a good sign, character of the hotel is old and new I will say our room was clean and warm and view was lovely....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SwanseaLindyloo
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

After reading the awful reviews we very nearly didn't use our voucher. Yes the hotel and spa are very tired looking and do need a total overhaul but it was not nearly as bad as expected. We started with a very good latte served in the lounge overlooking the pool.The pool was a lovely temperature and the sauna was working...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
GAC380, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Sarah for the lovely review we are just in the process of a refurbishment of the spa and hotel public areas. glad you enjoyed the afternoon teas and hope to see you all again soon

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Myself and my mum went for afternoon tea and spa day at the white hart for a treat. This was anything but a treat. The spa is awkwardly placed in the hotel and not easy to find. We had to walk through a conference going on to get to the reception of the spa. The first thing we noticed was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 217annabellew
GAC380, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry you didn't enjoy your spa break at the hotel. as you could see we are in the process of a refurbishment on the spa and hotel it is very hard to close areas down while we are having this done. the showers are being refurbished all of them as for a complete refurbishment on the gym and...

Brighton
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Highly recommend the lovely cream tea.. super friendly staff especially Mr Jon Cleaver , welcoming and attentive,thanks for making our visit a memorable one ... great value for money, lovely warm pool, definitely will go again x

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane B
lewes
Reviewed 1 week ago

My friend bought a deal on groupon for a Birthday present for me, and we booked to go today for a supposed Spa and cream tea deal. Where do I start? went for a swim and sauna first and the water in the pool was decidedly murky all the tiles in the jacuzzi were broken and horrible bits in it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angiejudy
GAC380, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

sorry to hear you did not enjoy your afternoon spa break I can only apologise about the experience you received on the day. we are in the process of a spa and hot refurbishment and some areas will be targeted as we know while we are doing this. as we cannot just shut the hotel down we are starting certain...

Whitstable, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The place is dated, worn out and dirty. Our hearts started sinking while booking in as we surveyed the tatty surroundings. This feeling got gradually worse as we made our way to the room. The stair carpet was threadbare and worn out. The Windows on the staircase were in a very poor state of repair and a glance upwards revealed...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank james e
GAC380, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

sorry to hear that you did not stay to enjoy the white hart as you can understand the hotel is over 500 years old and we are having the hotel refurbished starting in the spa. we are also having certain areas refreshed. as the hotel is not modern it does have its old charm and quirkiness it is a shame...

West Sussex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The spa area was disgusting! The steam room smelt of rotting cabbage & you worried about your health sitting in there. Anywhere that smells that bad must have a mold issue! The pool was cloudy & the so called jacuzzi was cold & tiles missing. The whole area could do with being ripping out & revamped. Looks like it hasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denise A
GAC380, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for the review I am sorry you didn't enjoy your spa break as you can see we are in the process of a refurbishment of the hotel and spa area. we are trying to do this with out disrupting people while they enjoy there stay or spa break please contact me and I will arrange another one for...

259 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (235)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (68)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.1 km away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 7 in Lewes
700 reviews
0.5 km away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#5 of 7 in Lewes
357 reviews
2.4 km away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#4 of 7 in Lewes
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Lewes Town Centre
9.9 km away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
1,082 reviews
9.0 km away
Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Legacy White Hart Hotel is an unusual 16th century coaching inn. The original Tudor building has been sympathetically extended to incorporate a good standard of facilities whilst retaining its wonderful historic character. The public rooms boast period features, original oak beams, stone Tudor fireplaces, oak paneling and creaking, sloping floors. Then step into our leisure facilities complete with heated swimming pool and fully equipped gym offering treadmills, weight benches, cross trainers and much more. The hotel is within close proximity of Brighton and Falmer and Eastbourne. The train station is a short stroll from the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Address: 55 High Street, Lewes BN7 1XE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Price Range: €81 - €132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Lewes
White Hart Hotel Lewes, East Sussex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from White Hart Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
24 days ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from White Hart Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Front rooms on the High Street can be noisy. Higher floors have difficult stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles 710pma, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't. Find another Hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles jamese788, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't go there.”
 of 5 bubbles sezv2015, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“DONT eat there!”
 of 5 bubbles Presidentpeter, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 26 was full of beams and had a good view”
 of 5 bubbles 866PeterR, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5