We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Ship Hotel

2,421 reviews
Save
Traveller (834)
Room & Suite (484)
Dining (74)
Overview
  • Excellent26%
  • Very good40%
  • Average21%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“sea view”(258 reviews)
“sea front”(218 reviews)
“ceiling fan”(44 reviews)
Free Wifi
Breakfast Buffet
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
4.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (2,421)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for The Old Ship Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
2,364 results
Traveller rating
637
907
512
186
122
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
637
907
512
186
122
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewsea frontceiling fanlovely hotelcar parkbox of chocolatesnoisy at nightearly hoursshort breakthird floorpublic areasbrighton seafrontone night staybreakfast was excellentgood nights sleeplovely roomcomfy bed
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
241 - 245 of 2,364 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2017

Parking very expensive and we had to park in local multi-story but was very near to Hotel. Breakfast was excellent. Right on sea front with seating area outside hotel overlooking busy road and sea front. Lift very old and small but we did not have...More

1  Thank Susan T
Response from Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship HotelResponded 4 September 2017

Dear Susan T Many thanks for your review We hope to have news about a new lift soon Regards Paul

Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for one night will away with work I didn't choose the hotel but I was very happy with the choice. The staff were very friendly, the room was very clean and well presented. I had a king room adjacent to the alley but...More

Thank Georgie_Fresh
Response from OSHGuestRelations, Front Office Manager at The Old Ship HotelResponded 3 September 2017

Dear Georgia_French, Thank you very much for your kind reply and scoring us 5*. We are happy that we have met all your expectation and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again. Thank you and my regards, Katarina Dobociova Front Of House Manager

Reviewed 1 September 2017

Pros: it was my wedding anniversary and a card and chocolates were left in our. Really appreciate the gesture. The staff are really great. Reception staff are so warm and friendly. The hotel is located a stone's through from the beach. Cons : poor attention...More

Thank ibrigo77
Response from OSHGuestRelations, Front Office Manager at The Old Ship HotelResponded 3 September 2017

Dear ibrigo77, thank you for your review and we do welcome any feedback provide to us. All your comments will be passed on to relevant departments for improvement. We hope that we will be able to welcome you again. Best regards, Katarina Dobociova Front of...More

Reviewed 31 August 2017

The Old Ship Hotel was a fabulous location for our one night stay in Brighton. All staff encountered were welcoming, friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good and the room where breakfast is served was modern and bright. However, I found the room old fashioned...More

Thank janetinniss
Response from OSHGuestRelations, Front Office Manager at The Old Ship HotelResponded 3 September 2017

Dear janetinniss, thank you very much for your review and scoring us 3*. We fully encourage feedback to the hotel so that we can celebrate any successes and learn from any disappointment. If we can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to...More

Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel for the last 4years for the mod weekend. Due to a change in plans and maybe our last visit for some time we upgraded to a deluxe suite for our stay and added an extra night We were asked...More

1  Thank Lisa S
Response from Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship HotelResponded 1 September 2017

Dear Lisa S Thank you for your review. It was disappointing that you bought issues up on departure when you refused to pay for parking that you were clearly told on arrival would be chargeable. As confirmed with you on departure payment is required. Kind...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
14748495051473
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Room Service
Restaurant
Beachfront
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Bar/Lounge
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Meeting Rooms
Dry Cleaning
Business Centre with Internet Access
Laundry Service
Concierge
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Details
Price range
US$78 - US$272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#9 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Suites, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$78 - US$272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#9 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Suites, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (834)
Room & Suite (484)
Dining (74)
Pool & Beach (6)
Amenities (35)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (4)
Family and Play Areas (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Helen5584
22 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from OSHGuestRelations | Property representative |
Hello Helen5584 , Buffet breakfast is £14.95, if pre-booked on check in discounted price is £10. This is an amazing value, as this includes tea/coffee, hot buffet and continental breakfast as well. Kind regards, Phil Duty... More
1
Vote
140mason
4 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Jerryhill057 | Reviewed this property |
Not at the hotel but lots around the area
1
Vote
Nikki S
18 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 12 answers
Response from OSHGuestRelations | Property representative |
Dear Nikki S, Irons are located in the wardrobes. Dress code for dinner is smart casual. Looking forward welcoming you to the hotel. Kind regards, Old Ship Hotel
1
Vote
PreviousNext
12345612
Room Tips
"Room overlooking sea"
Read review
"Any room with a sea view even it is only a glimpse"
Read review
"Book well in advance"
Read review
"side room 257"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing