We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Old Ship Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,997 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Old Ship Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,957: English reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Went away for the weekend. Needed a hotel/b&b close to centre of Brighton. Found this one on the seafront. Great hotel near to The Lanes, Pier and many other attractions. Staff were very friendly. Rooms very clean and tidy. would recommend.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hayley P
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hayley P Many thanks for your fantastic review. Regards Paul Wright General Manager

Barham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Stayed one night last Saturday - front desk service was good for check in and out. Breakfast service was good too and good selection of food. Bedroom was ok clean but bathroom was poor. The actual bath was in poor condition. Would I stay again - maybe if the price is right think there is better hotels around. Good location....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DowleS
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DowleS Many thanks for your review. Regards Paul Wright General Manager

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

We spent a Sunday night at this hotel and were very impressed from the outset. A fast check in and an upgrade to a deluxe seafront room ensured that the stay was off to a fantastic start! Once settled in, we had a relaxed drink in outside bar area - a perfect seafront spot to watch the world go by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ryan g
OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ryan g, Thank you so much for your amazing review. Glad to read you had such a lovely stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Enrica, Guest Relations

Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Our 2nd visit to the Ship didn't disappoint . We opted for a seaview which was bright and airy with the only downside bring the street noise below from Traffic and revellers.This is an old hotel and has plenty of character and full of history but does lack a few of the mod cons of newer hotels. It's located right...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CelticTravel29
OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CelticTravel29, Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience here on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Enrica, Guest Relations

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Great location on the seafront in Brighton, very close for pier and The Lanes. Lots of history with this hotel, well worth reading about it. Stayed in a sea view room which is well worth paying that bit extra for. Can be a bit noisy at night through the early hours due to clubs by the beach but this is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra E
OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sandra E, Thank you for your fantastic review. We are glad you had a lovely stay and we hope to welcome you back again for your next visit to Brighton. Kind regards, Enrica, Guest Relations

Brighton
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Love this hotel and the team are really what makes it - Fab Sunday Lunch last week and ate on the terrace and watched the world go by. Great singer on the terrace and Mark was a great host Even had room for dessert Great location in the heart of the vibrant city

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul W Many thanks for your fantastic review. Regards Paul Wright General Manager

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

Key points: - were initially ignored and then rejected from the empty hotel restaurant because we didn't have a reservation (?!!) - rude treatment by bar staff - complaints not really dealt with properly or resolved quickly - dried dog sick patches on carpet; not noticed or addressed by housekeeping and I had to repeatedly chase it up to get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharkiem
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sharkiem Thank you for writing your review I am sorry you experienced all of this and is very unusual feedback to receive. Kind regards Paul Wright General Manager

kent
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

Just got back from two nights at the old ship with my boyfriend and all I can say was it was ok the room we was allocated 447 was literally at the top of the building in the attic it was so hot in the room with just a ceiling fan and the windows only opened about 2 inches. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank noonoo27
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear noonoo27 Thank you for your review. I am sorry you were disappointed and assure you we are independently rated 4 star category hotel. Kind regards Paul Wright General Manager

Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

I saw the old ship hotel online on booking.com and thought it would be the perfect place to take my boyfriend for his birthday. The service from the staff was excellent, they upgraded our room to a sea view and even wrote George a happy birthday message in chocolate, and gave us two free muffins! The hotel is in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chloealiot
OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear chloealiot, Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am delighted you had a great time. I will make sure to pass your feedback onto the team, it will certainly encourages them to carry on giving amazing service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Enrica, Guest relations

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Hadn't been here for many years , heard it had been re modernised . Went along for a Sunday roast & was very impressed. Delicious food good atmosphere, entertained by a singer that was just outside the door to front of the building . Well worth a visit

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sue P, Thank you for your great review. Hope you'll come back soon to enjoy another delicious meal. Kind regards, Enrica, Guest Relations

903 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (613)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (71)
Viewed
Room/Suite (155)
Viewed
Bathroom (68)
Viewed
View from Room (38)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (252)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (226)
Viewed
Accessible Guest Room (32)
Viewed
Amenities (35)
Viewed
Double Deluxe Room (Sea View) (32)
Viewed
Double Guest Room (23)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Superior King Guest Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)
Viewed
Twin Guest Room (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 km away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
6,697 reviews
1.2 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,353 reviews
0.1 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.9 km away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,094 reviews
0.5 km away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#12 of 44 in Brighton
2,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The four-star Old Ship Hotel is a historic Georgian hotel with 154 bedrooms, 49 of which overlook Brighton's famous beach, that also has chargeable onsite parking for up to 50 cars. Just a 5-minute walk from Brighton Pier, The Lanes and the city's bars and restaurants, previous guests have included an array of royalty, aristocracy, artists and musicians, such as Charles II & Paganini. Enjoy classic British dishes in the Steak-on-Sea Restaurant, or private dining in the 400-year-old cellars, and drinks on the Al Fresco Bar Terrace on the promenade, before heading out for top-class entertainment in the theatres and clubs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range: €88 - €225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ship Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Old Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ship Hotel Brighton
Barcelo Brighton
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#7 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Ship Hotel staff and other travellers.
26 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Ship Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“2nd floor was cold”
 of 5 bubbles lloydd190, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for an upper room away from the front of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles kag23, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The rooms with the views also have the traffic noise. It is popular for weddings and other parties so this can cause some disturbance,”
 of 5 bubbles Paul-Sew, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask to see the room first”
 of 5 bubbles 654saraj, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Standard sea view room is worth it, especially if the sea is rough.”
 of 5 bubbles angter, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5