We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Old Ship Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,999 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Old Ship Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,959: English reviews
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

Clean hotel, absolutely perfect location, close to the laines and the pier. Only own points apart from the guy who checked me in was a bit snobby and the hotel was very hot. Will definitely be coming here again if we go to Brighton!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank loula24
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear loula24 Thank you for your great review I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again soon. Kind regards Paul Wright General Manager

Romford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

Beautiful reception/communal areas, bar and restaurant very clean and welcoming however this was merely a fur coat hiding the shabby, dated and uninviting rooms!! Stained, carpets that were barely fitted too the floor, causing me to fall, dirty skirting boards, rubbish behind pipe work, stained chair, curtains that didn't even meet when drawn, mouldy walls and damp ceilings are just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank samromford1984
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear samromford1984 Thank you for your review I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay and the response from an email. Please do not hesitate to contact me direct on pwright@thehotelcollection.co.uk should you be looking at coming back to Brighton. Kind regards Paul Wright General Manager

Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2016

We have just spent the night here in the older part of the hotel. We spent almost £250 for a room only (admittedly this is the Bank Holiday weekend) and the room looks onto rubbish bins, is very small and doesn't have air conditioning. The bathroom is tired. On the upside the staff are friendly and helpful. We wouldn't come...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katietyndale
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear katietyndale Thank you for your review. Bank Holiday Weekends are always higher priced than other times during the year so if you do decide to come back please look at our website for special offers. Regards Paul Wright General Manager

Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2016

We stayed for one night in August. Before arriving we paid extra for a sea view room. It was a very warm day and the room was very hot upon arrival - no air conditioning so Windows had to be open. Having windows open during the day is fine but at night the night clubs in the arches under the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DebsDally
OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DebsDally, Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Brighton. Kind regards, Enrica, Guest Relations

Derby
Reviewed 26 August 2016

The positives: Public areas downstairs are all recently renovated so are very welcoming, and there is a nice terrace at the front overlooking the sea. The staff were all charming and attentive.The bed was comfy and tea & coffee available in the room. The negatives: It's appreciated that this is an older hotel, with a recently updated downstairs, but it's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roxanne C
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Roxanne C Thank you for your review. It is unfortunate that you were in the smallest room with have in the hotel. In the future we hope air conditioning will be installed which we will then advertise. If you do change your mind to stay again please contact me direct so I can look after your stay. Kind regards...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2016

The Old Ship is perhaps not the obvious choice of somewhere to have a little lunch, but it should be. The terrace bar is a wood-pannelled set of rooms knocked into one with a modern, efficient bar overseeing neat, four-seater tables. The carpet pattern looks vaguely familiar, similar to the one my parents bought back in the early 1960's. Very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GwynHywel
OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GwynHywel, Thank you so much for your amazing review. We hope to welcome you back soon for another lovely and relaxing lunch. Kind regards, Enrica, Guest Relations

Reviewed 25 August 2016

Stayed here for one night - hotel was in a perfect location along the seafront and not noisy at all. We parked in the Lanes Car Park as the hotel car park was full as we arrived before check in time. Hotel's breakfast was delicious and it is self service. Bed was comfortable and massive which was an extra bonus....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amelia G
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Amelia G Thank you ever so much for your fantastic review. We always have offers on for longer stays particularly midweek. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kindest regards Paul Wright General Manager

Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

This is my second visit to this hotel situated right on brighton seafront. It is close to the pier bars and local entertainment. We were greeted by friendly reception staff and check in was quick. Our room was in the centre of the hotel and we overlooked a courtyard. The room was clean and tidy. Ear plugs were provided in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank annemariericky
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear annemariericky Thank you ever so much for your fantastic review. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Regards Paul Wright General Manager

Kempsey, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2016

We were overbooked by Mercure hotel and relocated to the Old Ship Hotel on arrival. We didn't know what to expect but we're very pleasantly surprised. Our new venue was so much better than the Mercure!!!! The staff were very p!easant and made us feel very welcome and special after our bad experience with the previous hotel. Our room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Susan B Thank you for your great review. Next time you come to Brighton please choose us Regards Paul Wright General Manager

Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

Stopped off for a quick liquid refreshment on the way to the hotel we had booked. Sat in the seats on the front and watched the traffic go by. Service was prompt and attentive. Could do with some parasols over the couches for shade though as it was quite hot in the full sun.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank manxshaun
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear manxshaun Thank you for your review We have a number of parasols outside but as some guests like to sit in the sun some chairs are not under them. Great feedback though for us. Many thanks Paul Wright General Manager

903 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (613)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (71)
Viewed
Room/Suite (155)
Viewed
Bathroom (68)
Viewed
View from Room (38)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (252)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (226)
Viewed
Accessible Guest Room (32)
Viewed
Amenities (35)
Viewed
Double Deluxe Room (Sea View) (32)
Viewed
Double Guest Room (23)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Superior King Guest Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)
Viewed
Twin Guest Room (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 km away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
6,699 reviews
1.2 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,354 reviews
0.1 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.9 km away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,094 reviews
0.5 km away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#12 of 44 in Brighton
2,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The four-star Old Ship Hotel is a historic Georgian hotel with 154 bedrooms, 49 of which overlook Brighton's famous beach, that also has chargeable onsite parking for up to 50 cars. Just a 5-minute walk from Brighton Pier, The Lanes and the city's bars and restaurants, previous guests have included an array of royalty, aristocracy, artists and musicians, such as Charles II & Paganini. Enjoy classic British dishes in the Steak-on-Sea Restaurant, or private dining in the 400-year-old cellars, and drinks on the Al Fresco Bar Terrace on the promenade, before heading out for top-class entertainment in the theatres and clubs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range: €88 - €226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ship Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotel.de, LateRooms, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your The Old Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ship Hotel Brighton
Barcelo Brighton
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#7 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Ship Hotel staff and other travellers.
26 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Ship Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“2nd floor was cold”
 of 5 bubbles lloydd190, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for an upper room away from the front of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles kag23, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The rooms with the views also have the traffic noise. It is popular for weddings and other parties so this can cause some disturbance,”
 of 5 bubbles Paul-Sew, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask to see the room first”
 of 5 bubbles 654saraj, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Standard sea view room is worth it, especially if the sea is rough.”
 of 5 bubbles angter, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5