We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Old Ship Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,994 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,954: English reviews
Start your review of The Old Ship Hotel
 Click to rate
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed today NEWvia mobile

We had a lovely weekend staying in a deluxe double room. We didn't pay for a sea view but we had one small window that faced the sea and the hotel provided a telescope for viewing. The room was clean and very comfortable with toiletries and a tea and coffee tray. The room temperature was perfect although some of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Nice hotel. We booked via booking.com and therefore got one of the smaller rooms. However, we had an issue with something not working in the room and we had a helpful maintenance guy who unfortunately couldn't fix the problem so upgraded us to a larger room with a bathroom that wasn't 1.5 feet from the end of the bed! A...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

If you get a sea view room it can be great. Good size rooms, comfortable and good cleanliness. If there has been bad weather the day/days before your visit the windows can be covered in sea salt, only to be expected you're 50 meters from the beach! Traditional pub entertainment and a good restaurant. In good weather there is plenty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul-Sew
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Apparently one of their best rooms! Lovely sea view but couldn't see much as the windows v dirty. Shower appalling. Torn curtain in the bedroom . Threadbare carpet. Breakfast pretty awful too! But the Staff were kind, friendly, helpful & welcoming!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sara J
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have just celebrated our golden wedding with a three night break. Having stayed here several times since my first visit some 40 year ago it continues to delight. We always leave determined to come back soon. We support the recent reviews, location good, staff excellent - friendly and helpful at all levels. I booked a standard sea view room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angter
OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear angter, I would like to thank you for this AMAZING review. We are delighted, we could extend our hospitality to you and meet your satisfaction. We strongly hope to welcome you back to Brighton on your next visit. Kind regards, Miriam, Guest Relations

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here twice recently and really enjoyed. Very friendly hotel and all the staff really go out off their way to make you feel welcome. Had a sea view room which gave stunning view. The bar was very good and open late, whilst breakfast of a high standard. Hotel very close to the Brighton Lanes so a great location. Really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Invicta362
OSHGuestRelations, Front Office Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Invicta362, thank you for your lovely review and we are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay second time around as well. We are looking forward to welcoming you for the third time soon again. Best regards, Katarina Front of House Manager

Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is a lovely hotel. The reception area is very welcoming and impressive, and the staff were friendly, helpful and courteous. Breakfast was hot and plentiful with good coffee. We had one evening meal in the restaurant which we enjoyed, although the choice was limited. We were in Brighton to attend a Conference, and the hotel was close to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maggie M
OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Maggie M, Thank you so much for your time to leave this review. Your comments will be passed on to our Maintenance manager to be reviewed. I'm sorry if this caused you inconvenience. Kind regards, Miriam, Guest Relations

United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Wonderful, typically seaside hotel dating back to the 16th century. A little rough around in the edges (i.e. upgraded fittings, not new and creaky floors) in places, but this simply adds to the overall charm and is what is expected from this type of hotel. This is not another soulless new build chain... Staff on check-in were friendly, but very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lawbuff01
OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lawbuff01, Thank you so much for this honest and accurate review. We are very pleased, that we could have extend our hospitality to you, while you'd stayed with us. It was very nice to learn, that you found our bedrooms comfortable and fit for purpose. We hope to welcome you back to Brighton on your next visit. Kind regards,...

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is easy to find right on the sea front in the centre, with adequate parking (at an additional charge), and offers easy access to the Lanes, the nightlife and shops/restaurants. All the staff were exceptional. It is a old style hotel with lots of features, including the lift, which did break down whilst we were there! Our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JO8B
OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JO8B, Thank you for your Great comments. We are delighted, that you enjoyed your stay with us and would return. Your comments are appreciated about our fulfilling breakfast with stunning sea views. Kind regards, Miriam, Guest Relations

Essex England
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel needs to be avoided at all cost, I have got to say that it is probably one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in. Our first room was dirty with what looked like blood or sh@@ on a towel and a dirty bed so not a good start (please see photo,s) the second room was and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mark H I am sorry you felt the need to write this after we refused a refund. We could not find any fault with the bed or shower that you discussed on checkout. You stated with us that the food was not ready for breakfast but following checking we established that you came to breakfast well before opening time....

903 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (613)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (71)
Viewed
Room/Suite (155)
Viewed
Bathroom (68)
Viewed
View from Room (38)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (252)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (226)
Viewed
Accessible Guest Room (32)
Viewed
Amenities (35)
Viewed
Double Deluxe Room (Sea View) (32)
Viewed
Double Guest Room (23)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Superior King Guest Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)
Viewed
Twin Guest Room (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 km away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
6,658 reviews
1.2 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,340 reviews
0.1 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.9 km away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,093 reviews
0.5 km away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#12 of 44 in Brighton
2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The four-star Old Ship Hotel is a historic Georgian hotel with 154 bedrooms, 49 of which overlook Brighton's famous beach, that also has chargeable onsite parking for up to 50 cars. Just a 5-minute walk from Brighton Pier, The Lanes and the city's bars and restaurants, previous guests have included an array of royalty, aristocracy, artists and musicians, such as Charles II & Paganini. Enjoy classic British dishes in the Steak-on-Sea Restaurant, or private dining in the 400-year-old cellars, and drinks on the Al Fresco Bar Terrace on the promenade, before heading out for top-class entertainment in the theatres and clubs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range: €85 - €219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ship Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The Old Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ship Hotel Brighton
Barcelo Brighton
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#8 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Ship Hotel staff and other travellers.
26 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Ship Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms with the views also have the traffic noise. It is popular for weddings and other parties so this can cause some disturbance,”
 of 5 bubbles Paul-Sew, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask to see the room first”
 of 5 bubbles 654saraj, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Standard sea view room is worth it, especially if the sea is rough.”
 of 5 bubbles angter, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Can be a bit loud but that's Brighton ! Worth it for sea view”
 of 5 bubbles Invicta362, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“It's Brighton, always noisy. Poor lift, get 1st floor if disability.”
 of 5 bubbles 992maggiem, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5