We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Courtlands Hotel

Share
Traveller (82)
Room & Suite (34)
Dining (3)
Overview
  • Excellent14%
  • Very good28%
  • Average24%
  • Poor16%
  • Terrible18%
  • 25 Jun 2018
    “Superb Location But !!!”
  • 24 Jun 2018
    “Over night stay”
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
Multilingual Staff
3 Star accommodation
Reviews (492)
Filter reviews
472 results
Traveller rating
68
134
111
76
83
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
68
134
111
76
83
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 472 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

When we looked out the window we were horrified please see pictures. Very upset with customer service asked for a refund or reduction were told NO said its 152.00 because it sat night! And it was a take it or leave it attitude left us...More

1  Thank Scenic783618
Response from SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands HotelResponded 1 October 2018

Naturally we were very sorry to read this review. Clearly your stay did not hit all the right notes but with no proper details of your room etc we are left with the hope of reaching out to you through the good offices of TripAdvisor...More

Reviewed 27 August 2018

When you first arrive at the hotel it looks dated and tired from the outside, the inside is the same. The room was reasonably clean but again needs a makeover. Speaking to the staff everything seems to be an extra. They charge you £10.00 per...More

Thank ljcthree
Response from SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands HotelResponded 29 August 2018

We were disheartened to read this somewhat down at heel review but surely it is for a prospective guest to decide what may or may not represent value for money? To be clear hotels operate in a highly transparent and competitive marketplace where pricing is...More

Reviewed 16 August 2018

My first room was had a horrible looking carpet, a terrible mattress and a bare light bulb hanging from the undecorated ceiling. I was offered two alternatives but was moved from the one I chose. The FOURTH one, which I had, was clean and newly...More

1  Thank Debbill197
Response from SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands HotelResponded 19 August 2018

We were disheartened by this review; it would appear that the reception team bent over backwards to find you the right room which you have been kind enough to highlight. Positively, the hotel is the subject on ongoing investment and we are proud of the...More

Reviewed 15 August 2018

I had yet another lovely stay at this hotel. This time with my Mum and young son. I find it is the perfect location and has a lovely quirky feel to it. The room we stayed in was lovely. Lots of original Victorian features. I...More

Thank Lisa B
Response from SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands HotelResponded 17 August 2018

Thank you for this delightful review. So pleased for you and your family and having you as loyal and lovely guests

Reviewed 28 July 2018

We stayed for a couple of nights at this older style hotel in Hove on a spur of the moment short stay in Brighton. The reception area was welcoming, whilst the young reception staff were polite, friendly and responsive to our needs. Free parking is...More

Thank clivetheobald
Response from SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands HotelResponded 29 July 2018

We appreciate your visiting us from Colchester and for leaving this review. Your thought feedback is similarly welcomed and hopefully your plans will allow you to stay with us again before too long. Meanwhile, renewed thanks

View more reviews
About
Description
More than a hotel; The Courtlands is an iconic piece of Hove's history, stretched contentedly along a prestigious tree-lined avenue within a short walk of the famous promenade and shingle seafront. Quietly More grand by nature, this is understated splendour and restful style, with friendly and professional service. We offer comfortable accommodation with style; each of our sixty-three en suite rooms are different – some traditional, with an eclectic mix of beautiful and authentic antique furniture, some contemporary with chic and minimal style – whether old or new, each room has complimentary wifi... Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Room Service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Banquet Room
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pool
Beachfront
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style
On the Beach
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Hotel Style
On the Beach
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
60
Price range
US$66 - US$326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Courtlands Hotel Brighton
Location
United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Hotel class
Hotel Style
On the Beach
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
60
Price range
US$66 - US$326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Courtlands Hotel Brighton
Location
United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Photos
Traveller (82)
Room & Suite (34)
Dining (3)
Pool & Beach (1)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 45 nearby hotels
Langfords Hotel
544 reviews
.37 km away
Imperial
664 reviews
.47 km away
Best Western Princes Marine Hotel
856 reviews
1.06 km away
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
2,118 reviews
1.08 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 1,313 nearby restaurants
Lemongrass
185 reviews
.22 km away
Bake Out
22 reviews
.17 km away
Baked
210 reviews
.18 km away
Latinoamerica Argentine Grill
375 reviews
.16 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 468 nearby attractions
Cameron Contemporary Art Gallery
18 reviews
.24 km away
Xpress Beauty
11 reviews
.44 km away
Natural Balance Therapies
211 reviews
.07 km away
Revitalise
127 reviews
.26 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
ClarabeltheLioness
14 April 2015|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from EileenMaud148 | Reviewed this property |
Yes you are quite correct and it just about sums up what this hotel is all about ... my review says it all!!!
2
Votes
youngtribelondon
23 September 2014|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from steve n | Reviewed this property |
we cant remember if the bed was two singles joined together, as a lot of places do that! I would suggest you contact the hotel. steve and silva
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Views from the rooms are none existent."
ljcthree
27 Aug 2018
Read review
"Don't expect too much from this shabby hotel."
Debbill197
16 Aug 2018
Read review
"Street facing rooms are probably best."
clivetheobald
28 Jul 2018
Read review
"Rooms st the rear are quieter but an awful outlook!"
wendybrain
24 Jun 2018
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing