We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Courtlands Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Courtlands Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

460 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 440: English reviews
london
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

I did not like this hotel I'm afraid. Stayed there because of location but did not like it as very old and tired. Shame as was a lovely building and probably lovely in its day. Breakfast was poor no fresh fruit and scrambled eggs seemed like they were made from powdered egg or something - strange texture. Child on reception!... More 

Helpful?
Thank randombirdpr
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

Clearly this guest made a conscious decision to chose the Courtlands [though no substantive details are provided] and as an experienced TripAdvisor contributor would have been well aware of previous reviews. As such this review constitutes no more than writing for the file We find the remarks about a "child on reception" to be unsettling as even if this were... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Worst Hotel I have ever been in! The bathroom was dirty and the shower did not function. The lift was broken. Everytime you need to print something the reception staff comes up with different prices. The kettle in the room was mouldy inside and when presented to the manager he simply said: it is not that bad!! He also took... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mcvbunny
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

We note this is a first time review. With no substantive details of the booking and an obscure "handle" we are at a complete loss. Hopefully we can reach out to this guest through the good offices of TripAdvisor so that we can find out more about their stay. We would urge them to make contact; to be clear our... More 

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Hove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2016

After spending two weeks (whilst my flat was being renovated) in 3 various hotels, this one was by far the nicest. One hotel, which I had booked because it had better reviews, I turned and walked straight out of as it was small, dirty and noisy. When I turned up at the Courtlands I was welcomed by the lovely Lynn... More 

Helpful?
Thank jacquihobson
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

What a lovely review and thank you so much. Lynn is such an asset to the business and is of course over the moon as a result of your super kind comments The Courtlands is a traditional hotel and will not therefore be for everyone as we aim to offer something different. As we always maintain it is about the... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

Arrived in Brighton for a day out ....parked up and decided to make a full day of it and book an overnight stay .... Booking . Com ...got the room for 75 quid no brekkie ... Our room 221 seemed to be next door to some kind of boiler room ...constant droning noise and it was stifling hot . Alas... More 

Helpful?
Thank alan c
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

Something of a mixed review though we were glad this guest appreciated the value for money the Courtlands provides, allied to the major advantage of a large and state of the art car park in central Hove Clearly this guest's stay coincided with some unseasonally hot and sultry weather which whilst good during the day can make for a less... More 

Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

We arrived to friendly staff, a male, however another female member of staff joined who was not so friendly. The parking was ridiculous expensive, 10 pound! And the hotel was very old and in need of renovation in our room especially which had holes in the wall, missing light shade and even a cracked tile in the bathroom. We wouldn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gracestucker
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

This review is ridiculous I'm afraid. Parking is not a right, especially in Brighton and Hove and given the car park has very recently been fully refurbished, this makes the £10 tariff even more reasonable. With respect we would suggest these guests research what else is available in the city to see the value provided here. In any event no... More 

Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2016

My wife and I had 3 nights here while we were attending the Brighton Mod Weekend. I selected this hotel as it had a car park (not many in Brighton have) but I was a little concerned about some of the reviews I had read on here before I booked. As a result I specifically asked the hotel to reserve... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gary1951_13
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

Well what a super review and a great reason to visit Brighton In thanking you heartily for your kind words we also appreciate your feedback - especially surrounding the TV and we will have our maintenance team undertake some fine tuning. As you may have noticed the car park has recently been refurbished and really is rather lovely as a... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2016

I have been to this hotel a few times and so recommended it to my Mum who took wanted to take two of her grandchildren away. They had such a lovely time. It is a nice walk and not too far from the beach. Location wise it is perfect. The staff were really nice and very helpful. My Mum agreed... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for this super review; we value greatly your loyal customer and were delighted to welcome your mother to the Courtlands along with the little ones The hotel relies on and relishes the support of returning guests such as yourself, for their can be no higher honour. Needless to say we are very much looking forward to your next... More 

Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

Visited this hotel with my boyfriend. On arrival, the outside of the building looked quite nice and the reception area was clean and respectable. The receptionist was very friendly and efficient. We were allocated a room on the 3rd floor as I had requested the top floor. When we emerged from the lift the carpet in the corridor was very... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank coralreef59
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

In thanking you for visiting us from Hertfordshire we were pleased overall that your stay hit the right notes. However there were some areas which you felt detracted from your overall experience and we appreciate your feedback here The Courtlands history spans three centuries and as such there is an ongoing program of works - both in terms of general... More 

Arnhem, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

It was nothing like the photos on the website, room was small and very dull and dated. Had no charm whatsoever. The shower didn't work at all and the bathroom was moldy and had that interesting typical English feature of two faucets in the sink: one hot and one cold. I am very disappointed to say the least. It's overpriced... More 

Helpful?
Thank cdijkman
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

There is an extensive range of photos on the well known travel agent website this guest booked through, encompassing the different rooms at the Courtlands From the way the review is written it seems the guest was perhaps looking for a more standardised offering in the manner of one of the larger chains than a traditional English seaside hotel, which... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

Very expensive £142 per night. I have never stayed in a hotel this run down in my life. Not worth the money. I had family staying in the next room to me who were very noisy and also room was run down, paint peeling off from the bath and doors. Next day the staff did give me another room which... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Tahir-Kashmiri
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

It is unlikely that this guest - who was in attendance at an important conference event - paid the bill themselves so it is not really their place to comment; furthermore, as best as we can tell, the staff made strenuous efforts to find a good alternative to the initial room allocation - seemingly and sadly this was not enough... More 

71 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brighton
0.3 km away
Langfords Hotel
Langfords Hotel
#33 of 44 in Brighton
418 reviews
0.5 km away
Imperial
Imperial
#28 of 44 in Brighton
508 reviews
1.4 km away
West Beach Hotel
West Beach Hotel
#34 of 44 in Brighton
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#24 of 44 in Brighton
1,395 reviews
1.4 km away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#30 of 44 in Brighton
199 reviews
1.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Princes Marine Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
More than a hotel; The Courtlands is an iconic piece of Hove's history, stretched contentedly along a prestigious tree-lined avenue within a short walk of the famous promenade and shingle seafront. Quietly grand by nature, this is understated splendour and restful style, with friendly and professional service. We offer comfortable accommodation with style; each of our sixty-three en suite rooms are different – some traditional, with an eclectic mix of beautiful and authentic antique furniture, some contemporary with chic and minimal style – whether old or new, each room has complimentary wifi... ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Courtlands Hotel

Address: 19-27 The Drive, Brighton BN3 3JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range: €63 - €199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Courtlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Courtlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtlands Hotel Brighton
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Courtlands Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Courtlands Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure you view room first and also accessibility. Despite lifts, many rooms involve stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles mbrycestafford, 31 May 2016 | Read review
“Choose another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 959sarahg, 7 May 2016 | Read review
“Can only say 114 OK.”
 of 5 bubbles 143davidh, 6 May 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are pretty quiet as your not too close to the night life”
 of 5 bubbles baby_todge, 4 May 2016 | Read review
“We were on the third floor if was fine, On easter Monday the biker club were leaving so a little bike noise but did not bother us.”
 of 5 bubbles trevorj650, 3 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay