We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Courtlands Hotel

Traveller (92)
Room & Suite (44)
Dining (3)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
More than a hotel; The Courtlands is an iconic piece of Hove's history, stretched contentedly along a prestigious tree-lined avenue within a short walk of the famous promenade and shingle seafront. Quietly grand by nature, this is understated splendour and restful style, with friendly and professional service. We offer comfortable accommodation with style; each of our sixty-three en suite rooms are different – some traditional, with an eclectic mix of beautiful and authentic antique furniture, some contemporary with chic and minimal style – whether old or new, each room has complimentary wifi...
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Banquet Room
Dry Cleaning
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
84Good for walkers
Grade: 84 out of 100
81Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
7Attractionswithin 0.5 km
493Reviews
103Photos
3Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 69
  • 140
  • 119
  • 78
  • 87
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
+7
It must be quite hard to maintain a building of this age and size and keep the prices competitive with the area. This place just about manages to do this. Parking in Brighton and Hove is quite difficult and also very expensive with some hotels charging over £20 a night. The
Read more
Response from SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much for this review and for coming back to the hotel; your kind and thoughtful remarks are all the more special given your status with TripAdvisor - that is heading towards 1000 reviews. Fantastic Your feedback will help us improve and whilst the trees are a lovely feature when in full leaf, of course they are, by equal measure, a natural habitat for our feathered friends Hopefully we can see you again before too long and meanwhile, renewed thanks
Read more
When we looked out the window we were horrified please see pictures. Very upset with customer service asked for a refund or reduction were told NO said its 152.00 because it sat night! And it was a take it or leave it attitude left us with no option but to stay no apology.
Read more
Response from SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel
Responded 1 Oct 2018
Naturally we were very sorry to read this review. Clearly your stay did not hit all the right notes but with no proper details of your room etc we are left with the hope of reaching out to you through the good offices of TripAdvisor We should however make it clear that hotels operate in a transparent and competitive marketplace where pricing is highly dynamic and sensitive to fluctuation in demand. It is also fair to say we know of no hotel in the City which provides "free" parking with most tariffs much higher than the amount to which you refer
Read more
When you first arrive at the hotel it looks dated and tired from the outside, the inside is the same. The room was reasonably clean but again needs a makeover. Speaking to the staff everything seems to be an extra. They charge you £10.00 per night to park your car in the car
Read more
Response from SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel
Responded 29 Aug 2018
We were disheartened to read this somewhat down at heel review but surely it is for a prospective guest to decide what may or may not represent value for money? To be clear hotels operate in a highly transparent and competitive marketplace where pricing is truly dynamic and sensitive to fluctuations in demand In Brighton, with parking at such a premium we know of no other hotel which does not charge, with our tariff - for guests choosing to book through an online travel agent - one of the lowest. At no point would it have stated parking was inclusive
Read more
My first room was had a horrible looking carpet, a terrible mattress and a bare light bulb hanging from the undecorated ceiling. I was offered two alternatives but was moved from the one I chose. The FOURTH one, which I had, was clean and newly decorated. BUT the main point
Read more
Response from SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel
Responded 19 Aug 2018
We were disheartened by this review; it would appear that the reception team bent over backwards to find you the right room which you have been kind enough to highlight. Positively, the hotel is the subject on ongoing investment and we are proud of the Courtlands long heritage and commanding position along The Drive
Read more
I had yet another lovely stay at this hotel. This time with my Mum and young son. I find it is the perfect location and has a lovely quirky feel to it. The room we stayed in was lovely. Lots of original Victorian features. I very much look forward to my next visit.
Read more
Response from SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel
Responded 17 Aug 2018
Thank you for this delightful review. So pleased for you and your family and having you as loyal and lovely guests
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & Beach
More dust
Dust
Dust
Nice old fittings
PreviousNext
1234569
we cant remember if the bed was two singles joined together, as a lot of places do that! I would suggest you contact the hotel. steve and silva
0 votes
Show all answers
Hello, I would like to know if parking is free to stay in your hotel?
The cost is £10. Thanks for your question
0 votes
Show all answers
"Views from the rooms are none existent."
"Don't expect too much from this shabby hotel."
"Street facing rooms are probably best."
"Rooms st the rear are quieter but an awful outlook!"
"Rooms not facing the street have pigeons waking you up"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$62 - US$210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
courtlands hotel brighton
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBrighton and HoveBrighton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
60
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing