We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,621 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,527: English reviews
Leigh, Greater Manchester
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

The rooms are nice and the food very good, but the thing that really lifted this place above many other hitters was the quality of the staff. Everyone I encountered during my stay was friendly and helpful, and nothing was ever too much trouble for anyone. I would certainly go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leigh_guy
Exeter
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

First impression is the internal\external building is tired, and new fixtures, fittings, and modernisation would greatly enhance the gorgeous original decor. The night we stayed the key cards for all the rooms was broken and everyone had to be shuttled about by staff to gain entry, this caused a bit of reception congestion. Whilst waiting you could if your ear...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Realryan
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank for your comments on your recent stay and I apologise we did not meet your expectations in some areas. Unfortunately we did have an issue with our key card machine and whilst out of action we had staff taking guests to bedrooms. The accessible room is part of our bedroom stock and is dual purpose and can be used...

Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

This was a really pleasant hotel to stay in. We had a few issues (not the fault of the hotel) booking in, which were resolved swiftly & efficiently & the receptionist was clearly doing everything he could to help us, despite it being a third parties mistake. Our room faced the seafront with stunning views over to the west pier,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment on your stay and I pleased that you would recommend the hotel and look forward to you returning in the future. Iain Lindsay General Manager

A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2016

Has to be the worst Accor hotel, we have stayed in, dirty rooms, dirty chairs and tables in restaurant, food poor quality, and our room, although upgraded, was something out of the dark ages, Windows, would not open due to broken mechanism, wallpaper hanging off, looked like the hotel carpets had not been cleaned in many a year.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review

I apologies we did not meet your expectation and I cannot identify the room you stayed in as this feedback is anonymous. Having checked though our guest care records on around the date this was posted and cannot see any similar comments during your stay. Iain Lindsay General Manager

Manchester
Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed here a couple days mid last week. The hotel was very busy. The staff where all very pleasant and polite. They went out of their way to assist and made out stay a memorable one. The food was of a good standard. We ate in the restaurant and bar ( the restaurant has fantastic sea views) breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bizey
Malvern, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

We have just come back from a two night stay in this hotel and although the staff were friendly and room clean and comfortable, we were disappointed as this was not a four star hotel even though they charged as though they were. The window in our room was filthy as were the ones in the restaurant when you wanted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SueyPrior
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I was disappointed we did not meet your expectations. Our pricing is based on supply and demand and I apologise you di not feel you got value for money. Iain Lindsay General Manager

Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

Firstly, read the negative reviews and you will quickly notice that it's nothing to be worried about. The hotel is great, brilliant friendly staff and they will go above and beyond to help you. They upgraded our room cause we had a baby, gave us a cot and blanket. We're usually travelodge people and stick to it, but this was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jake M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 July 2016

Vastly overpriced, shabby and very poor service. The rooms were poky, old fashioned, shabby and poorly furnished. The service in the bar and restaurant were pretty bad, seemed like the staff couldn't cope with the relatively few people at breakfast. £249 for a double room is outrageous. Dirty trays with leftover food left on the steps for the fire exit....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mea263
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments which are being looked into and I apologise we did not meet your expectation. The hotel has started a refurbishment with all 52 rooms in the Mews area having been completed. Further investment will follow. Iain Lindsay General Manager

Reviewed 9 July 2016

this hotel is described as a 1st class 4* on their website! I'm not sure how? I know there will be different types of room in all hotels etc, but would expect at the very least slippers and robe! indeed there is no swimming pool, which I thought was necessary to be allocated 4*'s? there were 4 of us in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you your comments and I apologise we did not meet your expectations. One of your group was given a complimentary upgrade unfortunately we did not have enough Privilege rooms available to give all a complimentary upgrade. We do not advertise leisure facilities and it is not a four star standard to offer these. I am sorry to read you...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 July 2016

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank neiltilley
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review

363 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (329)
Viewed
Room/Suite (78)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (138)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0.5 km away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
1.0 km away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#15 of 44 in Brighton
1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
1.1 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
1.5 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Location doesn't come much better than this, right on Brighton seafront with fantastic views of the beach and out to sea. Close to the Brighton Centre and the town centre this elegant Regency style hotel is perfectly situated for business and leisure guests. Each of the 116 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high-speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press as well as tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel has limited parking on site and this is charged at £25.00 Per car overnight and is payable at check in. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel

Address: 149 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range: €71 - €241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Brighton
Brighton Ramada
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
21 days ago
Brighton, United Kingdom
Liverpool, United Kingdom
7 months ago
London
7 months ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It's worth paying a little extra for a sea view or balcony room”
 of 5 bubbles X723MRtomg, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Nothing on floor 4!!!”
  • Dried on pee on toilet seat on entering room!!
  • Broken bed
  • Stains on walls
  • Stains on chair
  • Stains all over suitcase holder
  • Organic matter stuck to skirting
 of 5 bubbles 693adaml, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Higher floor is good as you can leave your window open and not be affected by the street noise”
 of 5 bubbles keatsandshelly, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If on voucher deal, likely to be basic rooms at back or side of property.”
 of 5 bubbles flatiron2009, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Find another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles BRUSHWOOD, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5