We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Old Palace Guest House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Old Palace Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

133 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Old Palace Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 122: English reviews
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 April 2016

My two friends and I stayed here in downstairs triple for two nights.It had lovely fresh sheets and comfy bed.It wasn't at all noisy!property is dated but we could not fault the staff Noemi, Borja,Bayse,,Sara and Metin who took care of our needs and all with a smile!breakfast was scrummy too!Ideal location so will definitely be back

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jean K
Reviewed 24 February 2016

Myself and 2 friends stayed here for the weekend. We were in the first room by the front door. We must of had a better experience than the previous reviewer as we didn't find it particularly noisy and didn't feel any drafts. The beds were really comfy. Staff were really friendly very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. We...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tina R
Reviewed 17 January 2016 via mobile

The Guest House was well priced and in a good location. We just found it very loud at night. We were by the front door, therefore it was very cold , as there was a constant draft, and very loud, as you could hear people talking outside our room at night. There was also an odd dripping noise coming from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 December 2015 via mobile

This place is a dirty dive more like a hostel than a b and b. Tiny bathroom and worn out furniture. Stains on the bed.the breakfast was served next door and was very poor quality. Please don't stay in this dump

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank 629robert
oldpalace a, Manager at Old Palace Guest House, responded to this review

I dont know if you have stayed in this guest house or somewhere else but you are so harsh with your review i couldn't believe what i read and my staff told me we didnt have any complain. I can assure you we are one of the cleanest guest houses in Brighton. We have a decent guest house with lovely...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2015

When being taken to my room in which I was sharing with my partner, it was clean, all looked ok and the mattress was comfy. So we then headed out for the day, coming back to no hot water, we waited until the morning and still it had not been sorted. They said they were sorting it and to give...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank summer11x
Reviewed 11 September 2015 via mobile

The staff was friendly and even helped us to carry our heavy luggages to our room. The room was quite big but the toilet was quite small and sometimes there was no hot water at all, so we had to shower using cold water. Even so, there was free breakfast everyday so it was a good thing. On top of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SharonTMY
St. Albans Hertfordshire
Reviewed 17 August 2015

they are gonna get this taken down so they look good so please read asap the room was tiny the shower had dirt in the bottom there was stains on the floor if you was on the larger size you would have no hope of the showers as they were really tiny a child would manage it fine the view...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank U8938BOdanielh
oldpalace a, Manager at Old Palace Guest House, responded to this review

hi there i hope this response finds you .im answering you for my other lovely customers who really deserve to know the truth. you checked in on sunday we took you to your room showed everything and you were okey with it. and you went out came back and you were so unhappy with eachother so you didnt want to...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2015

Stayed at the Old Palace Guest House for two nights and we were very happy upon arrival. The staff were very friendly and our room was perfect. We had a view of the Brighton Wheel and the sea from our window. The room was spacious and clean and in the perfect location when it comes to going to the Sea...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Vicky W
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed overnight on a quick visit to Brighton and paid £70 for bed and breakfast for three. Rooms spotlessly clean and hosts could not be any nicer. They really go beyond the call of duty to please their guests. Only downside is parking meters everywhere and we had to park the car a walk away from the room. Well worth...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Fiona M
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 June 2015

Spent a long weekend here to celebrate my birthday. This year I wanted something closer to the main areas and found a good deal at this B&B so decided to try it out. After reading some the the reviews I was unsure what to expect, however. We found the staff very accommodating and they seemed quite keen to make sure...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank medway808

24 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 km away
Istanbul EV Guest House
Istanbul EV Guest House
#67 of 97 in Brighton
80 reviews
0.0 km away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#41 of 97 in Brighton
135 reviews
0.2 km away
Strawberry Fields
Strawberry Fields
#27 of 97 in Brighton
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
One Broad Street Guesthouse
0.3 km away
Westbourne Hotel
Westbourne Hotel
#47 of 97 in Brighton
121 reviews
0.0 km away
The Kelvin
The Kelvin
#54 of 97 in Brighton
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Old Palace Guest House

Address: 7 Madeira Place, Brighton BN2 1TN, England (Formerly Budgies Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range: €71 - €145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Palace Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Palace Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budgies Guest House Hotel Brighton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Old Palace Guest House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Old Palace Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just do not book here”
, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“2 triples, one on ground floor but probably more noisy!”
serena99, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“No lift so if you have trouble with stairs ask for the ground floor when booking.”
216iwant, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I stayed on fourth floor facing front. Sideways view of ocean and ferris wheel. Bay window. very small bathroom.”
Fornowsky, 25 May 2015 | Read review
“Narrow staircase made it difficult to carry bulky luggage, however, the host helped us. Sash windows rattled at night.”
tracieo129, 2 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5