We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Danesfort Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Danesfort Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

32 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 32: English reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights, myself & wife, at the time of booking all that were available was a twin room, it wasn't cheap so we did expect a 'reasonable standard' for our stay... This expectation wasn't met unfortunately, upon entrance into room we were met with what can only be described as 'dingy' Yes, there were 2 beds, being...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darren R
Hilary A, Owner at Danesfort Guest House, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us , working in the service industry surely the first thing you would do would be to address these issues at the time with us , to reply to a few of your comments - the sliding door to the bathroom would have been easily fixed if...

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Found this guesthouse by accident but so pleased I did. The owners are very friendly and helpful, breakfasts to set you up for the day and the room I had was spotless and well equipped. Free car parking right outside too. The only downsides are that the water pressure on the upper rooms can drop mid way through a shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
Warwickshire
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights and it was so lovely. The location is perfect and we were able to park the car and leave it and not have to worry. The owners were great, really helpful and friendly. Breakfast was perfect and all was freshly made. I will definitely return here. Thank you

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lollypop73
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 March 2016

My stay here was mainly for sleeping as my coach group were staying at another guest house down the road, and i had my meals with them. But as I said I stayed at this guest house, My room was en-suite very nice with a very comfortable large bed, beverages were included and the owners Mark & Hilary Anderson were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikeb7r
Hilary A, Owner at Danesfort Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Mark and Hilary.

london
Reviewed 21 October 2015

We stayed here for two nights during the Swanage Blues Festival and loved it. The room was clean with a very comfy bed, towels, a hospitality tea tray and free wi fi. Breakfast is great with a choice of cereals and croissants and then you can have a wonderful freshly cooked breakfast. There is even an honesty bar so if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LondonNefertiti
Hilary A, Owner at Danesfort Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Mark and Hilary.

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2015

We stayed as a family of 4 on the top floor. We could not had asked for any more. This was just a perfect stay for me and my wife and our baby and daughter also loved it. We basically had an apartment. Location and facilities are spot on. We will be back that's a promise

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pete Kat and li... j
Hilary A, Owner at Danesfort Guest House, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us in our top floor room, it is perfect for families! Thank you for taking the time to leave such lovely comments. Hope to see you soon! Mark and Hilary.

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 October 2015

Stayed here with three friends whilst doing the SW Coast Path. Whilst only there for a few hours overall had a good stay. The room was large, clean, comfortable and tidy, the breakfast was good with a good selection of options and the hosts were welcoming and helpful - from the time i booked a few weeks beforehand to when...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MattLodge
Hilary A, Owner at Danesfort Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon! Mark and Hilary.

sussex england
Reviewed 13 September 2015

Just back from a three night stay & can't fault it. Don't know what Luke H is talking about! The hosts are lovely, the room we had was bright, clean & the beds comfortable. The breakfasts couldn't have been bettered, good choice of cereal, fruit, yogurt, fruit juices etc & a good plate of full English plus toast plus tea...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathySussexEngland
Hilary A, Owner at Danesfort Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments, we aim to offer a good selection of continental and cooked breakfast options, we are glad you enjoyed it! We agree, the walk along the bay is great especially on a sunny day! 10 mins out of town is just enough to get away from the crowds but still close to the beach. We...

Cornwall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2015 via mobile

The Danesfort was a lovely place to stay for our week away! Very welcoming, from arrival until we left. The food was lovely and we felt right at home! I would definitely recommend, and will be coming back to stay next year. One of the better b&bs I have stayed in! Thank you very much for a pleasant stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JLRob114
Hilary A, Owner at Danesfort Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments, we are very happy to hear you felt at home here. Hope to see you again this year! Mark and Hilary.

Reviewed 3 September 2015

clearly prices in Swanage are not cheap but even so, we left with a poor impression. The people were lovely for sure but the breakfast was basic at best, not so much as a bottle of water in the room, and the whole house had an odour that was unpleasant.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Luke H
Hilary A, Owner at Danesfort Guest House, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you left with a poor impression, had we known before you left we may have been able to rectify any problems you had. We feel that we offer a good selection of breakfast options (a choice of cooked breakfasts, fruit, cereal, yoghurt, fruit juice and pastries and croissants) I am not sure what else...

7 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swanage hotels
1.2 km away
Millbrook Guest House
Millbrook Guest House
#4 of 55 in Swanage
295 reviews
0.0 km away
The Castleton
The Castleton
#16 of 55 in Swanage
263 reviews
1.1 km away
A Great Escape Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Arbour House Bed & Breakfast
0.2 km away
The Swanage Haven
The Swanage Haven
#1 of 55 in Swanage
579 reviews
0.0 km away
Sandhaven Guest House
Sandhaven Guest House
#15 of 55 in Swanage
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Danesfort is situated just 100 yards from Swanage's sandy beach and just a short stroll from the town centre. We are a family run guest house, offering traditional bed and breakfast, with good quality en suite accomodation and evening meals by arrangement.What we can offer you - Great location near all amenities - pubs, restaurants, bars, shops and the beach. Licensed premises. Private car parking. Nine en-suite rooms - doubles, twins and a single. Family suite with interconnecting rooms. Flat screen digital TV and radio in room. Free Wifi access. Tea and coffee making facilities ... more   less 

Additional Information about Danesfort Guest House

Address: 3 Highcliffe Road, Swanage BH19 1LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Price Range: €90 - €101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Danesfort Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Danesfort Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danesfort Guest House Swanage, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Danesfort Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are clean and comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles meiriond, 18 Sep 2014 | Read review
“We were given a room adjoining a double where my parents stayed so we were separate from the rest of the hotel. Great for families.”
 of 5 bubbles georgina6789, 20 Aug 2014 | Read review
2 of 2
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay