We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Half Moon Inn

Overview
Half Moon Street, Sherborne DT9 3LN England See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
3 Star accommodation
About
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
13
Price range
US$62 - US$100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Half Moon Hotel Sherborne
Location
United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 3 nearby hotels
The Eastbury Hotel
760 reviews
.37 km away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
608 reviews
2.60 km away
Terrace Lodge Hotel Yeovil
182 reviews
7.69 km away
Premier Inn Yeovil Town Centre Hotel
491 reviews
7.70 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 59 nearby restaurants
Digby Tap
188 reviews
.13 km away
Abbey Friar
102 reviews
.12 km away
Tamburino Gold
650 reviews
.07 km away
Oliver's Coffee House
277 reviews
.35 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 23 nearby attractions
Sherborne Abbey
638 reviews
.06 km away
Sherborne Castle
461 reviews
.61 km away
Sherborne Old Castle
175 reviews
.62 km away
Sherborne Museum
67 reviews
.04 km away
Reviews & more
282Reviews
37Photos
1Q+A
65Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 68
  • 97
  • 61
  • 32
  • 24
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
We spent one night at the Half Moon Inn whilst attending a craft fair nearby. We had a room on the second floor facing the Abbey (no.14) & it was comfortable & had everything we needed, including a kettle & complimentary tea & coffee. We didn’t experience any nouse either from th
Read more
Response from Kerry H, General Manager at Half Moon Inn
Responded 4 days ago
Hi Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us positive feedback. Hope to see you again Kind regards Kerry
Read more
We came for a family meal whilst staying locally. There was a wide menu and the service was excellent. We had a toddler with us and the young man serving us was very thoughtful about how to provide appropriate bowls and cutlery for our little one.
Read more
Response from Kerry H, General Manager at Half Moon Inn
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Thank you so much for you lovely feedback! Kind regards Kerry Hansford
Read more
Wanted a quick pub lunch. Bar understaffed by a willing but time pressured chap. Ordered two soups which were chased after 15 mins, and again after another 5. When it arrived it was a tiny, congealed, albeit warm, puddle of tinned soup. Had run out of time so left before finishin
Read more
Response from Kerry H, General Manager at Half Moon Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi I'm sorry to hear that you weren't happy with your visit with us on Monday. Had you spoken to a member of the team at the time of your visit, this would have been dealt with immediately either by a replacement meal or by a refund as we wouldn't expect you to pay for meal that wasn't satisfactory. We staff our business according to business needs and so in order to rota effectively we have to look at what an "average" day looks like, there are occasions, like at the time of your visit, where we are busier than normal, Monday generally being the quietest day of our week, that said, 15 - 20 minutes is an average time for food to arrive from ordering, I appreciate that you had ordered soup, but there was in fact 7 tables that had ordered before you. I'm more than happy to discuss this with you further, and in person, if you would like to give me a call on 01935 812017 Kind regards Kerry
Read more
We were a little put off on arrival to see the 'doorway smoking brigade' but having parked the car in the private car park( make sure you tell the reception your reg number or a £100 parking ticket follows in post) we entered by a side door to a rather poor reception area. Howeve
Read more
Response from Kerry H, General Manager at Half Moon Inn
Responded 13 Sep 2018
Hi Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback, its always good to read constructive feedback, it helps us work on the negatives and continue with the positives Kind regards Kerry Hansford
Read more
I live a distance away from Sherborne and chose this pub from the internet for lunch to meet up with family who are fussy eaters or vegetarian.I was very pleasantly surprised by the extensive menu and quality of the food.Very reasonably priced and we all enjoyed our meals.Good se
Read more
Response from Kerry H, General Manager at Half Moon Inn
Responded 30 Aug 2018
Hi Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback for us, its always a boost to hear when we are getting it right!! Kind regards Kerry Hansford
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
Room 1
Coffee mug before we had even used it
Filthy windows
Black mould
Limescale and mould
Previous
Hi Can we book breakfast for Sunday 31st July at around 0900? early enough for me to catch the 1035 train anyhow?
Sorry, we were only there for an evening meal and drinks. Not very helpful😢. Good luck.
-1 votes
"Did not stay here only had a lunchtime meal"
"room noisy overlooking front of hotel"
"At another hotel or as high as possible."
"You must remeber that the accommodation is above a pub and noise from customers, should be expected."
"Try the second floor"
Previous
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing