We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (32)
Dining (19)
Room & Suite (5)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good25%
  • Average12%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“sunday carvery”(21 reviews)
“the pub”(55 reviews)
“evening meal”(16 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Pets Allowed
Wheelchair Access
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (432)
There are newer reviews for The Fox Inn
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
431 results
Traveller rating
204
108
52
34
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
204
108
52
34
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunday carverythe pubevening mealpienew managementvenisongarden roomlovely mealyorkshire puddingfunction roomwet roomsuperior roomdorset countrysidewarm welcomelovely placeone night staycomfy bed
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 431 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

We took my parents out for a pub lunch and ended up here as the other two local pubs were either closed or not very inviting, we had a warm welcome by Elaine and picked a table next to fire as it was a chilly...More

1  Thank andrew d
Response from PBurw29, Manager at The Fox InnResponded 20 January 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you for your marvellous comments, we are so glad you had a great experience with us and are looking forward to seeing you again! From Lauren and Elaine

Reviewed 8 November 2017

A few weeks ago, I visited the Fox (a ‘trip down memory lane’) with a friend for lunch. We had to send back the soup as it was inedible –watery liquid separated - and floating fat. Horrible lack of taste and disgusting texture. This item...More

3  Thank Forty F
Response from PBurw29, Manager at The Fox InnResponded 20 January 2018

Dear Guest, Thankyou for making the time to give us your feedback! We are very sorry that your expectations weren't met on this occasion, however we feel that some of the comments you made were a little unfair. In regards to the soup with "floating...More

Reviewed 3 November 2017

Hadn't been to the Fox for a while so not aware that it no longer functions as a pub. Nice chap on the bar but when the last of our party of 5 arrived at 10pm she was told they were actually closed. She was...More

Thank Deborah S
Response from The Fox Inn A, Manager at The Fox InnResponded 9 February 2018

Dear Deborah, thank you for taking the time to review us. We apologise for your disappointment however it must be considered that we are in fact a country pub and during the quiet winter months we will sometimes close up around 10pm. Also note that...More

Reviewed 1 November 2017

Booked a short break for me and my dog and it was perfect. Friendly atmosphere, helpful staff and good food. A great location to explore the area and a comfortable place to go back to after a long days walking.

Thank katecraker
Response from PBurw29, Manager at The Fox InnResponded 20 January 2018

Dear Kate, We are glad you and your dog enjoyed your stay with us! The walks around here are extensive so well done for executing a few!

Reviewed 31 October 2017

Booked this only the night before as we needed to blow some cobwebs away - the weather looked promising and the sea always calls us. We needed to bring our two large dogs which was no problem - the room was spacious, clean and comfortable...More

Thank Gillsplace
Response from PBurw29, Manager at The Fox InnResponded 20 January 2018

Dear Guest, Your lovely comments are well appreciated, thank you for taking the time for review us! Dogs are always welcome with us (as long as they bring their humans!) no matter the size or shape :) We hope to see you again. From The...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Dorchester
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free Internet
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$69 - US$141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$69 - US$141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (32)
Dining (19)
Room & Suite (5)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Fox Inn staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Rooms are big and comfy."
Read review
"If you dislike dogs, no way you can get away from them. Dog smell in areas leading to bedrooms. very thin..."
Read review
"Rooms 5 and 6 were quiet"
Read review
"Room 7 was a generous size with king bed and a good place for the dogs to settle. Shower but no bath which..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing