We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Chelsea Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Chelsea Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

164 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 161: English reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

On arrival we were told we had to pay a refundable 20 quid deposit in quite an abrupt manor which it then took us 45 minutes to wait for a parking space to become available. The room was very small and hadn't been hoovered for I don't know how long. There was a guy in the room next to us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jess14tom
ChrissyBeere, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

I don't mind people putting a review about the Hotel if what they write is all true, in this case only halve is true. this couple came late at night and asked about parking, I said "you can have one of our permits to park on the road in front of the Hotel but we have to take a refundable...

Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

I stayed at The Chelsea Hotel in May 2015. I was in a three bed bedroom, with my disabled mother. Due to current living circumstances we were placed in the care of Chrissie. We stayed at the hotel for a week, but were soon moved as it was insufficient to our needs. The area is not the nicest most wholesome...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MikaylaClements
Kettering, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

Came here on a hen do with 20 girls, we'd pre booked rooms and had allocated to people who new each other, on arrival she told us she'd sold out our rooms twice and now we've been all squashed together in half the amount of rooms we booked the rooms were tiny tiny and so claustrophobic !!! 6 people to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Beth C
BeereA, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review but you haven't quite told the truth. I DID NOT say at all that your rooms were sold and I had to squash in into a tiny rooms. You came through an agency who charge you more for the rooms than I do if you had come direct. Room allocations are not done until the...

West Sussex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Friendly hotel, clean. I stayed at this hotel twice, but have to say preferred the second stay as it was a different room. The room at the top of the building I didn't enjoy , due to its size and having to leave the room to go to a bathroom, even though it was for my sole use. But all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BeachQueenoftheocean
BeereA, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review.

Reviewed 11 August 2016

Just stopped one night as was visiting friends as a swift stay before my onward destination. This place had the triple C....clean, comfortable and convenient! Being a previous resident of Bournemouth I know the hotel is 5mins walk to Eastcliff and sea views, same distance to the train/bus station and merely steps into town. The owner/staff were very welcoming and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lea M
BeereA, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review

Reviewed 8 August 2016

I should start by saying, in the interest of fairness, that this hotel is close to the station and that is where the compliments end. Almost everything else that the hotel claims on its website, based on the experience myself and my friends had this weekend, is utterly untrue. To highlight two passages in particular: 1) Chelsea Hotel welcomes large...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joshua P
BeereA, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

Well you did tell me that you were going to put in a very bad review. Now let me tell my side of the story. My housekeeper who was on duty, called me to the Reception desk which is downstairs in the basement where the bar and the breakfasts are served, as soon as she came in, A couple were...

london
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Lovely place we were made very welcome as soon as we got there rooms are very clean tea and coffee facility's in room flat screen TVs was very comftable people very friendly couldn't do enough for us I'm hoping to go back in August if not fully booked have a bar there I will definatly go back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank teddy22london
BeereA, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words.

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

What a weekend. Thank you for accommodating us all. We had 6 rooms ensuite, good room sizes and bar on site. Staff/owner very helpful and polite. Would definitely recommend for anyone looking for value accommodation in Bournemouth area. We where down on my stag weekend, but would happily stay again for other occasions.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ltbatey
BeereA, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 June 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for one night whilst in Bournemouth on business. I chose it for the £35 rate and central location (it's very close to the train station). As I would be at an evening meeting and gone by 7.30am, I really just needed a place to get my head down. This was on a Wednesday night. I arrived at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jess M
BeereA, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

The young girl in question was my granddaughter who is quicker than me at 66 years of age, these days to get to the intercom to let people in for me. The bell at the front door is not smashed in as you put it, but the strip that you put a name into was missing and has been for...

Reviewed 10 June 2016 via mobile

This hotel is the best one I stayed while staying in Bournemouth, I have stayed here more then once and will stay here as often as I can. The staff and owners are friendly and welcoming, I feel content and relaxed, the bed's are really comfortable, the shower and bathroom are very clean and work well. My last stay I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mick B
BeereA, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review we do try our best to accommodate you and your stay at the Chelsea Hotel.

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bournemouth
0.1 km away
Elstead Hotel
Elstead Hotel
#18 of 78 in Bournemouth
536 reviews
8.9 km away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
0.0 km away
Lea Hurst Hotel
Lea Hurst Hotel
#23 of 144 in Bournemouth
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Kantara Guest House
Kantara Guest House
#74 of 144 in Bournemouth
39 reviews
0.0 km away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#101 of 144 in Bournemouth
69 reviews
0.1 km away
The Ashleigh
The Ashleigh
#60 of 144 in Bournemouth
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Chelsea Hotel is ideally situated only a three minute walk from the Bournemouth train & coach station, and the bus stop, and eleven minutes to the cliff top with its fabulous views across the bay, the cliff lift and Zig Zag path to the famous nine miles of sandy beaches.All rooms are fresh and clean, and constantly upgrading. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chelsea Hotel

Address: 32 St. Swithuns Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range: €58 - €82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chelsea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Chelsea Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dont stay here!”
 of 5 bubbles GeorgeVeys, 16 Dec 2015 | Read review
“room one good size for groups”
 of 5 bubbles christopherrS7231YQ, 28 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Look for another hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles 18Phill79, 6 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Rooms at rear are quieter. Occasional passing traffic and pedestrians at front.”
 of 5 bubbles 595DaveH595, 8 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms are cooler in the summer.”
 of 5 bubbles debcoath, 9 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay