We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Commodore Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Commodore Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

139 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Commodore Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 137: English reviews
redhill, surrey
Reviewed 3 November 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night as a stopover with our 2 children. The family room was nice with a double bed with ensuite and a separate area with twin beds for the children. We also had a second toilet,which anyone with children will know is a blessing in itself! The room facilities whilst not being luxurious were perfectly adequate....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joanne p
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

We are so glad that you all enjoyed your stay with us last month and we thank you for writing us such a great review, Many thanks

Oxford
Reviewed 2 November 2015

We've just got back after spending a night here and have to echo what other people have said on here - good food, great location, but above all absolutely outstanding staff. I'd never normally choose a Greene King pub but the attitude of the staff outweighed any negatives. And this morning's breakfast, Eggs Royale (that's salmon and poached eggs in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bigmuppet
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on our Trip Advisor Kind regards

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 November 2015

This was our first visit to the Commodore although we know Bournemouth very well. The hotel is in a great position. Negatives...lift not working and we were on the top floor. Rooms very hot even with no heating. Parking a nightmare both nights we had to park away from the hotel in side streets not sure how the older residents...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nursecaz1
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting our site and leaving us a great review, Kind regards

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2015

A small olde english inns hotel on the cliffs overlooking the sea. The views were stunning, the food good and plentiful but the staff were amazing. Raquel couldnt have been more helpful, and Alex the waitress was great even when rushed. The lift was not working when we were here and we hadnt been advised of this when booking so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank exhoteliers
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and comments Kind regards

Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2015

Stayed for two nights and I know this hotel has just been refurbished but we had a good standard double room. It was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was was excellent and nothing was too much trouble. We ate at this hotel at the food was good. The portion size was enough for me but my husband would have liked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barnsleylass984
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us feedback Kind regards

Barnet, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2015

The Commodore is a pub/hotel on the sea front at Southbourne. It's an easy journey into Bournemouth-if you want some night life and a multitude of shops.But there's a lovely beach opposite The Commodore accessed by the Cliff lift. The hotel has recently been refurbished and many of the rooms are a lot better --however we were disappointed to see...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank douganhaze
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

A great review to read and a great room tip, Kind regards

Biggleswade
Reviewed 14 October 2015

We spent a two night break here. We have stayed here before, and were very pleasantly surprised with the refurbishment, makes such a difference, our room was very comfortable with a lovely sea view ,we stayed in room 12 would highly recommend it, all the staff are very friendly and welcoming, and the food was very good, we really enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane W
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your great review Kind regards

Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 October 2015

Booked this hotel for three-night stay with my wife to celebrate my birthday. We used Tesco vouchers to pay for most of the bill, which made it very cheap. I've heard that, with some hotels, people can experience less than satisfactory service when they use discount vouchers of this type, but this was not our experience at the Commodore. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John C
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Kind regards

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2015

Refurbed recently (late summer 2015), this as a pub/hotel and restaurant is to be recommended. We had Room 2, on 1st floor, corner position, therefore windows on two sides giving excellent light. Spacious room, with a nice addition of a comfortable armchair. Mattress was soft, we are used to firmer but this turned out to be very comfortable, I asked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 151Mike151
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Kind regards

Solo Mio Birmingham - Bhx.
Reviewed 19 September 2015

The Commodore Southbourne Bournemouth is a little way out of the town, which some people may find a drawback to staying in the resort, whilst others will find it a bonus. The biggest selling point must be it's location right on the cliff tops with nothing between it & the sea, giving stunning views of The I/O/Wight & The Purbecks....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Wouldyouadamandeveit
Greene King C, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave such good feedback, and some great advice for other guests wishing to stay with us. There are some really good tips for future guests looking to book with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.4 km away
The Strand Hotel
The Strand Hotel
#17 of 144 in Bournemouth
172 reviews
0.4 km away
Beach Lodge Guest House
Beach Lodge Guest House
#2 of 144 in Bournemouth
371 reviews
0.7 km away
Spyglass and Kettle
Spyglass and Kettle
#105 of 144 in Bournemouth
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Denewood Hotel
Denewood Hotel
#44 of 144 in Bournemouth
148 reviews
0.4 km away
Southern Breeze Lodge
Southern Breeze Lodge
#6 of 144 in Bournemouth
330 reviews
1.7 km away
The Rosscourt
The Rosscourt
#9 of 144 in Bournemouth
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Commodore Hotel Southbourne near Bournemouth is on the Dorset cliff tops at Southbourne adjacent to the cliff lifts and Fisherman's Walk with easy access from the A31 and A338. The spectacular views across Poole bay take in Swanage to the West and Hengistbury Head and the Isle of Wight to the East. The Commodores location, close to the New Forest, and Bournemouth town centre, makes it an ideal base from which to explore Hampshire and Dorset. The Commodore was built in 1928 and was originally called Crawford's Tea Rooms. In the war it was used to house serving American airmen. In the early 50's an extension was added and it became Crawford's Bar and Hotel. Not long after that, it became The Commodore Hotel. A very popular holiday location. There is limited car parking provided by the hotel but ample on-street car parking within a few minutes walk. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Commodore Hotel

Address: Southbourne Overcliff Drive | Southbourne, Bournemouth BH6 3TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range: €72 - €116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Commodore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Commodore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Commodore Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Commodore Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stairs are quite steep but there is a lift”
 of 5 bubbles ChelseaFive, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Sea view bedrooms overlook not just the sea but a busy main road directly in front.”
 of 5 bubbles ken271, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We always ask for a sea view, which is uninterrupted.”
 of 5 bubbles helenmcsherry, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“My room was lovely and clean and very cosy.All rooms looked very comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles jayneyp111, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Only use the restaurant”
 of 5 bubbles enidw2014, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5