We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Riviera Hotel

Traveller (357)
360
Panoramas (18)
Dining (31)
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Property amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free Internet
Breakfast included
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Quiet
HOTEL CLASS
Reviews & more
1,164Reviews
607Photos
53Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 225
  • 398
  • 242
  • 122
  • 177
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Another fab four day stay in between Xmas and the new year at the Riviera Hotel the staff ( Nikki ) was most helpful, the food is fantastic with the restaurant being well staffed and comfortable. We have stayed there several times have booked again for the same time this year if
Read more
What an act, you would think he was the real thing. Steve Parr made our holiday having been several times this year to the Riviera Hotel the tribute weekend Abba, Kylie and Neil Diamond in particular made for a great weekend break. Ok the hotel is being upgraded but l can
Read more
Went on a 4-day break and despite staying in one of the older rooms (406), which incidentally was clean with nice bath/shower and multi-channeled TV, enjoyed everything about my stay. The carvery style meals were of a very high standard with lots of variety, and the breakfast
Read more
Response from BPowis, Owner at Riviera Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your lovely review, it is great for the team to know what we do is appreciated and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again at the hotel.
Read more
Will never set foot back into this establishment EVER again. The receptionist is rude and extremely unhelpful. If you do not know the local area and can hardly speak English properly and would rather talk to other colleagues out the back than paying customers!!! 😡 then maybe
Read more
Response from BPowis, Owner at Riviera Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
I am sorry that you were upset by one of our Receptionists, but assuming this was one exchange that you were not happy about, in what I am assuming was a 3 or 4 day stay, this resulted in you putting on a very negative review specifically to make your point. Interestingly, you also reviewed 3 other places in Torquay, and for all of them you slated them and gave them a 1 Star, perhaps your expectations were a little unreasonable, maybe you were having a bad week or presumably it might just be that you totally dislike Torquay. Either way you completely ignored any of the other good bits about the hotel and your stay and also made one quite pointed and what some might consider a little bit rude comment that the hotel needs updating and for ‘management to sort it out’. As you will see from my other responses we are doing that, having invested £1million over the last 18 months but there is still a long way to go, and most guests have some appreciation of the task ahead of us. We generally get very positive comments about our staff as can be seen by our other reviews. We would like to investigate, but you haven't given us a lot to go on. I am assuming you did stay at the hotel rather than just visited, do you know which Receptionist it was, as we have two non British staff on Reception, one Brazilian and one Lithuanian, both have almost perfect English, although both have mild 'foreign' accents. Was the issue just that she didn't know much about the local area or was she rude to you. If you would be good enough to email us with more details, for the attention of our General Manager, we will look in to it further - email is stay@rivieratorquay.co.uk. Finally to respond to your comment about 'why we employ so many foreigners...', we employ the best staff we can recruit for the position, otherwise we would be racist and discriminatory, we have a lot of both British and non British staff who we value equally. Perhaps however, like many other hotels in the UK, it appears we have more non British staff because many of our European neighbours have a better work ethic and subsequently stay with us for longer. I hope you find a more suitable hotel if and when you next visit Torquay, although I think, from the fact that you disliked all the other places you visited in Torquay, an area we and both other locals and visitors love, you might be better visiting somewhere else, I would suggest Falkland Islands, where you are unlikely to come across too many foreigners working in the hotels there.
Read more
We were a party of 12 staying for 1 night sun 9th Dec, my elderly parents were 2 of the party. The hotel is quite dated and poor decor however they state new owners 2017 with a 3 year makeover. The rooms were very warm I found them uncomfortably hot. Room corridors floor was
Read more
Response from BPowis, Owner at Riviera Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your lovely review and I am glad our Duty Manager was helpful when your Dad fell ill. I hope he gets well soon and you will be able to stay with us again in the future and enjoy the entertainment as well as everything else the hotel has to offer.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorRiviera Hotel
The Standard Twin Room at the Rainbow International Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorRiviera Hotel
The Standard Triple Room at the Rainbow International Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorRiviera Hotel
The Standard Double with Twin Beds at the Rainbow International Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorRiviera Hotel
The Standard Double with Twin Beds at the Rainbow International Hotel
Broken door lock
PreviousNext
12345646
what is the car parking is it free or how much is it
It was £6.00 a night.
0 votes
Show all answers
are the rooms ensuite
Yes are en suite but would advise you request a refurbished room
0 votes
Show all answers
If you have booked direct with the hotel but we have price matched against another provider, such as UK Breakaways, then you still have to pay the car parking charges. The reason their rates are lower is because they don't include parking, whereas our quoted rates include the parking. You can't have it both ways, a lower price that is price matched that doesn't include parking and then have free parking as well, you can either get a lower rate which is price matched or an inclusive rate with parking.
0 votes
Show all answers
Car Parking is free if you have booked direct with the hotel otherwise it is £7 per night. All our literature and our website states this, and we try to ensure all of the companies we deal, such as Laterooms, Expedia and UK Breakaways inform all guests that book through them that there is a £7 per night charge for car parking on site at the hotel.
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12345611
"all rooms were noisy, due to people coming and going at all hours"
"Don’t think paying extra for refurb room is worth it, both our rooms were the older ones and where absolutely fine."
"Don't book here"
"Ask for one of the refurbished rooms"
"No tips to give."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$50 - US$1,272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
rainbow international torquayhotel rainbow international
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Rainbow International Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEnglish RivieraTorquay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
143
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing