We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Aveland House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Aveland House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

170 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Aveland House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 169: English reviews
Oldbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Aveland house has cheerful friendly owners and staff, the room we booked was clean , tidy and smelled clean and fresh , free wifi and on site parking are a bonus ,we were provided with a comfortable clean bed with an en-suite and a good breakfast and all at a fair price ,Babbacombe seafront is a short walk away, we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andyshergold1964
Jacquiavelandhouse, Owner at Aveland House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. Good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and the weather was lovely for you too! We hope to see you again soon.

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Normally I would not write a review, but I feel the experience (albeit a short one) I had was so terrible I feel compelled to write one. Using booking.com I booked a room for two people (myself and my girlfriend). Upon arrival one of the owners came out to the car park to inform us that we had booked a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank inspectorgreen
Jacquiavelandhouse, Owner at Aveland House, responded to this review

Your review is not exactly a true account of what happened. When you arrived I was only awaiting a single room booking so thinking you may possibly have been at the wrong hotel I came to see you before you unloaded your luggage . When you told me you had booked for two people I asked for your confirmation paperwork...

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

A warm welcome awaits you in this comfortable and quiet Guest House. All rooms and public areas are spotlessly clean and maintained. Set off-road and with ample parking; it's a lovely peaceful location with perfectly prompt, friendly service and uses fresh local produce for meals. I highly recommend this property and it would suit any respectable person looking for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dwm1972
Jacquiavelandhouse, Owner at Aveland House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you had a good stay with us. We really enjoyed your company! We will be looking out for you on the TV from now on. Hope you will be able to come and see us again soon.

Reviewed 31 May 2016

The cleanliness of the room and property was outstanding! The breakfast was fantastic! Jacqui as a host is brilliant. We were welcomed with a big smile and checked in with ease. Its great as you get a house key that allows you to come and go as you please. The location is great as you are only 3 min from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Renee W
Jacquiavelandhouse, Owner at Aveland House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It was so nice to meet you both and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and with the wonderful weather were able to see some of the beautiful surrounding area. We hope to see you again soon

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 May 2016

I stayed for 1 night early May 2016. The room was clean and comfortable. Jaqui and David were very friendly. Ideal location. Great breakfast. I would recommend this B&B to anyone regardless of how long they are staying in Torquay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank burtonbmark677
Jacqui B, Owner at Aveland House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. So pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope you'll come back again soon .🙂

Penrith, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Our third stay at Aveland House. It is comfortable, well equipped, well sited near Babbacombe and St Marychurch, in a quiet street. Breakfast and dinner are really nice, and service is first-class. We shall go again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jcfletcher2016
Jacqui B, Owner at Aveland House, responded to this review

It was so nice to see you again ! Hope to see you again soon . Thank you for your review😊

Reviewed 17 January 2016 via mobile

We always enjoy staying sy the Aveland. The hosts are friendly and attentive, the accommodation very clean. The location is excellent, ideal for those in the area to watch a match at Torquay United but also in easy reach of Babbacombe. Torquay station is just a short taxi ride away. Comfy beds and TV free rooms in this quiet b...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kaye w
Devon_Traveller1, Owner at Aveland House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It was so nice to see you again, and that you enjoyed your stay . We hope to see you again soon.

Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 November 2015

I stayed for 3 nights at the end of November 2015 as Lincoln city were playing Torquay. The away turnstiles were less than 50m away. Wonderfully warm accommodation, great hosts , lovely breakfasts and a nice relaxing bar. A quiet part of Torquay but only 5 minutes from some great restaurants and the cliff top downs of Babbacombe. There are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth E
Devon_Traveller1, Owner at Aveland House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay. we look forward to seeing you again when Lincoln play again.

Towcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 November 2015

This is the 3rd time I have stayed with Jaqui and David, and as always, their welcome is great. Neither of them can do enough for you. The rooms are always spotlessly clean and cosy, as it the rest of the property. Plus you will never leave in the morning on an empty stomach as any breakfast choice that Jaqui...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SueXLB
Devon_Traveller1, Owner at Aveland House, responded to this review

Hi Sue Thanks for the review it was good to see you again, looking forward to seeing you next time you are in Babbacombe.

Frome, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2015

Aveland house was super. Breakfasts delicious. David & Jacqui are excellent hosts. This house is within easy reach of a bus stop and Babbacombe bay. It is in a very quiet location. Buses go to several locations within 15--20 miles.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandy504128
Devon_Traveller1, Owner at Aveland House, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again when you are in Babbacombe.

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 km away
Babbacombe Guest House
Babbacombe Guest House
#54 of 153 in Torquay
196 reviews
0.3 km away
Babbacombe Palms Guest House
0.5 km away
Headland View
Headland View
#49 of 153 in Torquay
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
#41 of 153 in Torquay
245 reviews
0.5 km away
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
#48 of 153 in Torquay
133 reviews
0.4 km away
Babbacombe Hall
Babbacombe Hall
#86 of 153 in Torquay
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Aveland House AA 4 Star Guest Accommodation Babbacombe,Torquay Devon.Just a short walk to Babbacombe sea front, FREE WI-FI throughout your stay. Free Parking. Come & enjoy breathtaking views glorious beaches, coastal path walks & our wonderful tourist attractions! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aveland House

Address: Aveland House Aveland Road | Babbacombe, Torquay TQ1 3PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range: €87 - €101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aveland House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Aveland House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aveland House Torquay, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Aveland House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Aveland House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Single traveller over 6 foot book double room”
 of 5 bubbles michaelbX1915CN, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Downstairs rooms if you can't walk far no lift a lot of stairs”
 of 5 bubbles patbZ48UY, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“quiet room shower”
 of 5 bubbles sandy504128, 24 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Top floor was our prefered room after being given a choice.”
 of 5 bubbles LizJohn04, 12 Sep 2015 | Read review
“All rooms were very good. Just choose the option that suits your visit, eg, medium double room, large double room or, large twin room.”
 of 5 bubbles 62geofff, 30 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5