We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Richwood

Booking.comUS$130*
View Deal
#54 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
10/07/2017 11/07/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$130*
US$130*
US$131*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Richwood
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

264 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 263: English reviews
Start your review of The Richwood
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

I was with familly, i'll never return, i think rooms in pictures is managers rooms, reality it's totally different, uncomfortable, bad smell (tobacco), poor shower conditions, dirty and nothing from pictures, no wardrobe in room 7, i had room 6 and 7 upstairs, cheap instant for showers, on floor it's like a blanket, i seen hotels in all Europe but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeac Mare G
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went for a few day's away to celebrate my wife's birthday. Our son/step-son had provided us with a Great Escape type of deal which covered 2 nights in the Richwood, and we added 2 more nights, getting a great break. Even without that deal this would have been good value for money. Veronica and Saida run the Richwood. Saida is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheltonyan
TheRichwood, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

We are very happy that you were comfortable and that you enjoyed you break here at the Richwood. You were both a pleasure to meet and we enjoyed your stay too!

Tenby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We did have a bit of a shock when we arrived as it wasn't what we expected. Having stayed there for three nights we did find it okay. The owners we very helpful and friendly. The room was very small, but was exceptionally clean. We only had the basic breakfast, as eating out proved better value. Other guests staying were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SGP73
TheRichwood, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and we are glad that, despite everything, you were comfortable with us. One point, however. The room you had was a small standard double room. These rooms are always used for our deals - which are really inexpensive. You were given the opportunity to upgrade to a Premiere room (at the back of the house);...

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Thanks to the very warm welcome and the superb Lebanese cooking of Saida and Veronicas''s excellent Swiss cooking we had a very pleasant and relaxing few days. We found the owners considerate and helpful and interesting to talk to.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dandjm52
TheRichwood, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Thank you for the review! You were the perfect guests and we really enjoyed spoiling you!

Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Had wonderful 2 day stay, the owners are very friendly, breakfast was excellent, very clean room, with everything you need. Will definitely stay again. Highly recommend. A very good location close to the sea front and town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karl K
TheRichwood, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Thank you Mister, so glad we met your expectations. Hope to see you again!

Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the richwood for 4 nights and was sad it wasn't longer.On arrival we parked right outside front door and then was greeted with friendly hosts with a tour of facilities and giving us key information and recommendations of local attractions.lovely room with pool view and full access to games room and bar facilities. Were very accommodating helping...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brightbirdy
TheRichwood, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Thank you both, Brightbirdy, we enjoyed your stay here too, you are the perfect guests. You will be most welcome again any time!

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 March 2017

Stayed here last week on a 3 day wow voucher deal as part of a touring trip using other hotel deals. As we had been driving a lot we wanted somewhere central in Torquay that was cheap and cheerful, comfortable, free parking , short walk to harbour , clean and lots of blue skies like the week before and we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank paulapage27
TheRichwood, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay. Appreciate your comments about the plethora of deals on offer today... for us, as for many in the hospitality business they are the only way to survive outside of the busy peak seasons.

Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile

Returned after 28 yrs and can honestly say this place hasn't changed. Never saw the games room or pool but not bothered about that in March! The shower was warm but certainly not a power shower! Room was very basic and glad we weren't staying more than 2 nights as apparently towels only get changed every 5 days! Room was...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Claire G
TheRichwood, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Sorry the Clair and pertner did not enjoy their stay. Claire obvously loves writing reviews, we are amazed that she thinks the Richwood has not changed in 28 years! Obviously her memory is failing her. All that remains to say is - we do not pretend to be more than we are: comfortable, clean and inexpensive.

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

We took a family long weekend break to the Richmond on a wowcher deal, and we were very impressed with it. Saida looked after us very well, she had great local knowledge of Torquay, and advised some nice places to visit. We went out most nights, but the occasion that we stayed in the hotel on our last night was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David P
TheRichwood, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Looking forward to welcoming you home again! Thank you, glad you enjoyed your stay.

Edmonton, Alberta
Reviewed 12 October 2016

We stayed several nights in September 2016. It was clean. The shower was scorching hot or cold, no middle temperature. When we mentioned it to owner number 1, she said "I can't help you with that". Tea and coffee in room. Beds were comfortable. Clean towels after 5 days. They have 5 parking stalls and 16+ rooms. My math says...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank JetSetterJane
TheRichwood, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Don't know what to say to JetSetterJane. There were no complaints as they left. The shower: no complaints before JetSetterJane, maybe they are not used to the english system. Clean towels were supplied on the 4th day. We did not chastise - sometimes we jokingly tease - when people cannot remember the instructions for the frount door, mayber the humor...

70 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
10/07/2017 11/07/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
2.0 km away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#49 of 88 in Torquay
355 reviews
0.9 km away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#60 of 88 in Torquay
180 reviews
2.0 km away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
0.6 km away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#47 of 88 in Torquay
106 reviews
2.8 km away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#33 of 88 in Torquay
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
No photo provided
The Beirut Bistro at the Richwood
Cuisines: Lebanese, Middle Eastern
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the award-winning Richwood and Beirut-Bistro-Bar. When it comes to guest accommodation on the English Riviera, the Richwood is the only one which offers a combination of great facilities, excellent hospitality and a bistro bar which serves delicious Lebanese, Mediterranean, European and English cuisine. And everything is very reasonably priced! Winner of the English Riviera and South Devon Bronze Award for Excellence in Service 2013, the Richwood is comfortably furnished and centrally heated throughout. All 13 bedrooms are En-suite, have colour TV with DVD players and tea and coffee making facilities. Ideal for families, there are reduced terms for children when sharing with parents. The Richwood is situated 10 to 15 foot minutes from the seafront and town center. You want to enjoy the nightlife and attractions that Devon has to offer? Or just want a quiet break? ...Then the Richwood is the place to be. Around Torquay: The English Riviera: Torquay is the jewel of the English Riviera and Britain's premiere holiday and leisure resort, offering a wide variety of holiday entertainment for all the family, including many theatres featuring International stars throughout the season. There is fun for all the family. There are beaches for safe swimming, water-skiing, sea and river cruises, boating and wind surfing, tennis, fishing, golf, putting, riding and pony trekking. For those who like to explore there are miles of coastal walks at hand, many historical towns to visit and the rugged beauty of Dartmoor is only half an hour's drive away. Gay friendly. Pet friendly: one premiere double/family ensuite and one premiere Pet Friendly room. £10 pernight per pet. There is free parking at the hotel on a first come, first served basis. There is also free parking on the road outside the Richwood in the unlikely event our car park is full. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Richwood

Address: 20 Newton Road, Torquay TQ2 5BZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range: €76 - €126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Richwood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld and Hotel.de so you can book your The Richwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richwood Hotel Torquay
The Richwood Torquay, Devon
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Torquay
#33 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Richwood staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Taunton, United Kingdom
8 months ago
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Penzance

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Richwood staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room to the back of the hotel as those guests we spoke to at breakfast seemed to have larger bedrooms than we had.”
SGP73, 10 May 2017 | Read review
“worth upgrading for to better room from basic.”
dandjm52, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you get a taxi back from town tell the driver you're staying at the Richwood not the Richmond”
paulapage27, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get a room facing the pool as this hotel is on a busy road.”
JetSetterJane, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We had a small room at the front, were not bothered by noise. As advertised, small room are small, but perfectly adequate for a short stay”
508JudithH, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$130* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$130
Hostelworld.comUS$131
TripAdvisorUS$130
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates