We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Cimon

Show Prices
#14 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Cimon
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

380 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Cimon
See the most recent reviews
Showing 378: English reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

Highly recommended hotel,cosy and pleasant atmosphere with top class service from a very friendly staff which what you would expect from a family run business,and to top it all the hotel is located 5 minutes walk from torquay town centre and Harbour.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joseph G
JoandMarkWarden, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay here and hope you can come again soon.

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Stayed three nights last weekend. Very welcoming. Lovely sized room. Wrought iron four poster. Tea and coffee making facilities, always replenished. Breakfast very good. Conservatory lovely to sit and have breakfast. All the staff bright and breezy. Would definitely recommend . Ideal situation. Short walk to sea front. The let down was the weather. Ha ha.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
JoandMarkWarden, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your really kind review Linda. It was lovely to meet you and your husband and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope the sun is shining for your next visit! Jo and Mark.

Newhey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2016

we liked this place it was great the owners Jo and Mark were great and staff super, rooms cleaned every day breakfast good with lots of choice it as a swimming pool and is heated, nice bar and lounge we did not want to leave, a right home from home the bed was very comfy

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 333umpire663
JoandMarkWarden, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review Philip. It was lovely to meet you and Anne. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Jo and Mark.

Montrose, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Spent a week at the hotel with my wife and daughters. The hotel itself is lovely, in an ideal location and very reasonably priced. The swimming pool was a real bonus for the kids! And of course, Torquay itself is a fantastic place!! We stayed during 'takeover week'. We weren't too impressed with the previous owners, after reading such great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Broamshaft
JoandMarkWarden, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. It was great to have you here when we first arrived and we're really pleased you enjoyed your break in sunny Torquay. We still have your daughter's wonderful drawing in pride of place on reception. We look forward to seeing you again.

Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Brilliantly run family business, Jo and Mark could not have been any more welcoming. All staff were really friendly and chatty making us feel really at home. The room was spacious, spotlessly clean and a really comfortable bed. The bar had a great selection (and was really good value!) and the pool table was a great addition! The heated outdoor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RPollard3056
JoandMarkWarden, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review Rhiannon. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and will pass your kind comments on to the staff. We hope to see you soon and hope the sun is shining for your return. Joanne and Mark.

Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed at The Cimon for one night, wish it had been longer! Perfect central location with everything you could need in walking distance. Good sized, clean room with all the essentials. The staff and owners go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need. We will be back again soon! Thank you for such a nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bethany P
JoandMarkWarden, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review Bethany. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. We're so glad you enjoyed your visit. Look forward to seeing you again in the future. Joanne and Mark.

Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

Just spent the past 4 nights here after an finding The Cimon to have good reviews on here!, we were not disappointed,from the moment we checked in to the moment we left we have had a lovley stay,Jo and Mark are lovley hosts and work hard to keep this gem to high standards!. We had room 4,the family room which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ytinker
JoandMarkWarden, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was a pleasure having you and your family stay and I'm glad you managed to get a bit of relax too. We look forward to seeing you again.

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Cimon for 3 nights Thurs - Sun after reading the good reviews & the reasonable price. We weren't disappointed with our choice. This large old building looks great & inside has been modernised as much as it can. The decor is smart & clean throughout. Downstairs, the bar & conservatory where you have breakfast is lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie Q
JoandMarkWarden, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments Julie. Was a pleasure having you stay with us and glad you enjoyed your break. Hope to see you again soon. Joanne and Mark.

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2016

Booked a last minute weekend break to Torquay and The Cimon seemed to fit the bill. My partner and I stayed for two nights and I have to say we were not disappointed one bit. The hotel is near all attractions but at the top of quite a steep hill. Going down was great but we jumped in a taxi...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SandieKelvin
JoandMarkWarden, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind comments Kelvin. It was a pleasure to have you stay and we're really glad you enjoyed your time at The Cimon. Hopefully the sun will be shining for you to enjoy the pool on your next visit. Hope to see you again soon. Joanne and Mark.

Italy
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

Family-run place, not a four star hotel, but clean and good for a short stay. They have a car park and are close to town centre, just a short walk to the marina. Nice breakfast, with a buffet and full English breakfast. Quite convenient price. The staff is the real plus, everyone is very nice and welcoming!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GigiGigina
JoandMarkWarden, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your short stay with us and hope you can return to stay with us again. Joanne and Mark.

61 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.4 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 89 in Torquay
2,442 reviews
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
1.9 km away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#31 of 89 in Torquay
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 89 in Torquay
2,124 reviews
0.1 km away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
0.5 km away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#4 of 89 in Torquay
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just a 5 minute walk from the beach, town centre and Riviera conference facility, this beautiful Victorian guest house has an outdoor heated swimming pool, free car park (space guaranteed!), free WiFi throughout, and a residents licensed bar with free pool table. We have a reputation for our fantastic breakfasts! Family rooms, sea views and superior rooms available. Children of all ages are welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Cimon

Address: 82 Abbey Road, Torquay TQ2 5NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range: €75 - €134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cimon 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Cimon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cimon Hotel Torquay
The Cimon Torquay, Devon
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Torquay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Cimon staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Cimon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some of the rooms have great sea views.”
 of 5 bubbles Bustercaerphilly, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The hill is a little steep but not too dreadful”
 of 5 bubbles lindamH2895DT, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“the compact double is what it says you can always upgrade”
 of 5 bubbles 333umpire663, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Stayed in Room 18 - absolutely fantastic sea views, huge room and two bathrooms!”
 of 5 bubbles SandieKelvin, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Book early”
 of 5 bubbles stefang613, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5