We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Cimon

Show Prices
#14 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Cimon
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

378 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Cimon
See the most recent reviews
Showing 376: English reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for the night , would defiantly recommend it , lovely owners couldn't do enough for you ,was a pleasure to stay ,rooms very clean ,breakfast was superb great location just a short walk to town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob A
JoandMarkWarden, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review

Thank you for your great comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.

Horley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights the owners and all the staff were really friendly, hotel and breakfast lovely and excellent position to walk into Torquay. We had a large room with sea views that was quiet and we felt totally relaxed. Would definitely stay here again when visiting Torquay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bags49
JoandMarkWarden, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We are pleased you both enjoyed your stay here and your time in Torquay. We hope to see you again.

Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for a week in August and was really looking forward to a break away. We booked this hotel based on previous reviews and the fact it was a 4 star hotel sadly this was not the case. It turned out the previous owners had gone and new owners had just taken over sadly previous owners had let...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vanessa1099
JoandMarkWarden, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed the facilities which you found fresh, clean and comfortable. Given that you found the service so friendly it is disappointing that you didn't approach us until point of check out to say you were unhappy with the breakfast and bathrooms. Many guests have commented that the breakfast is excellent but...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2016

We were made very welcome and it is the friendliest place we have been to. The location is excellent with good car parking facilities. The heated pool is a real bonus with sun beds all around. The new owners and staff are very helpful and will do anything for you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank diane j
JoandMarkWarden, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We do our best to make everyone feel welcome. It really was an absolute pleasure having you both stay with us for the week. Hopefully you will get the chance to visit again.

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

We chose the hotel because of its good reviews, location and outdoor heated swimming pool. We were not disappointed. The hotel is on the small side and has a friendly feel. Jo and Mark were very accommodating and made us feel welcome. Our room was clean and nicely decorated with a comfy bed and chairs as well as tea/coffee making...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sally M
JoandMarkWarden, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind comments Sally. It was a pleasure having you both stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed your stay at The Cimon and look forward to seeing you again. Joanne and Mark.

Buckhurst Hill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2016

We arrived early and received a warm welcome. The guest house has a warm homely atmosphere. The staff were always helpful and friendly. I loved that it was a family hotel. My daughter loved the pool table and the heated pool, which was always clean and warm, with towels provided. Breakfast has a good variety of choice and was cooked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anita641
JoandMarkWarden, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review Anita. It was lovely having you stay with us and we're glad you enjoyed your visit. Look forward to seeing you again soon. Joanne and Mark.

Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed at The Cimon two years ago and had a lovely stay , so we decided to go back to Torquay , this was the last celebration for my hubby's 50th in March. The new owners had taken over in July and they are a very lovely family, we stayed in the same room as last time but the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nickyte
JoandMarkWarden, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind comments Nicky. It was lovely to meet you and your husband. We're glad you enjoyed your stay at The Cimon and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Joanne and Mark.

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for the bank holiday weekend, very welcoming hosts couldn't be more helpful. Good location, 5 minutes from beach. Room spotless, if a little dated. Breakfast 1st class and served with a smile. Ample parking. Would highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndyK1960
JoandMarkWarden, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments Andy. It was lovely to have you stay with us this weekend. Look forward to seeing you again in the future. Joanne and Mark.

Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

Highly recommended hotel,cosy and pleasant atmosphere with top class service from a very friendly staff which what you would expect from a family run business,and to top it all the hotel is located 5 minutes walk from torquay town centre and Harbour.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joseph G
JoandMarkWarden, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay here and hope you can come again soon.

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Stayed three nights last weekend. Very welcoming. Lovely sized room. Wrought iron four poster. Tea and coffee making facilities, always replenished. Breakfast very good. Conservatory lovely to sit and have breakfast. All the staff bright and breezy. Would definitely recommend . Ideal situation. Short walk to sea front. The let down was the weather. Ha ha.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
JoandMarkWarden, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your really kind review Linda. It was lovely to meet you and your husband and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope the sun is shining for your next visit! Jo and Mark.

58 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.4 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
2,386 reviews
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.3 km away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 89 in Torquay
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
566 reviews
0.5 km away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#4 of 89 in Torquay
492 reviews
1.0 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 89 in Torquay
2,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just a 5 minute walk from the beach, town centre and Riviera conference facility, this beautiful Victorian guest house has an outdoor heated swimming pool, free car park (space guaranteed!), free WiFi throughout, and a residents licensed bar with free pool table. We have a reputation for our fantastic breakfasts! Family rooms, sea views and superior rooms available. Children of all ages are welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Cimon

Address: 82 Abbey Road, Torquay TQ2 5NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range: €76 - €127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cimon 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Cimon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cimon Hotel Torquay
The Cimon Torquay, Devon
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Torquay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Cimon staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Cimon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some of the rooms have great sea views.”
 of 5 bubbles Bustercaerphilly, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The hill is a little steep but not too dreadful”
 of 5 bubbles lindamH2895DT, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“the compact double is what it says you can always upgrade”
 of 5 bubbles 333umpire663, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Stayed in Room 18 - absolutely fantastic sea views, huge room and two bathrooms!”
 of 5 bubbles SandieKelvin, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Book early”
 of 5 bubbles stefang613, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay