We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Headland Hotel

Show Prices
#11 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expert photos
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

725 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Headland Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 725: English reviews
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2015

Have just returned home from a mini break with my mother at this fabulous hotel. The views are amazing and we had a great sea view room with a super clean en-suite. The service from every member of staff has been exceptional and I have stayed in some fantastic 5 star hotels, but the attention and quality of service would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
Lucy P, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Barbara M, Thank you very much fora taking the time to review your stay with us. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed every aspect of your holiday and I will be passing on the feedback to everyone - especially to Daniella, Alison and Naz who stood out for you. We are very lucky to have a fantastic...

Hampshire
Reviewed 18 September 2015

Stayed here for two nights while attending a family event in Torquay. Booked a family room (2 adults, 2 children) through Laterooms in March for a really good rate (£92 per night including breakfast). I was phoned on the morning we were due to arrive (this is now September!) and was initially told they didn't have a family room and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank iscook
Lucy P, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Iscook, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at The Headland Hotel. I am so sorry to hear about the issues that you experienced with us. All of the points mentioned in your review are completely unacceptable on our part and as you say, there were obviously some organisational issues with your reservation that I can only apologise...

cornwall. england
Reviewed 15 September 2015

A group of us have just returned from a 3 night break. We found the hotel to be of historic interest. Our room was superb with plenty of space and immaculately clean. Luckily we were on the third floor and had superb views over the garden and sea. The staff have all been extremely pleasant and helpful. Meals are superb...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank tregenla
Lucy P, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear tregenla, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am so pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your time here. We all work extremely hard to ensure that every guest leaves here happy and looking forward to returning. I do hope that you will be returning to us again very soon. Kind Regards...

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2015

My wife and I have just returned from a 3 day break at the Headland. We have known about this hotel for some time but have always opted by habit to stay elsewhere. We made our reservation at a short notice and were offered a standard room. We would have preferred the larger club room but non were available. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NigelWykes
Lucy P, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear NigelWykes, What can I say! What a lovely and truly appreciated review of your time here with us! I am so pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and that we exceeded your expectations in both service and quality. We are all constantly maintaining highest standards for our guests and do this by having a happy and...

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2015

Great people, brilliant location, fantastic food and a totally great wedding experience for the K family. Thank you to all the staff, the chef who produced amazing food with little touches that were most appreciated and whoever designed and built the new building extension with the huge bifold doors onto the terrace - wow!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MWK499
Lucy P, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MWK499, Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us and thank you for your lovely comments. I am so pleased that everyone enjoyed the wedding experience here and the weather was also fantastic for the day! I'll pass on the great feedback to our Head Chef Owen who will be delighted to hear your kind...

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2015

It is the one and only time we will stay at this hotel, on arriving we we greeted by Reception staff in a friendly manner it then went down from there , we stayed in room 130 down in the basement it was old tired and very dark even with the lights on it felt more like a dungeon than...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Susan R
Lucy P, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear readers, It is always upsetting to read a review like this one. I would like to sincerely apologise to Susan R for her very disappointing experience during her stay with us. Firstly, I would like to mention that there are no basement rooms in this hotel, as we are located on a hill, when you go down two levels...

Rowley Regis
Reviewed 11 September 2015

Just returned from a 3 night stay, over the bank holiday weekend .this was our 4th stay, and once again the standard of the hotel was excellent. cannot fault anything. the new bar and lounge area ,and outside patio are fantastic ,and when the new Hydro pools are built , well this will be better than some 4-5star hotels in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidr1066
Lucy P, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear davidr1066, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am so pleased that after your 4th stay with us, you are still finding your time with us to be of great quality with fantastic service! We have received some great feedback for our new Gallery Lounge & Terrace which has been open since early...

South Devon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2015

We managed at last to find the Headland Hotel after 3 different attempts. I must say it was worth our wasted time looking for it as we were quite impressed with the service we received. The hotel is quite away out from Torquay and stands very high. The views were quite amazing from the restaurant. Receptionist could have been more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eileen W
Lucy P, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Eileen W, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Headland. I'm so sorry you had trouble locating us, but glad you did eventually get here. I'm sorry if you found the attitude of our receptionist to be uninterested and I have already readdressed this with the team to ensure it doesn't happen again. I'm...

Magor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2015

It was not possible to fault the friendliness and service delivered by the staff here. Every request was responded to with a smile. The food at breakfast and dinner were exceptional. The lounge facilities were abundant in fact everything provided for a very enjoyable stay. We had room 175 which was club class with a superb view out over Torbay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NevMeg
Lucy P, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear NevMeg, Thank you so much for your lovely review of your stay with us. I am always so happy to see that we exceed our guest's expectations as we have worked really hard to ensure all areas of the hotel and service are as amazing as we can possibly make them! We are aware of issues with our WiFi...

London
Reviewed 8 September 2015

Writing this review for my parents who don't do internet! In their words "The staff here were excellent, nothing was too much trouble, food was delicious (& my mum is very fussy eater), had a small room at first, did change up, but if visiting again would chose one of the larger club Rooms for additional space. Great surroundings with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paula P
Lucy P, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paula P, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am so pleased that your parents enjoyed their time with us. We do have several room types which start from standard which offers a satisfactory size room with varying views and locations. If you upgrade to a club, executive or royal rooms,...

250 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (147)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Other (57)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (78)
Viewed
Amenities (3)
Viewed
Beach (1)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.6 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 89 in Torquay
2,386 reviews
1.8 km away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
2.1 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 89 in Torquay
2,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
566 reviews
1.9 km away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 89 in Torquay
993 reviews
1.8 km away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel

Address: Daddyhole Road, Torquay TQ1 2EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range: €83 - €165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Headland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Headland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Torquay
The Headland Hotel Torquay, Devon
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#24 Family Hotel in Torquay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Headland Hotel staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Rowley Regis, United Kingdom
3 months ago

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from The Headland Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Second floor”
 of 5 bubbles W9256RQchristinet, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“As at Jan 2016, avoid Room 185 until refurbished”
 of 5 bubbles Baronscroft, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Need to be up three or more floors for a good view”
 of 5 bubbles VivNix, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Book a front room.”
 of 5 bubbles colinb429, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Exective, sea view”
 of 5 bubbles broganmc, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay