We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cavendish Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
Panoramas (19)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

691 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 688: English reviews
Start your review of Cavendish Hotel
 Click to rate
London
Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel was lovely. The pool was very warm and fun. I would definitely recommend coming to this hotel . I loved the little play area . It was the best holiday I've been to so far . I really enjoyed it and I would definitely recommend to come to this hotel .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank chloe489
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We came as a last minute trip and came to the cavendish to see if there were any rooms left at such short notice luckily someone has not showed up so we had that room it was spacious and clean enough room for 3 ppl staff were very friendly and always welcomed you each time you came in or went...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarah-phillip
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Yes the room was a little dated but had everything you would need for a perfect stay was extremely good value for money and the building Is old and this adds to its charm we have 3 boys so this suites are needs (not to posh very child friendly! ) we had a sea view was great location and staff...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kirsty h
Dorset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is friendly and clean, it is not the most modern room but it was a good size had everything you needed, shower, bath, big windows that opened, tv, tea and coffee facilities, plenty of storage and was so so clean, towels changed every day, clean bed etc. It was so reasonably priced, I loved the games room with...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tjk062017
Vicky R, Owner at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very good review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. I will pass your comments on to my family and staff. We hope you will visit again in the future. Once again Many thanks.

Plymouth
Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked this hotel In school holidays as it said there would be entertainment in evening and their mascot for the kids to say hi too. Restaurant and bar food. There was nothing we had to leave early as the kids were bored. Refused a refund even though they falsely advertised and not even an apology from the manager

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank destiny180280
Milborne Port, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Friendly, welcoming staff. Very good price for spacious family room. En-suite desperately needing modernising. Indoor pool warm but small and very delapidated. Breakfast buffet OK but over-piced £8 (adult) £5 (children)! Enjoyed our stay in this hotel but needs huge investment - I guess the hotel is working on it as I saw an updated bathroom in an empty room...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank benjamin339
Vicky R, Owner at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. As you state, we are constantly upgrading rooms and redecorating different areas. With 96 rooms it is a never ending situation. It would be nice to know what room you stayed in so we could tackle the en-suite and we are due to carry out improvement works in the Indoor Pool area after the...

Bideford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Room was a good size but the wall paper was damp looking and dirty the shower was very small and temperamental but the worst thing was the corridors smelt like cats piss there was a plastic covering on the walls it looked like it was covering a damp wall but the smell was awful the picture they put in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul j
Vicky R, Owner at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this review

We do not have any areas that smell as bad as you say. We have had an area which suffered damp from a roof problem which has taken a while to completely rectify but is now sorted. You could have been shown an alternative room if you were not happy with the one allocated. We would have gladly shown you...

Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff are very friendly. We arrived early and asked if it was possible to book in early. They were brilliant and asked for us to return in an hour as they'll get the room cleaned. They allowed us to explore the hotel facilities and use the car park while we ventured out to the beach. The facilities are brilliant....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline G
Vicky R, Owner at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We will see if we can identify which room this relates to so we can attend to the updating. Thank you for taking the time to leave such a good review your comments will be passed onto our family and staff.

St Austell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Clean friendly hotel,helpful staff.Hotel is close to shops and beach but far enough away as to be quiet enough to sleep. Pool and sauna very clean. Car parking free. Chef capable of providing food for any diet. I will be going back.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Douglas Clive R
Vicky R, Owner at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Christchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very close to bay just a short walk away. Staff very friendly. Would stay again.room clean with tea and coffee provided. Booked through booking .Com and got a good room at a good price.films shown on big screen for families in evening if wish to see. Found hotel to be quite. No noise as don't allow stag or hen accomadation.good...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank garywateridge
Vicky R, Owner at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave a good review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

500 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (143)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (67)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (311)
Viewed
Amenities (43)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (35)
Viewed
Family 2+1 Room (29)
Viewed
Family 2+3 Room (38)
Viewed
Indoor Pool and Sauna (5)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
Single Room (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (67)
Viewed
Twin Room (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 km away
Rainbow International Hotel
0.3 km away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 89 in Torquay
1,048 reviews
0.6 km away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#56 of 89 in Torquay
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#67 of 89 in Torquay
332 reviews
1.9 km away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#89 of 89 in Torquay
1,128 reviews
0.8 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 89 in Torquay
2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family-run two-star hotel only 400 m from the sea front and ten minutes from town. We have excellent facilities and nightly entertainment, our rates are very competitive and a large number of regular guests come back to us year after year. Groups and individuals welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range: €41 - €167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cavendish Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavendish Hotel Torquay, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cavendish Hotel staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Widnes, United Kingdom
over a year ago
2 months ago
Devon, United Kingdom

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Cavendish Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Needs more sockets and shower trickled,cold water in sink warm could have done with mirror being in a different place with socket to do hair etc as it was next to tv where the coffee/tea making facilities were!”
sarah-phillip, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for sea view ”
709kirstyh, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“one part is awful but the other is ok ask for a look around you can smell the cats piss get a room up the other end”
98paulj, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“family friendly”
267jacquelineg, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Try to avoid rooms overlooking the car park , lots of noise from inconsiderate guests returning late .”
billlyall, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5