We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bay Torbay Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bay Torbay Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

688 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 688: English reviews
Start your review of Bay Torbay Hotel
 Click to rate
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Cant praise this hotel enough, from the very start right through to the very end it was simply, Brillant. First time we have been away with Shearings and first time to this hotel and it wont be our last. So organised, was very impressed especially with the suitcase delivery to the door of your room! The evening meals was simple...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette2014
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jeanette2014 and thank you for your review. Its great to read that your first Shearing's break was a good one and that you enjoyed what we had to offer. its always nice to see that our staff delivered a great service and we look forward to your next holiday with us ietehr heer or one of our sister hotels

North Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Having not been to Devon before , we arrived in Torquay and at the Torbay Hotel with an open mind. We have to admit Shearings arrangement for our holiday could not be faulted. From putting our cases on the coach we saw them next in our bedroom.to the excursions and brilliant attitude of the drivers. The hotel was clean ,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denise D
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Denise d and thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I am pleased to see that you had a nice break and found everything to your liking. I believe we do offer great value for money holidays and its nice to see that we are delivering on all fronts. I hope that we will see...

Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just come back from a 5 day holiday with Shearings coaches, the food fabulous, the staff brilliant and very helpful, we stayed in an upgraded room overlooking the harbour, very spacy, however we believe that not all the rooms have not been updated, entertainment and free drinks midweek was a bonus, the varied 3 course evening meals were superb, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cbb49
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you cbb49 for your review. I am pleased to read that you found the hotel to be 'excellent value for money'. I am also glad you found the meals to be superb and I will pass your comments onto the kitchen team here who work very hard. I hope to see you again either on a Shearing's Coach Holiday...

Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice hotel. Staff good and food good. Pool is a nice touch and is open 7-7 each day. Bar has a range of drinks typical hotel prices. We had room 106 which has a lovely view of the harbour and sea. Very Good value for money, and if you book with Shearings you get a range of trips out and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria23Parker
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Maria23Parker for your review of the Torbay Hotel. I am glad to read that you found your holiday to be good value for money and that enjoyed the food & the swimming pool facilities. I agree Room 106 is a lovely room with two large windows that overlooks the Marina. I hope to see you again.

Gloucestershire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited hotel as part of a small break to south Devon. Hotel is normally set up for large coach parties but let a number of rooms out for other bookings. Check in was fast and efficient. We were given a lovely sea view room which had been recently refurbished. The hotel has a pool which is a nice size and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mattmoo100
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Mattmoo100, Thank you for taking the time to write your review and I am glad that you enjoyed your 1 night stay with us. We do have coach parties here, however Bay Hotels do offer Self-Drive holiday packages where you make your own way to the hotel. I am glad you made use of our pool as it is...

Amesbury, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Did not know what to expect as previous reviewers were not that favorable . I can only assume that they were at a different hotel. We turned up early and asked if we could leave our luggage with them whilst we parked the car . To my surprise I was informed that as the room was ready we could book...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael2415
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Michael2415, I am really pleased to read that you found all aspects of your holiday to be of a high standard. We do work hard to provide a high quality of service and excellent value for money. As you read though other reviews the majority of our customers are happy with their holidays and like yourself would recommend the...

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a lovely week end (43 of us altogether) with Shearings holidays Friday 3rd march til Monday 6th.Good hotel, lovely staff throughout from cleaners to managers-nothing too much trouble. Very clean lovely lounges -good food -everyone pleased with their rooms,good entertainment and very conveniently situated,couldn't be nearer to town and harbour,think shearings have more or less got it right with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank patricia h
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Patricia H for your review. I am pleased that your group had a lovely Weekend here at the Torbay Hotel. We do have entertainment every night and I am glad that you all enjoyed it and that you all enjoyed the Torbay Hotel's prime location. The Self Service breakfast does give customers the option to either have something...

norwich
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I recently visited this hotel with my husband for a four night stay on a half board basis. The hotel is slightly jaded in appearance, though still imposing. Upon arrival, we were checked in quickly by the friendly receptionist. The only lift was unavailable at that time, as the luggage for the recently checked in coach party was being ferried...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank poppy-ronnie
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you poppy-Ronnie for your review, I am surprised to read that you found certain aspects of your holiday to be disappointing however I would like to say that if you were to inform us of any issues while you were here at the hotel we would of done our best to rectify them. Thank you for your comments about...

Romsey
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked as a last minute decision and was allocated a superior room. Tastefully furnished room with high ceilings and a stunning view of the harbour. Bathroom had a bath and shower and was very clean and was supplied with toiletries. Breakfast was a buffet style and there was plenty to go around. There is no parking on site but there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Panther14
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Panther14 for your review of the Torbay Hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your superior room. Due to the age of the hotel we are lucky to have high ceilings that many new hotels don't have. I hope you would choose us again when you next visit Torquay.

Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent hotel, lovely clean & well furnished rooms. Restaurant good quality food & plenty of choice. Staff very friendly, polite & helpful. We sent down balloons, bunting & banners so that my parents room could be decorated & they did it all lovely. Made my mums day when she entered the room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kakacattle13
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Hi kakacattle13 Thank you so much for your lovely review, I'm pleased your Mother enjoyed her 80th Birthday.I'm pleased the staff made your stay welcoming .We hope to see you again.

194 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (172)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.5 km away
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Bay Tor Park Hotel
#23 of 89 in Torquay
468 reviews
0.6 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
2,523 reviews
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 89 in Torquay
2,168 reviews
1.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.8 km away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 89 in Torquay
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Right at the heart of beautiful Torquay, the Torbay Hotel benefits from stunning views over the lovely harbour. The hotel can be summed up as, 'grand features in warm surroundings,' and includes front-facing rooms with modern facilities - the Premier and Superior rooms are particularly desirable. It has a large ballroom, two bars, an indoor heated swimming pool and a sun terrace. The hotel is also within easy walking distance of the town centre's shops, boutiques and restaurants. After two years of extensive restoration Royal Terrace Gardens (aka "Rock Walk") has been returned to its former glory with a modern day twist. Located just next to the Torbay Hotel, Rock Walk offers spectacular views across the bay, and at night when it is beautifully lit up, it makes for the perfect evening stroll. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Torbay Hotel

Address: Torbay Road, Torquay TQ2 5EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range: €85 - €159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Torbay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Torbay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbay Hotel Torquay
Bay Torbay Hotel Torquay, Devon
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Torbay Hotel staff and other travellers.
25 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Torbay Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for front facing”
 of 5 bubbles DeniseD280, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“room no 224 will cost a little extra but well worth it”
 of 5 bubbles cbb49, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 106 was lovely and a nice size bathroom and beautiful views”
 of 5 bubbles Maria23Parker, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Think any of the front facing rooms are good but no one complained who had the normal twin or single”
 of 5 bubbles patriciahR9951SW, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The front rooms are scenic but a little noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles poppy-ronnie, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5